Dwellings
Lavender Town


4.5
superb

Review

by Sebastian USER (74 Reviews)
July 4th, 2018 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An exciting adventure through time.

With an album as dense as Lavender Town, it’s hard to ignore the clear influences on Dwellings as a unit. To be fair, you’d be hard-pressed to find a modern post-hardcore band not somewhat looking to recreate that Dance Gavin Dance magic. But there’s something about Dwellings that makes it more fulfilling. The vocalist sounds just like Kurt Travis, just with even more range. The instrumentals sound just like a mix of DGD and Chon, except more expressive and free-flowing. They’re more than their counterparts, and it results in such an exciting listen, you’d struggle to find an album filled with more joy than Lavender Town.

Without skipping a beat, Dwellings are able to switch between long, expansive tracks (‘Foreverest’) and short, impactful bursts (‘Pink Noise’), while keeping their sound fresh with longer tracks (‘Color of the Cat Tree’). It’s all here, building environments full of catchy guitars, punchy bass lines, and intricate drum patterns, backed by an incredible performance from vocalist Isaac Wilson. It’s difficult to not draw comparisons to Kurt Travis, but Isaac takes Kurt’s delivery a step further, providing an incredibly varied and detailed vocal performance that drags the listener into the backgrounds the tracks have developed. His output on tracks like the aforementioned ‘Color of the Cat Tree’ and closer ‘A.T.M. (At The Moment)’ showcase a deft ear for melodies, taking hold of tracks while simultaneously letting them flow. His voice is omnipresent, combining with the guitars often to create such a natural excitement. ‘See It Through’ showcases this brilliantly, as the track goes through different phases artistically, guitars firing in all directions as the vocals switch between soothing and panicked. It’s this combo that continually impresses, backed by an impressive array of loud and proud bass lines and cool and intricate drum patterns. It’s all here, giving established post-hardcore bands a real run for their money.

At times, Lavender Town feels just like bands of the past and present. But, most importantly, it showcases hopes for the future. It can feel as if the genre known as ‘swancore’ is slowly becoming saturated with great output, but Dwellings proves there’s still so much life left in it. It’s their want to push themselves to create tracks that incorporate both their influences and their own signature sound that makes Lavender Town an album that lacks flaws. It’s pure joy in music form, and I sincerely hope Dwellings stick around to keep providing it.

4.5/5

Recommended Tracks: Pink Noise, Foreverest, See It Through, A.T.M. (At The Moment)



Recent reviews by this author
Noname Room 25The Amity Affliction Misery
Foxing Nearer My GodDeath Cab for Cutie Plans
The Rubens LO LA RUThe Rubens The Rubens
user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drubbi
July 4th 2018


288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't even realise these guys had a record coming out, I remember checking Lemonade when it initially came out ages ago.



Will probably make my end of year list, considering this is what I wanted from new DGD.

stuck_in_decades
July 4th 2018


814 Comments


v good review, took them forever to release but i'm glad it's here, definitely better than new DGD imo.

Tranqyl
July 4th 2018


284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos review. Glad someone actually took the time to give it a write up.

SteakByrnes
July 4th 2018


13507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is very fun, and the vocalist rules

Digging: Joji - Ballads 1

MuhNamesTyler
July 4th 2018


6456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album

dswhite85
July 5th 2018


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review sounds a little pretentious. Also, I love this genre, but can't yet get into this band..

SteakByrnes
July 5th 2018


13507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but you have it 4'd

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 6th 2018


14069 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is pretty generic tbh

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

MuhNamesTyler
July 6th 2018


6456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they may not do anything spectacular as far as instrumentation and what not but they do the style so well I would think they are definitely a stand out

SteakByrnes
July 6th 2018


13507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album art is so good

Danred97
July 7th 2018


1895 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wish the album was as good as the art. I got about 3-4 tracks in and shut it off because I was so bored. Just another band trying to be DGD without any of the personality. I’m gonna pass on this.

JayEnder
July 8th 2018


2533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo this new DGD album has great artwork

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

SteakByrnes
July 8th 2018


13507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean this sounds more like Hail the Sun mixed with DGD than just straight up DGD

Danred97
July 9th 2018


1895 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I’m not really hearing any HTS in this. Sounds like a boring version of early DGD with a guy doing a Kurt Travis impression. I think I’m just getting tired of this sound. Aside from DGD, HTS, and Eidola, I’m just not getting into any of these types of bands. I think I’m just getting burnt out on Swancore tbh.

GreyShadow
July 9th 2018


2698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this sounds really good but yeah for me to really get into a different Swancore band these days it REALLY has to stand out.

Still, this does seem promising.

GreyShadow
July 9th 2018


2698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...really glad I listened. this was solid and they definitely did the genre well enough to stand out. Color of the Cat Tree and Foreverest were definitely some great showcases for them still being unique.



A.T.M. was a god damn treat of an acoustic track

MuhNamesTyler
July 9th 2018


6456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would give this another shot in a week or two, Danred. It is definitely quality stuff, it sounds like you really might just be burnt out on this style for the moment. I totally get the dgd and Kurt comparisons obviously, tho I think you are being a little too critical



^Dude Foreverest is so good

GreyShadow
July 9th 2018


2698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been listening to this all day, it's so enjoyable

SteakByrnes
July 9th 2018


13507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I totally get the dgd and Kurt comparisons obviously, tho I think you are being a little too critical [2]





AffableMartyr
July 14th 2018


423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fun album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy