Anthony Green
Would You Still Be In Love


4.5
superb

Review

by g u t t e r b o y USER (1 Reviews)
June 5th, 2018 | 117 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A release that shouldn't be passed off as just a "sad album", but more so to bring attention to not just Anthony's depression, but the harsh realities of depression in everyone.

Throughout the personal ups and downs of Anthony Green's life, he has always painfully worn his heart on his sleeve for the entire world to witness, and the world has graciously sang along with him. The busy bee that he is, Green has been consistently churning out music with either the bands he is in, or his own solo work. "Would You Still Be In Love" is the fifth solo album released by Green, right off the heels of his main band, Circa Survive, and their latest album "The Amulet". This man with the golden voice is constantly making music, always giving his fans something to clamor over. In the past few years alone, he's put out two solo albums, a New Circa Survive album, a newly reunited Saosin album, and is currently stirring something up with The Sounds Of Animals Fighting. All of that doesn't even factor into all of the nonstop touring he does, which may have been the catalyst for this newest release and the content that it holds.

Albeit, it's the shortest Anthony Green album to date, it's also the most devastatingly heartbreaking string of songs he's ever put down on wax. "Vera Lynn" opens the album, and gives off a false tone of sweetness, but underneath the veneer lies a woeful wistfulness that permeates every note he strums and sings. The exact same thing could be said for the following track "Love", which is actually a cover from the 1973 animated movie "Robin Hood". Anthony takes that innocent song, and gives it such a haunting appeal that you'll find it stuck in your head for days to come. The middle section of the album is by far the best, and is where the atmosphere and mood grows much bleaker and much, much darker. The back-to-back trio of "You're So Dead Meat", "Keep Your Mouth Shut", and "When I Come Home" is some of the most desolate and dread-filling material I've ever heard come from the likes of Green. These are the three songs that I absolutely cannot stop listening to, and if there were any cries for help hidden within this album, it would definitely be in this progression of songs. If the 1:00 mark of "Keep Your Mouth Shut", and that falsetto-crooning vocal melody doesn't hit you right in the gut, then you must be made of pure stone. But that's not to say that there isn't any glimmer of hope lying within the album. Songs such as "Real Magic", "A Little Death", and "Changing Shape" sooth the mind and body from the soul-crushing realities you experience early on in the album. Thankfully, it adds somewhat of a balance to the despair that ebbs and flows throughout the track listing.

In retrospect, I should've seen this type of album coming. He can be relatively transparent on his social platforms, and that's okay. After all, he's just a flesh and bone human being like the rest of us. Snippets of his anxieties and self-deprecation have appeared on his earlier albums. From his debut album Avalon all the way to his previous release Pixie Queen, there's always a tinge of melancholy attached. I fully admit that I am an Anthony Green fanboy, but this record puts a bit of fear into me. I'm scared for his mental health and his well-being. I don't know the man personally, but I can completely empathize and see through the veil. I want this man to continue making his art and not succumb to his own personal headspace. I can only hope the best for an artist whose music helped me through some very tough times in my own life. So, if you happen to find yourself at one of his shows or one of his social media platforms, even if you're reading this review five or ten years from now, give this man a giant hug and tell him all the nice things that any human would want to hear. If we all supported each other, the world might not be so bad to coexist in.


user ratings (74)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
supremejelly
June 5th 2018


1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! This is easily his best since Avalon.

Minor nitpick:

I think instead of a period, these two sentences should just be separated with a comma: "All of that doesn't even factor in all of the nonstop touring he does. Which just may have been the catalyst for this newest release and the content that it holds."

Digging: '68 - Two Parts Viper

coldheaven
June 5th 2018


4641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks supreme! This is actually my very first review, even though I said I would never review anything, haha. But I just HAD to with this album, because I agree with you on the fact that it's his best since Avalon.

supremejelly
June 5th 2018


1073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice dude, couldn't even tell this was your first review.

If you check out his twitter I see a few people asking about his mental well-being lol. I'm seeing him on his Avalon tour, hope I get a chance to tell him nice shit. Would be the third time doing a meet-and-greet with him.

onionbubs
June 5th 2018


11416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh shit so this is good? will give it a shot then

Digging: Alexisonfire - Watch Out!

ZombieToyDuck
June 5th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice first review cold! got a bunch of small edits to help ya out, if you'd like I can drop em your way

coldheaven
June 5th 2018


4641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@onion yeah it’s goooooood, my dude



@supreme yeah, I see his twitter stuff all the time and it really worries me. But I’m also going to the Avalon show, got that VIP, haha. Adding all his bands, this has to be at least my 15th or 16th seeing him lol

coldheaven
June 5th 2018


4641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Bring em on, my zombieboi, anything helps

ZombieToyDuck
June 5th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Green, with his golden voice is constantly making music, always giving his fans something to chomp at. [wording seemed a bit off, maybe try this?]



In the past few years alone [forgot 'the']



All of that doesn't even factor into the nonstop [change 'in' to 'into']



which may have been [remove just]



that ebbs and flows throughout the track listing [add 's' change along to throughout?]



Snippets of his anxieties and self-deprecation [misspelling]



While Avalon was a collection of his older songs, Beautiful Things regarded his past addictions and his struggle to keep his relationships in tact, most of Young Legs was about his children to whom he is very dedicated to, and Pixie Queen was basically worship towards his wonderful wife, there's always a tinge of melancholy attached to these said albums.

[this is a bit clunky I'd split this sentence up]

ZombieToyDuck
June 5th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

most of those are small adjustments but generally my commentary would be to work on your sentences some of them tend to be a bit lengthy. I'd maybe work on conciseness on that regard. Also I really like the personal touch to this I'd work on that. I think a personal statement at the beginning of the review could really help tie the idea of this together more as I like the way you close this. I think having a review make a statement as to how we all need to express care to one another more often is a lovely idea. I always try to make personal reviews have a message as well.

bgillesp
June 5th 2018


6917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didn't even know this solo career existed. Will check for sure!

Faraudo
June 5th 2018


2920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this man.

Digging: The National - I Am Easy to Find

SteakByrnes
June 5th 2018


14740 Comments


Good review coldbro :]

Digging: Kurt Travis - There's a Place I Want to Take You

coldheaven
June 5th 2018


4641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@zombie I’ll make those edits when I get to my computer! Thanks for the help, my dude



@bgillesp ya gotta get on it, man!



@faraudo same here, obviously haha



And thanks a whole lot, my steakyboi

ZombieToyDuck
June 5th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

anytime man! if you ever need a quick proofread before posting a review lemme know!

botb
June 5th 2018


12914 Comments


Will have to give this a shot, good write up my dude

upintheair
June 5th 2018


447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

His best solo work imo, Pixie Queen being a very...very close 2nd.

Digging: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties - Routine Maintenance

bloc
June 5th 2018


55419 Comments


Never really liked this guy in Saosin

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - Mista Thug Isolation

Nbehre11
June 5th 2018


166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great write up for a great album!

Digging: The National - Sleep Well Beast

coldheaven
June 5th 2018


4641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That’s wild, bloc



And thanks nbehre!

OwMySnauze
June 5th 2018


1937 Comments


Blasphemy... Saosin was at its prime from the start with Translating The Name because of Green



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy