Tremonti
A Dying Machine


4.0
excellent

Review

by Asura14 USER (7 Reviews)
June 9th, 2018 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With his first and longer concept album, Tremonti goes a mark above.

When Tremonti first released All I Was it was better than what most expected, heavy metal greatness that was not meant to revolutionize anything but to pump some juice into the genre and make the "Tremonster" fans grow a new appetite that does not overlap with what Alter Bridge was doing. So 6 years later and sitting on 3 records that prove he can carry a full fledged metal band with his singing and guitar playing it seems like Tremoti thought it was time to flex a little and not only give us what we've come to expect but also a more grandiose kind of material.

All the heavy hitters are still here. Tracks like "Make It Hurt", "Bringer of War", "The Day When Legions Burned" and "A Lot Like Sin" prove his heavier tendencies haven't gone anywhere and are just as great as you'd expect. Well composed, succinct and incredibly well performed bangers that should satisfy those wanting this album to be All I Was 3. Some epic anthems from tracks like "Take You With Me" and "The First The Last" which should both be getting radio play very soon if given the credit they deserve. Then songs like "From The Sky", "Desolation", "Trust" and "Found" where the artist seems to be experimenting more than in his previous releases which is great news since the desire for heaviness and catchier anthems should already be satisfied. The album is overall well rounded, with some highlights being the use of acoustic guitar throughout it and significantly more somber, mid-tempo and melodic chunks than what we've been used to in the past. The album deals with loss and love which is something fans would most likely expect out of Alter Bridge, but the darkness those themes bring to this album definitely fit his style.

All in all, I think this might be Tremonti's (the band) best album since their debut. It's hard to say how it will stand a few months from now looking back and having it side-by-side with his already incredible resume. Much like his band-mate Myles Kennedy earlier this year, Tremonti along with his band seem to have taken their time to come up with a solid narrative-written album that paves the way to even more great metal content in the future, but for now might just be one of 2018's best. The album is only at fault when it seems to all blend together with most songs following a very basic structure, which is not enough to bring it down since it is an adrenaline injection that keeps on giving, even when it slows down for us to catch our breath.



Recent reviews by this author
MARIO BARREIROS Dois Quartetos Sobre o Marsage. equilibrium
John Coltrane Blue WorldJID DiCaprio 2
Polyphia New Levels New DevilsOmar LinX M.O.R.
user ratings (140)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Clifgard (4.5)
But oh, what a machine!...

leku200 (3)
"Sometimes to love someone, you got to be a stranger"...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Asura14
June 9th 2018


455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As a disclaimer I'm a huge Alter Bridge/Tremonti fan, I'm sure not everyone will enjoy this one as much as me but damn is this one a banger. The man sure can play and sing

Digging: Static Dress - Rouge Carpet Disaster

Muse1748
June 9th 2018


188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is absolutely stellar. Easily a top 5 of the year for me: everything this man touches, now, is just gold.

cor22222
June 9th 2018


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Day When Legions Burned and A Lot Like Sin are insta classic. Tremonti shows his skill one more time

Digging: Pure Reason Revolution - Above Cirrus

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2018


17108 Comments


Haven’t had a chance to spin this yet but I’m expecting the usual Tremonti goodness. As for the review (which I notice is your second on the site) there’s a lot of touching up and proof reading that needs to happen. I could spend the best part of two pages pointing things out but I’d rather leave you with this:

Try reading your review out loud, similar to that of a speech. If it sounds funky/wrong when you speak then chances are it’s worse when typed.

If you want to take it a step further, there’s a help/proofreaders thread on the site’s forums where pointers, rewriting, general improvements can occur. Best of luck and keep writing : ]

Beardog
June 9th 2018


4196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Meh record is pretty good, it's better than Dust but that doesn't say a lot. I still think Cauterize is way better than this release. This guy should do something different, he has released four records that are almost completely the same...

Asura14
June 9th 2018


455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@NocteDominum I did read it out loud before posting it, my level of English is pretty good imo but it is not my first language and that maybe shows.

I'll definitely try and improve my writing but for now if there are any immediate fixes you'd like me to do let me know ^^ thanks for the feedback

Zeuzo
June 9th 2018


2276 Comments


Sounds samey at times
But I don't mind since it's fire

Asura14
June 9th 2018


455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@NocteDominum made a few changes since your comment, hope it helped.



@Zeuzo tho that was my one criticism I really don't mind it either, its just a great time listening to this

Sciroccu
June 9th 2018


956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn I'm eager to hear it...great review.

Zeuzo
June 9th 2018


2276 Comments


@Asura I was silently hoping for the sound of this to change somewhere in the middle of the album and when it finally did change it was on the closer that is instrumental LOL

Nevertheless everything bangs so hard it exceeded my expectations

btw "Tremonti goes a mark above" nice

Asura14
June 9th 2018


455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Zeuzo was waiting to see if someone to noticed the pun lol



And ye I felt pretty much the same way, tho the catchy beat of The First to Last caught me a little off-guard

Asura14
June 9th 2018


455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@sciroccu thank you ^^ Hope you enjoy it as much as I did

sam1oq
June 9th 2018


104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tremonti should really spice up his writing. It's annoying how almost all his songs adhere to the exact same song structure of verse-chorus-exact same verse-chorus-bridge-chorus. He's such a great guitar player, which makes it extra frustrating that his songwriting is so limited.

IconicShaman
June 10th 2018


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Sounds samey at times



But I don't mind since it's fire [2]"



There's really a lot to like about this even if this is essentially treading the same grounds from Cauterize/Dust. I liked both of those albums, so it seems natural I like this album too. The one thing that keeps my interest so far are the small wrinkles Mark's added to the mix. The harmonies are tight and he's using different approaches that keep the same-old structures fresh and fun.



Oh, and Mark should have absolutely been singing lead full-time well before now. I can't even begin to describe how wonderful it is to hear his voice front and center. He's got a great voice to go with the music he's writing and he's much better than Myles Kennedy and Scott Stapp.

Zeuzo
June 10th 2018


2276 Comments


„He's much better than Myles Kennedy”
You ok there buddy?

tiesthatbind
June 10th 2018


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m liking this so far and Mark’s vocals are the best they’ve ever been, but it definitely feels like there was potential for him to step up his game more on this album.



The title track is by far the best thing here, and it’s one of the best songs he’s done. The bridge is moody and awesome and actually takes its time to develop, so it was kind of disappointing that the rest of the album was more formulaic. Still some fun songs on here and his pick of singles was great, but so far I’d say Dust was a fair amount better than this.

Beardog
June 10th 2018


4196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah the title track is amazing, I love the tension it brings. I fully agree with the points you make ties

Asura14
June 10th 2018


455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love how everyone who mentions the "best track"(s) always mentions a different one(s)



@ties I was expecting you to like this one more not gonna lie, you're by far the person I've read the most reviews by in here (all thats AB related pretty much)

IconicShaman
June 10th 2018


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

For me, the best track is As The Silence Becomes Me. Tremonti always nails it on the "serious" songs (Tore My Heart Out/The Things I've Seen/etc) and this is no different. Probably one of my top 5, if not top 3, songs Tremonti's ever done.



"You ok there buddy?"



It's just preference. Yes, Myles is more talented and he can definitely sing his ass off. I just think Mark's voice sounds better.

tiesthatbind
June 10th 2018


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As The Silence Becomes Me is another one of my favorites. That whole final stretch of this album is pretty great.



I still like the album, I just think Tremonti could move his songwriting to the next level and you only get that in glimpses here and there on this album. The instrumental is unlike anything I’ve heard him do but you don’t get it until the very end of the album! Hell, I’d even take more songs like Take You With Me cause it’s fun as hell and Mark kills it vocally (especially on the verses).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy