Cuyo
π Drops


2.0
poor

Review

by AnimalsAsSummit USER (28 Reviews)
June 14th, 2018 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A perfect and short taste of how state-of-the-art electronica should sound in the year 2018..... T_T

Cuyo is an electronic artist which is part of the collective/ label Nostro Hood System. Their bandcamp is full of electronic/ psychedelic odysseys, but one little EP from first of this month stands out among the rest. 'π Drops' is an auditory journey of some of the most up to date production techniques and detailed oriented sounding electronic of the year. The one word I am left with after hearing this very small but powerful monolith is: Atmospheric.

The EP is only 4 tracks, but they are all extraordinary examples of electronic music by any standards. While using tribal rhythmic patterns and taking influence from almost every electronic genre in the book (especially IDM, downtempo and breakbeat), Cuyo craft a piece of music that flows effortlessly. If you have any interest in how textures interact with melody, this EP is for you. The whole thing is filled with confounding yet uplifting moments of electronica-based bliss that seems to emanate from a bio-mechanical aquatic super-computer. The sound is far more refined and mature than any of the label's other works, and this really keeps it a head above the rest.

Although based in a kind of futurist return to rave/ club aesthetics, there is something wholly organic and deep-seated about the mysterious sounds surrounding 'π Drops'. According to the bandcamp page, it elaborates that 'π Drops' "is purposeful, where the symbol Pi is represented as an infinite potential for the people of the world to shape the Earth into a colourful paradise without war, poverty and prejudice." With such a bold mission statement, you'd hope they'd have the music to back it up. Thankfully this is very much the case.

Whether the result of an actual person going under the alias 'Cuyo', or a highly advanced quantum program designed to create the most pleasant synthetic music possible, 'π Drops' stands on its own two feet as an alluring piece of mechanized art. At such a short runtime (only about 12 minutes), this can be seen as a disappointment for some. However, the tracks on here are so engaging and intricate in every way, that the length of the EP does not really matter. After one listen you just want to jam it all over again. Its a feat for electronic music in 2018, crossing many terrains that were previously unexplored, and it makes Cuyo a name people should definitely look out for in the future....... :(



Recent reviews by this author
Macintosh Plus Sick and PanicSoulstice (USA-CA) Illusion
Julien Face of GodPrefab Sprout Let's Change the World With Music
Julien MercuryCastanarc Rude Politics
user ratings (7)
3.1
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Asdfp277
June 14th 2018


24467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

didn't like the album

AnimalsAsSummit
June 14th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

true idk why i 5d this or wrote this

Asdfp277
June 14th 2018


24467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol



edit: oh, forreal?

AnimalsAsSummit
June 14th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yes for real, a friend convinced me to write this shit and now im considering deleting the whole thing unless people get some sort of reward out of this total joke

Asdfp277
June 14th 2018


24467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it ok bro, do as you please, just don't stress about it o:

brainmelter
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2018


8376 Comments


wasn't this a 5review? I don't get it

rabidfish
June 15th 2018


8740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dude i thought this was aight

Asdfp277
June 15th 2018


24467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i mean, it's ok at best

rabidfish
June 15th 2018


8740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yes

u could say that it's a 3.14

Astral Abortis
June 15th 2018


6731 Comments


Your 5 review convinced me to check this and I thought it would be crazy weird and cool because I know you usually love weird obscure shit. But it was p basic. About a 3, yea.

AnimalsAsSummit
June 15th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

*2 review

Astral Abortis
June 15th 2018


6731 Comments


Yes, but it was a 5 review, and thus the time in which it was a 5 and had no comments because it was immediately put up, is when I saw it, and checked it out.

Astral Abortis
June 15th 2018


6731 Comments


i.e. I will never read any review you post again because you've now turned me off with this weird attitude and duplicitous approach.

AnimalsAsSummit
June 15th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

wow lol ok

Asdfp277
June 15th 2018


24467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it's not that deep

rabidfish
June 15th 2018


8740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pulled a reverse pitchfork

AnimalsAsSummit
June 15th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

astral im sorry you spent 12 mins listening to this before editing the rating / disclosing my intentions haha

Astral Abortis
June 15th 2018


6731 Comments


You should be. You act like 12 minutes of wasted time is pretty petty, but considering I have a very regimented day, even down to which music I choose to listen to, it's typically a big deal for me to take my time to listen to something new based on blind faith in somebody whose taste I find interesting. And in the past, you have talked very passionately about a lot of weird and cool shit that I always admired about you. But this has betrayed that faith I had.

This should have no importance for you, I'm just explaining why I said what I said. I mean, it's not like you give a fuck whether I jam whatever you like or not. It's not like I ever told you when I did.

AnimalsAsSummit
June 15th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

whatever homie seems to me you missed the mark on this one

Avagantamos
June 15th 2018


8983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

your friend talked you into writing a sarcastic review?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy