Drowning the Light
The Vampire Cipher


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (146 Reviews)
July 4th, 2018 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: and in the end, our destiny is like scales to be shed

Drowning The Light's sole member Azgorh's prolificity has undoubtedly produced some less than stellar efforts, but his progress from depressive bedroom black metal musician to paragon of atmospheric black metal has been a journey well worth the occasional dud. His newest demo, The Vampyre Cipher definitely stands as one of the releases that keeps fans like myself coming back. Though only a scant ten minutes in length, the two tracks featured -"An Ancient Curse Upon the Light" and "Of Bloodlust & Shadows"- stand with his finest. They ply the middle-ground between raw and romantic; as shards of static pierce, medieval melodies prevail.

That's simply what Drowning The Light does best, and this element feels elevated throughout The Vampyre Cipher; Azgorh's raw black metal craft has been perfected. "An Ancient Curse Upon the Light" exudes a euphoria ready to burst from the track's seams as harmonious tremolos, choral chants and tattered production coalesce and climb to spine-tingling heights. Despite its rawness, it's very listenable, a description also fit for "Of Bloodlust & Shadows". Here, Azgorh's acidic wails penetrate through a more traditional black metal experience. The song isn't as undefined in structure as its predecessor, nor does it reach the same atmospheric heights, but once again Azgorh's melodic sensibilities -simple, straightforward, and unwavering- cultivate another memorable track in his rapidly growing catalog.

The Vampyre Cypher stands as a great measuring tool for just how far Drowning The Light has come since it formed in 2003. It's natural for an artist to grow with each successive record, but considering the insane pace Azgorh works at, the improvements he's been able to implement over the years remains impressive as ever. As a stalwart musician in a fickle genre he's earned his recognition as one of the driving forces of modern black metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Nihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid MadnessUlver The Assassination of Julius Caesar
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreBlood Incantation Starspawn
Paramore After LaughterConverge The Dusk in Us
user ratings (4)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 4th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A 'lil rusty, but trying to shake off the cobwebs. Easier to start with something familiar like black metal, but going to try and expand into some different genres soon. CC welcome. Thanks.

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

BallsToTheWall
July 4th 2018


49334 Comments


Negged in spirit and reported!

Digging: Amelia Arsenic - Queen of Risk

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 4th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jom bomb me D A D D Y

BallsToTheWall
July 4th 2018


49334 Comments


Haha! For reals tho, I can’t wait to hear this.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 4th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's raw, melodic, and on youtube ... i think you'll enjoy

Hawks
July 5th 2018


67736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta hear this asap gonna jam at work tonight.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't see you not digging this tbh

brainmelter
July 5th 2018


6238 Comments


need to hear this, good rev

Digging: You and I - The Curtain Falls

foxblood
July 5th 2018


9486 Comments


Drowning the Light is amazing

Hawks
July 5th 2018


67736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep this fucking slays.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@bmelter - thanks bruv



@foxb - you're the only other person that appreciates DTL like me and i love you for that



@Hawkz - i knew i could have faith in you

Hawks
July 6th 2018


67736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Of course. m/



I gotta get on more of this band’s stuff I’ve only heard 3 of them so far. All rule by the way.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check out Varcolaci Rising if that’s one that haven’t heard already.... it’s goddamned fantastic

Hawks
July 6th 2018


67736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep haven’t heard that one yet, def gonna be on it.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You won’t be disappointed. This guy has so many good releases.

Hawks
July 7th 2018


67736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I really dig what I’ve heard so far. Guy pulls off a bleak atmosphere perfectly.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2018


11662 Comments


Sweet rev, I'm interested

Digging: Windswept - The Onlooker

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you’d dig the crap outta this Scuro!

foxblood
July 7th 2018


9486 Comments


You're the best spirit😊 check his other eps they're all so good, Tenth Region of the Night and A Reflection of the Past are great and Vampyric Winter is possibly a 5 for me it's incredibly cool, definitely check that one.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ive heard so much of this guy’s work, and yet still so much slips through the cracks. You already knowwwww I’m gonna check those out. Thanks bby;]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy