Spanish Love Songs
Schmaltz


5.0
classic

Review

by Atari STAFF
July 7th, 2018 | 138 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like walking backwards, these wasted years

I don’t think I could fix this if I found God/and there’s no drug in the world that can possibly wash this off/Can’t even go down to the river/and stick my fucking head in it

Schmaltz is the real deal. If it wasn’t already evident from my borderline sh*t posting recently, I really dig Spanish Love Songs. Their music simply crushes me to a point that’s practically nonsensical to describe. I get that same giddy feeling I had the first time I heard The Future is Cancelled or ...Is a Real Boy. Lyrically, Schmaltz can be ranked among some of the best angst-fueled punk releases in recent memory. In less than two minutes on opener “Nuevo” we already have a firm portrayal of vocalist Dylan Slocum’s insecurities, depression and apathy: Is there any way to give a sh*t/and wake up in the morning without taking a hit"” It serves not only as a proper intro to the album’s themes, but it seamlessly leads into the insanely energetic second track. And the thing is, Schmaltz never lets up with its balls out approach to loud punk rock or depressing subject matter; no stone is left unturned lyrically and every song flattens you like a truck. Even the quieter moments, like acoustic closer “Aloha to No One” hold plenty of weight due to Slocum’s delivery and outbursts of self-doubt. Pushing 30’s, still playing house shows. Waking up on beer-soaked floors alone and the repeating of I’ve done nothing the last 10 years! are just little previews of the kind of dark lines flowing out of Slocum’s mouth around every corner of Schmaltz. We’re all human, and I think we’ve all felt underwhelmed with our progress in life; Spanish Love Songs are here to make it all ok.



Recent reviews by this author
Outer Heaven Realms Of Eternal DecayUn Sentiment
Elise Davis CactusShannen Moser I'll Sing
Natalie Hemby PuxicoWinterfylleth The Hallowing of Heirdom
user ratings (126)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Soupy (4.5)
I've done nothing the past ten years......

stasar (4.5)
Life ages faster than you do....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2018


23859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nice sound off, yada yada



don't really have time to review anymore but I just had to do this one real quick. without question, my AOTY so far



https://spanishlovesongs.bandcamp.com/

Digging: Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel

FreddieDelaney31
July 7th 2018


4903 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll be honest, I think the lyricism is actually a little inconsistent and repetitive at times but man when they knock it out of the park, it's absolutely immense (the first verse of Aloha to No One especially), album is actually perfect in every other regard tho

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2018


23859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I find the lyrics to be quite brilliant personally, but they prolly hit even harder than they would due to the strong delivery and level of angst.



here's another favorite because it was hard to choose which ones to include in the "review". I love the dark sense of humor they employ as well. "Buffalo Buffalo" is so damn good



Rather be sheep in a snowstorm/than a lion in the brush/In the sights of a bastard who can’t get it up

Gyromania
July 7th 2018


25922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The hype is real!

Scoot
July 7th 2018


19117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is pretty great stuff, been jamming it for a few weeks now

AdolfChrist
July 7th 2018


17971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

im gonna give it one more try.

Digging: Devil Master - Inhabit The Corpse

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2018


23859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Gyro, well it is for me at least, lol. Haven’t enjoyed a punk album this much for quite some time. Prolly since “The Dream Is Over” or “The Future Is Cancelled”!



and hell ya, scoot. Jams so hard

Scoot
July 7th 2018


19117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys are the heirs to cws

AdolfChrist
July 7th 2018


17971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoa bro...thats a heavy claim.

Scoot
July 7th 2018


19117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cws were really ever just one album



and while it was obviously an incredible album it's not that much of a stretch to think that these guys could hit the same heights. they clearly have the potential

AdolfChrist
July 7th 2018


17971 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dont think theyre anywhere close, but hopefully another listen will change that.

Gyromania
July 8th 2018


25922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, I'm with you, Atari. Joana, Sequels, Bellyache, Otis/Carl - this album is jam packed with stellar tunes. I'm honestly one of the first people to shit on pop punk but I love the energy here, and especially the vocals

Papa Universe
July 8th 2018


18102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I approve of this message.

Digging: Selvans - Faunalia

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2018


23859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I approve of you



and cheers Gyro, it pleases me you enjoyed this so much. not a weak track imo, still destroying me

Scoot
July 8th 2018


19117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the closer is some heavy shit

AsleepInTheBack
July 8th 2018


5872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

neat review, short and sweet, just how I like 'em. the album's pretty good too, though I find the lyricism a tad suffocating at times.

Artuma
July 8th 2018


29866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

very enjoyable, need to jam more

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 8th 2018


23947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i need to give this another try as well but I def dig this!

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 8th 2018


23947 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also hell yes an atari rev!! this one is short and sweet and makes me smile (:

Papa Universe
July 8th 2018


18102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If It's Not Interesting isn't on your best of the year list, Connor, I swear...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy