DJ Healer
Nothing 2 Loose


5.0
classic

Review

by owl beanie STAFF
June 18th, 2018 | 69 replies


Release Date: 04/01/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Quick One Before the Dormant Sun Rises

This is that review that falls short of the mark. This is that review that attempts, fruitlessly, to explain how Nothing 2 Loose, Traumprinz’ latest record under the DJ Healer moniker, is a masterwork. This is the review that tries its hardest not to implicitly liken subjective experience to the quality of such music as it stands against other, similar works. Spoiler warning: it fails spectacularly. This is a review falling short of the mark.

And this is that album that fashions quiet hymnals out of ambient house music; produced with a steady hand, sounding effortless yet nevertheless proving quite meticulously crafted once you glance beneath the looped vocal samples. This is that unassuming album; one that never set out to exist for -- or have an impact on -- anyone but the man who created it (file under: self-help) but it does so anyway, wandering in on your daily routine like an old friend rocking up on your doorstep after years of radio silence on their end. This is that album that uses said restraint to induce a spiritual experience in secular minds. It’s one that creates an unbreakable link between the idea of introspection, of taking a step back, with the idea of divinity; ergo creating a world in which God is found in the quiet spaces, the sparse synth motifs signifying the hibernation of an anxious brain. I don’t believe in Him. This is that album that makes me feel like I do. Above all, this is that album I've come to love moreso than any other this year. It's comfortable in its spirituality and gentle in its approach. Other producers may well be on the level DJ Healer is, but none can parallel the judicious use of samples, the perfect synthesis of minimal house beats and ambient swathes, that this record so deftly exhibits.

This is a review that grapples with the ineffable, the implacably lovely, and because of it, it doesn’t quite know where to begin.



Recent reviews by this author
Tropical Fuck Storm Braindropskatie dey solipsisters
Sleep Talk Everything in ColourStella Donnelly Beware Of The Dogs
Sharon Van Etten Remind Me TomorrowDrug Church CHEER
user ratings (71)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
verdant
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2018


2424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i don't know

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2018


25013 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ur beautiful

luci
June 18th 2018


11959 Comments


yessssss

ProjectFreak
June 18th 2018


3959 Comments


I hate how you wrote a review about not being able to write a review and it's magnificent, and now I'm jealous. Also bitter that it's not on Spotify.

luci
June 18th 2018


11959 Comments


it's a vinyl-only release

MotokoKusanagi
June 18th 2018


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it on slsk homies

btw, different beasts but i liked Mudshadow Propaganda a bit more than this release

hal1ax
June 18th 2018


14143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is nice

Chortles
June 18th 2018


21450 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

love this Jack. i find all traum's work to be somewhat ineffable, but this moniker/album really takes that feeling to the next level, so this "REVIEW" feels perfectly suited. xx

bloc
June 18th 2018


58308 Comments


This sounds like my kind of thing

Digging: Black Devil Disco Club - Disco Club

Evok
June 18th 2018


7747 Comments


so is this still a vinyl only release?

luci
June 18th 2018


11959 Comments


yeah there's no web release. all the downloads are vinyl rips

brainmelter
June 18th 2018


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very nioce

Digging: Evigt Morker - 1

Gyromania
June 19th 2018


28936 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like the Have A Nice Life reference. This album is pure bliss

verdant
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2018


2424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

< 3

MotokoKusanagi
June 19th 2018


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Like the Have A Nice Life reference. This album is pure bliss"

wait how did I miss this, what is the reference?

oltnabrick
June 19th 2018


37859 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Big fan of this

Digging: Liturgy - H.A.Q.Q.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2018


2424 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@motoko

the summary

MotokoKusanagi
June 19th 2018


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"the summary"

ah crap, somehow missed that. thought dj healer had made a HANL reference in track titles or something lmao

MotokoKusanagi
June 19th 2018


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

on unrelated note, the only US copy of Mudshadow Propaganda pressing is being sold for $200 on discogs RIP

Gyromania
June 20th 2018


28936 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was telling Lucid earlier that I first heard "At Last" while driving along the riverfront during a thunderstorm. Couldn't imagine a more perfect song to be playing. Maybe that's why it's my favourite song here, despite it being so minimal. It's hauntingly beautiful.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy