Allelic
Reverberations


4.0
excellent

Review

by DungeonBoy USER (10 Reviews)
May 30th, 2018 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A captivating journey through time

As the gentle waves slowly wash over the opening moments of Reverberations the steel string plucking of a tranquil guitar is joined harmoniously by the wistful melodies of a pensive harmonica. A symphony of strings slowly rolls over the hills into the sunlit landscape as a solemn choir emerges into the foreground. A cadent drum pulsates the earth alongside sweeping tremolo riffs and the observer is guided into the archaic world were Allelic resides.

This one-man project, conducted solely by The Principal Investigator, is a musical experiment recovered from an ancient past, previously thought lost in a distant time. A myriad of tools found on Reverberations are masterfully handled to construct a truly unique amalgamation of folk and black metal. Guitars, bass, wooden spoons, feet percussion, harmonica, and drums, are all used effectively throughout this short 14-minute journey. To label it “black metal” or “folk” would be misleading as the two elements are more intertwined than fused, however, the transitions between the two are seamlessly woven together by excellent song writing and dynamics.

The more intense lo-fi atmospheric sections create visions of floating amidst brooding heavenly celestial bodies, gazing deeply into black vistas of space and time, only to be pulled back to terra firma, at the heart of an olden faire surrounded by crowds merrily dancing, wondrous smells of mulled wine and smoked meat, and a celebration of a simpler life. Where many similar one-man projects fall short with stagnation and lack of creativity, Allelic excels, and the journey throughout such a brief listen is remarkably mesmerizing.

The biggest disappointment with this debut EP is there just isn’t more of it. 14 minutes is enough time for Allelic to establish the atmosphere of its primitive world, but as soon as the hooks are set the experience is over, leaving the listener wanting more. Time will tell what The Principal Investigator is capable of building in his workshop, but if Reverberations is any indication of future quality then there is a lot to look forward to.



Recent reviews by this author
Katatonia SanctitudeUlvesang The Hunt
Meus Miserere Mei DeusNhor Wildflowers: Summer
Eloign Old YarnsMeus September
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DungeonBoy
May 30th 2018


6003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Streaming/available for purchase on Bandcamp at:

https://allelic.bandcamp.com/releases



This EP, and all other The Green Man releases can be found at:

https://thegreenmanlabel.bandcamp.com/

Digging: D'un Autre Temps - Nos Mmoires

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2018


24616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jamming now as promised



my man, do you own/work for that label?

Digging: Radiator Hospital - Sings "Music for Daydreaming"

DungeonBoy
May 30th 2018


6003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man, me and Tom from Meus are currently running it and it just so happens that every release we have on it as of right now is from a Sputnik user. Lots of talent hidden in the woodwork around here

lalchimiste
May 30th 2018


1099 Comments


I am so humbled by this extremely well written review. The scenes and images you put into words accurately describe the emotion and mood I was trying to achieve with those compositions. The positive feedback has been very rewarding for me.

I'd like to thank The Green Man label, because without their support and especially for the outstanding mastering job that made the EP sound immensely better.

Digging: Eucharist - Mirrorworlds

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2018


24616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Dungeon, damn that's awesome!! I'll have to check the label's bandcamp :]

TheNemeton91
June 1st 2018


253 Comments


A new, fascinating, one-man folk/black project that lives only an hour away from me? Get in! I love that a completely new act on the site has immediately made the top of the front page. I hope we start doing this more often to help out bands and get them exposure.

Concise yet eloquent review. Pos'd!

TheNemeton91
June 1st 2018


253 Comments


Also - I adore the cover art. I love when bands make use of traditional works, for example: Obsequiae using The Lady And The Unicorn tapestry. The Flammarion Engraving is a welcome addition.

YakNips
June 1st 2018


19695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

slaps

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 1st 2018


30697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listening now. Not even a metal fan but this sounds really good so far.



Edit: This is fucking lit. One of the best things I've heard all year. If it was an LP it'd be my current AOTY, but right now it's my EPOTY.

Digging: Tyler, the Creator - Igor

dbizzles
June 1st 2018


13159 Comments


'Folk/Atmospheric black metal band from Quebec, Canada'

SOLD

Digging: Rusted Shut - Rehab

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2018


24616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell yeah sowing haha



gotta say, love the touch of the harmonicas :]

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 1st 2018


30697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First Rosehall now this; what's with this week and super small-time, unknown yet downright incredible bands coming out of the woodwork?

Gyromania
June 1st 2018


27186 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is so damn good. I love how fluid the first track is. At times the acoustic passages remind me of Agalloch. Other times I get a sort of Ulver vibe. And that harmonica bit where the song breaks into this cheery folksy song is sublime. Second track is just beautiful guitar work front-to-back. Idk if I'd like an entire album of this, but as an EP it works perfectly.

luci
June 1st 2018


10943 Comments


yeah this is legit

nice writeup!

br4dl3yb34r
June 1st 2018


220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gorgeous

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2018


3304 Comments


wot's this

hal1ax
June 1st 2018


13611 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nice review dude



i did not enjoy this

JS19
June 2nd 2018


7110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is some awesome stuff

Digging: Tim Hecker - Anoyo

Pho3nix
June 2nd 2018


630 Comments


Need an entire LP of this

luci
June 2nd 2018


10943 Comments


In my top 20 releases, always feel the urge to jam it again. Thank you!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy