The Horrors
V


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpaceMan USER (40 Reviews)
May 30th, 2018 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist


I originally had a bloated introduction starting off this review, but the irony is V makes a point to avoid bullshit like that. This record is immediate, with opener “Hologram” kicking off after only a few seconds of build up. This is largely symbolic of V's straight-to-the-point pop rock attitude. It's a very loud and produced album clearly constructed with an amphitheater setting in mind. This is further supported on the shoulders of the lead singer, whose voice booms and echoes in confidence despite carrying a solemn and sinister vibe. Monumental guitar riffs and thunderous drum beats decimate through massive synth lines like a battle of titans, offering the main duality of the show. This is the most immediate characteristic of the album: an affair between the retro and the futuristic, an amalgam that reflects an image of how the 80's may have visualized our modern times. There's an inherent throwback of post-punk and arena filling pop sounds riding alongside electronic effects and modern dance beats.

Yet none of it seems to flirt with gimmickry, comfortably working together to create a definitive sound. Underneath the screeching guitar noises, whirring electronic motors and echoing vocal effects, The Horrors aren't trying to hide anything. It's an awesome employment of these smoke tricks, acting as stage pyrotechnics rather than an act of deception. There's just straight neo-psychedelic rock on the agenda, and so coupled with this theatricality we have a unique combination that sort of compounds one another other; like being asked to touch your nose while drunk in a hall of mirrors – the reflective trickery should have no effect on your proprioception, but it ultimately does. It might even make you fall flat on your face. Luckily, The Horrors can keep their balance in this environment.

And truthfully, there's not much else to say about V. It's not trying to be loaded with depth, or exist to be endlessly analyzed or figured out. It makes its point clear, repeats it for most of its songs, and leaves. There's novelty in that, and it makes deciding where you stand with the record quick and easy.



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ConfieldCulprate Others
Alocasia Garden Burning the FlagsHalou Wiser
Pinkshinyultrablast Miserable MiraclesState of Grace Pacific Motion
user ratings (83)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Christopher Y. (4.5)
V for five? More like V for victory of the band to me....


Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
May 30th 2018


6006 Comments


Cool. Pos.

TheSpaceMan
May 30th 2018


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this was my aoty 2017, i basically wrote this review because every piece of writing i could find on it just referenced past albums, bands and songs i've never heard of, leaving me clueless on what they are talking about. so as someone who never heard their past albums before hearing this, i wanted to share my thoughts

SandwichBubble
May 30th 2018


10291 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Album annoys me, but a pretty good short review.

TheSpaceMan
May 30th 2018


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thats a shame



thanks guys

zakalwe
May 30th 2018


28820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yes my man! Album is class.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2018


24956 Comments


hell yes reads fantastically now space, might have to peep this one

BREAKDOWNS
May 30th 2018


418 Comments


album cover is cool, will try this

theBoneyKing
May 30th 2018


17435 Comments


Nice one Space

Chortles
May 30th 2018


21429 Comments


killin it mane

Aberf
May 30th 2018


2446 Comments


Heh.... Check Horrors - V

TheSpaceMan
May 30th 2018


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[2] lol



You guys are the best. Yeah album cover is fantastic, fits the vibe well. Zak knows

FearThyEvil
May 31st 2018


17067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this album! Would it be safe to say if I enjoy this the other albums will be pretty easy to get into as well or are they quite different?

TheSpaceMan
May 31st 2018


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sick! so i actually started with this too, and i think it's still my favorite, but Primary Colours is very good and def worth checking out. they were a bit more gothic and way less poppy/electronic back then it seems, more focused on neo-psych and post punk then they are here. but yea id say go for it

polyrhythm
June 1st 2018


2112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No way, I was just finishing off a Sput review for this thing. Nice work Space

Digging: Goat - World Music

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2018


3052 Comments


Please continue along these lines, Space, excellent writing. If you want super-minor-fuck-off-it-doesn't-matter nitpicks, though: "rfffs" in the first para; "who's" (who is/has) should be "whose" (possessive); "flirt with gimmickry" makes a bit more sense to me; and some of your prepositions read a tad awkward at times, though that's not worth dwelling on (I can point some out another time if you're interested).

Digging: Common Holly - When I say to you Black Lightning

TheSpaceMan
June 1st 2018


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh sweet thanks blush, ill make a few ammends. And yeah what preps? You can hit me with those whenever/wherever



@poly aww damn sorry my dude, you should totally still post it if you'd like to finish it

TheSpaceMan
June 1st 2018


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i grow stronger

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2018


24956 Comments


gasp!

polyrhythm
March 12th 2019


2112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just got this geezer on vinyl. Sounds like a million yen

TheSpaceMan
March 13th 2019


12344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh shit nice dude



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy