Vein
Errorzone


4.0
excellent

Review

by TooManyFriends USER (22 Reviews)
June 22nd, 2018 | 176 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: as gnarly as it looks

They say not to judge an album by it’s cover, but that’s easier said than done when the cover is an exposed eyeball being picked apart by a variety of metal tools. To that end, Vein have shown themselves to be nothing less than committed to their aesthetic, crafting a lean, violent and unrelenting slab of metalcore in Errorzone that sounds every bit as gnarly as it looks.

Errorzone is, without question, one of the most aggressive metalcore albums to come out in recent years. It spasms about uncontrollably, guitars shrieking in-between the occasional blast beat and vocalist Anthony DiDio’s gruesome screams. Converge, Botch and The Number Twelve Looks Like You are the easy comparisons here, but hearing these songs, there’s just as much taken from— don’t gag— nu-metal. The last few years have seen an uptick of “industrial” sounding metalcore bands, many haphazardly phoning in relics of bands like Slipknot and Korn in an attempt to put a new spin on the old classics. Vein may be the first to sound like they actually know what they’re doing.

What’s most impressive about the band is how they’re able to take the parts of nu-metal that are so dated and out of style— breakbeat drum samples, bouncy down-tuned riffs, edgy lyrics— and completely make them their own through sheer force of will. “Every time I close my eyes/I crash a thousand cars/and all my loved ones die” is such a groan worthy lyric out of context, but inside the claustrophobic, feedback-laden world of album highlight “Doomtech”, it fits like hand in glove. This sound just shouldn’t work, but they make it work in the same way Ricky Bobby plugs Big Red by saying “if you don’t chew Big Red, then *** you”.

It’s rare for an album only 27 minutes in length to feel exactly as long as it needs to be, but these songs are just packed to the point that anything more would feel like overkill. Thankfully, Errorzone is immaculately paced; between the dissonant off-time riffs, the mangled breakdowns, and the aforementioned breakbeat interludes, Vein rarely stick with one sonic element for more than a minute at a time, which ends up working out very much to their benefit. When they even dip their toes into melodic waters, it's just enough to not be annoying; the soaring and melodic clean vocal break in the album’s title track is so breathtaking BECAUSE it’s the only such occurrence on the album.

Vein are cold and unforgiving. They will knock you down, give you a swirly, and take your lunch money. Plenty of bands can do that, yes, but it rarely feels as righteous as Vein have made it feel on this record. Errorzone is as raw as it is industrialized, as passionate as it is calculating, and as alive as it is dead behind the eye(s).



Recent reviews by this author
Teenage Wrist Chrome Neon JesusHundred Suns The Prestaliis
Wage War DeadweightRise Against Wolves
Bryson Tiller True To SelfThe Smith Street Band More Scared of You Than You Are of Me
user ratings (178)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TooManyFriends
June 22nd 2018


2841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is good

asaf
June 22nd 2018


933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

someone’s excited!

JigglyPDiddy
June 22nd 2018


3298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

forgot this band's name, gonna go save this on spotify rn

nicktheman1
June 22nd 2018


16 Comments


Reminds me a bit of Axis

ktjammin
June 22nd 2018


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like it a lot. Recommendations are spot on, pos.

Digging: Deafheaven - Ordinary Corrupt Human Love

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2018


4673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My dudes, I am all aboard this hype train. This album is really skronky and all over the place, but it somehow maintains its cohesiveness.



If y'all get the chance to see them live, do it. It's wild. Moshed myself onto the floor last time and I'm a 31 year old man.

Digging: Vein - Errorzone

ktjammin
June 22nd 2018


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can confirm band goes hard live. We just need an Errorzone headlining tour now...

coldheaven
June 22nd 2018


4222 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This shit slaps me right back into 9th grade

Digging: Deafheaven - Ordinary Corrupt Human Love

robotmagician
June 22nd 2018


752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is an incredible record, really fun to listen to. a bit surprised errorzone wasn’t the closer, was. it expecting to hear another song after that

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2018


4673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought the same thing. Errorzone would've made a great closer.

ktjammin
June 22nd 2018


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Errorzone and Old Data are my favorites off this. I don’t disagree, but the pacing here is so good. It feels longer than 28 minutes- in a good way.

TooManyFriends
June 22nd 2018


2841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

v stoked to see these boys next week. probably not even gonna stay for code orange after than mess of an EP they just dropped heh



before we start talking headlining tour we need them to start playing sets longer than 15 mins

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2018


4673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Where are you seeing them TooManyFriends? I'll be at the Minneapolis date.

TooManyFriends
June 22nd 2018


2841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

chicago

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2018


4673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice. I come down there for shows a few times a year. Are you gonna go to Gorilla Biscuits in September? I'm assuming you're a hardcore kid, but I have no idea.

TooManyFriends
June 22nd 2018


2841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm not much of a hardcore guy at all tbh so probably not. i'm going to be firmly in the back of the venue watching these guys lol

Jamdbz
June 22nd 2018


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys fucking slay live. Gotta catch em again.



Album rules

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2018


4673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah, gotcha. Yeah, if you’re looking to play it safe, the back is probably your best bet.

ktjammin
June 22nd 2018


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Short and sweet, but yeah now that they’ve got plenty to work with it would be a treat to see longer sets from them. I want to go to that Code Orange tour, but it’s not coming anywhere near me.

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2018


4673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You should go to This is Hardcore! We could have a meet up!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy