Kanye West
ye


4.0
excellent

Review

by Sebastian USER (76 Reviews)
June 1st, 2018 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Two from two.

In stark contrast to DAYTONA, we have Ye. A sudden listening party was curated to celebrate its release. Celebrities abundant, as you can imagine. But weirdly enough, Ye doesn’t feel like it needs a massive listening party. DAYTONA certainly did, what with its visceral beats and tough bars combining on a flawless production credit from Kanye himself. Ye feels more free-flowing. A departure from the at-times jarring Yeezus. It feels more focused. A stark difference from the schizophrenic The Life of Pablo. But most importantly, it feels Kanye, something that has remained through all of his changes.

And honestly, what more could we want?

Just like DAYTONA, Ye clocks in at seven tracks. Twenty-three minutes. But just like Pusha’s album, Kanye achieves greatness. It feels all-encompassing. Opener ‘I Thought About Killing You’ acts as a self-medication, a cleansing of what Kanye has been going through the last few years; Scream so loud got no lungs/Hurt so bad I go numb. It’s all over a low-key keyboard line before bringing in what the album is about; clean, crisp production over some bars. Though lacking that crunch lyric wise, the flow/beat duo intertwine so effortlessly. Tracks like ‘All Mine’ use a slow, methodical beat over some of Kanye’s funniest lyrics; I love your titties cause’ they prove/I can focus on two things at once. It’s these tongue-and-cheek moments that are contrasted by more serious moments that help Ye feel so fulfilling. A track like the epic ‘Ghost Town’ work both as a triumph and as an introspective statement; Baby don’t you bet it all/On a pack of Fentanyl; all put together by a fantastic final verse from 070 Shake; I put my hands on the stove, to see if I still bleed/Yeah, and nothing hurts anymore, I feel kinda free. Ye feels like it leads up to this penultimate track, in which everything comes together. Introspection. Clarity. Acceptance. Freedom.

And as ‘Violent Crimes’ winds the album down; Don’t grow up in a hurry/your mom’ll be worried; freedom is what Ye feels like. Though it isn’t the upfront and ragged DAYTONA, why should it be? Ye is beautiful the way it is. It’s Kanye finally coming out with something so incredibly focused, a feeling a Kanye album hasn’t brought in a long time. And although it barely crosses the twenty minute mark, it doesn’t feel like it needs to. It’s a clear, introspective approach, and it works so cohesively that it all feels so special. We’re here for Ye. And I’m loving every minute of it.

Two from two.

4.2/5

Recommended Tracks: I Thought About Killing You, All Mine, Ghost Town, Violent Crimes



Recent reviews by this author
Bring Me the Horizon AmoJames Blake Assume Form
Noname Room 25The Amity Affliction Misery
Foxing Nearer My GodDwellings Lavender Town
user ratings (1072)
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
MotokoKusanagi
June 1st 2018


3441 Comments


cool review but I wasn't feeling this album at all. I liked his last 3 releases a lot but this was a bit of a snooze besides 2 or 3 tracks

Digging: D.K. - The Ancient Kingdom

Drubbi
June 1st 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gave this a ton of listens. Cut me some slack on the time between release and review considering it’s only twenty minutes heh.

Drubbi
June 1st 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Moto yeah I think it might be a bit too empty for some, but I felt like it added a ton.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2018


5237 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Didn't this come out like just hours ago?

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

MotokoKusanagi
June 1st 2018


3441 Comments


@drubbi maybe it will be a grower? not sure how much time i'm going to put in lol

also kid cudi singing is like nails on a chalk board

Marxman
June 1st 2018


62 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not sure which is worse between Life of Pablo and this, but both are pretty bad.



I like 'Yikes' though.

guitarded_chuck
June 1st 2018


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i bet my savings doof neg'd this

Drubbi
June 1st 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually have a huge review lined up for Pablo at some point. It’s grown on me to be my favourite Kanye album lmao.

DoofusWainwright
June 1st 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Chuck you think I'm that petty, I actually didn't neg this - but the only way I could prove it is by neg'ing it now



And then i'd have neg'd it, so I can't prove it

DoofusWainwright
June 1st 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Do you want me to neg this review?

Drubbi
June 1st 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You don’t think there’s anything redeemable about this album doof?

guitarded_chuck
June 1st 2018


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i dont ~think~ youre petty, youre the most petty person ive ever encountered

DoofusWainwright
June 1st 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Well I did 5 'Full Moon Fever'

DoofusWainwright
June 1st 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

Drubbi - I actually really like 'All mine' to the degree I might even download it.



But it's 2 minutes of 33 minutes and rating this -as an album- it's nowhere near enough. I wouldn't listen to any of the rest, it has next to nothing to offer, I really don't understand what people are digging their teeth into here.

Drubbi
June 1st 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But I mean a 0.5 implies there's nothing to digest at all. I see a 0.5 reserved for the worst of the worst. Something that barely qualifies as music. So completely terrible that it doesn't deserve anyone listening to it.



Using that, surely this isn't a 0.5.

Darius The Imposter
June 1st 2018


22581 Comments


lmao doof

Toad
June 1st 2018


2039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

its a .5 because it's .5 of a 1/5 album

guitarded_chuck
June 1st 2018


18061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Using that, surely this isn't a 0.5."



the mistake you make is in thinking doof looked at this objectively at all vs knowing he was going to give it a 0.5 review for edgepoints and attention on sputnikmusic.com before he pressed play

DoofusWainwright
June 1st 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

'Something that barely qualifies as music'



What gets a mainstream release that barely qualifies as music?



We're rating the entertainment, our own enjoyment. We're not 'objectively rating' music, we're not signing artists up. That jobs been done, relax.



Use the 0.5-5 scale provided to rate your enjoyment of the music encountered. A simple system.

butt.
June 1st 2018


8007 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

doof, if this is 0.5 then what is xxxtentacion? the chainsmokers? 0.5 implies this is completely bottom of the barrel and it doesn't get worse than this. I'm sure you know it music can get MUCH worse than this. That is a troll rating and you aint foolin anybody

Digging: Acid Witch - Evil Sound Screamers



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy