Converge
The Dusk in Us


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (146 Reviews)
July 6th, 2018 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I am not a number just patiently waiting to enter the belly of the beast

In the opening song of The Dusk In Us, “A Single Tear”, Jacob Bannon apprehensively whimpers “When I held you for the first time / I knew I had to survive” and then again, the second time gnashing at each word. It’s from that point we see a perspective change from Bannon. He’s not some scrappy punk spouting half-baked platitudes. He’s not the storyteller that had us all embroiled in the case of a Jane Doe. He’s a father, cognizant that the world around his son is on fire. It’s a role he embraces well, and as a result, The Dusk In Us feels like Bannon passing down his way of life, what he sees in the world, and how to survive the flames. “There’s monsters among us / And at dawn they’ll go with the last shred of hope / Someday it’ll change, or so they say / Just bide your time and try to alive” he croons in the title track, moments before it breaks into sludgy rapture. Ballou, Newton and Koller pull off their usual histrionics – the Slayer-esque velocity of “Broken by Lights”‘s latter half feels ripped from When Forever Comes Crashing, and “Wildlife” draws from the armamentarium of flashy musicianship that’s defined the band for the last decade – but with even more atmospheric ruminations to complement Bannon’s somber musings. It’s a different kind of heaviness, pensive, and more palpably weighty than we’re used to, yet finessed just as we’ve come to expect from the band at this point. And that’s what is the most impressive thing about this album; whether it’s Bannon’s more contemplative tone or the rhythm section’s grimy crawl, Converge is a band of standards, refusing to release anything that falls short of them. It’s what’s given us a pantheon of classic albums, a shortlist that The Dusk In Us easily belongs on.



Recent reviews by this author
Nihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid MadnessUlver The Assassination of Julius Caesar
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreBlood Incantation Starspawn
Paramore After LaughterDrowning the Light The Vampire Cipher
user ratings (881)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Tristan Jones EMERITUS (3.5)
the nails and fevers of bad dreams....

JZW1997 (4.5)
"Dusk lives within us," another impressive notch in the decorated belt of one metalcore's finest....

CompostCompote (2.5)
Lethal Weapon 5: The Glovers come off....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm cheating w/ this one but w/e

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

SteakByrnes
July 6th 2018


14337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude nice :]

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dude thanks :*

Doctuses
July 6th 2018


1881 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review and I appreciate Converge’s shift in lyrical approach, but for me this album was pretty sonically boring

BlackwaterPork
July 6th 2018


4389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sweet

SteakByrnes
July 6th 2018


14337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was like a 3.3-3.4 for me, the title track and Thousands of Miles Between Us were boring as fuck

MoosechriS
July 6th 2018


6352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review as always dude, might have to respin this one along with the new ep.

Veldin
July 6th 2018


3778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dig it, short and sweet

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks ya’ll

Hawks
July 6th 2018


67744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Niceeeee Brandon. m/

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ily Ryan

Hawks
July 7th 2018


67744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ily2

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

:]

AsleepInTheBack
July 7th 2018


5917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, short and sweet. Last sentence looks like it's missing a full stop though.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man! And you’re right, lemme fix that lol

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 7th 2018


29589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude, this is a brilliant little review. One of my favorites from you recently. I view this as one of their weaker albums but you've convinced me to revisit it.

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

Relinquished
July 7th 2018


39073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2] what sowing said sans the revision bit

DominionMM1
July 7th 2018


17758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review dude

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Sowing, quished, Dom — damn, thank you all for kind words, i really appreciate them. Sowing, this took awhile for me to REALLY get into, but now it ranks among some of my favorite stuff from them. I’m glad this has convinced you to give it another go! I definitely wanna know if anything’s changed for you after another listen.

Relinquished
July 7th 2018


39073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the father perspective from the record did resonate hard when I saw the video for A Single Tear, def made the record more personal even as it's still growing on me slowly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy