Akira Yamaoka
Silent Hill Homecoming


4.5
superb

Review

by Simon.K CONTRIBUTOR (201 Reviews)
May 26th, 2018 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the most fully realised Silent Hill OSTs of the bunch.

Silent Hill: Homecoming was the beginning of the end for many fans of the series. As much as I agree with the consensus – hating the combat heavy mechanics and reliant fan service cameo and Easter eggs (Pyramid Head being the most perplexing and irritating of them all) – I did enjoy the simple, yet effective, storytelling. As is the case with all the other Westernised Silent Hill games, they’ve always had a firm hold on good storytelling, even if the ambiguity and cultural barriers were thrown out the window in the process. And yet, in spite of the games backlash, the soundtrack to Homecoming is quite possibly the finest OST from the batch of post-The Room games. Filled with dank, metallic industrial air, this smog-infested sonic journey has the emotional effectiveness of Silent Hill 2 with the dour dread of its industrially charged electronic counterpart. Tracks like “Cold Blood” have that rusty metal screech embodying the piece, but the washings of beautiful melancholy associated with SH2’s masterpiece make it stand up there with the very best of Yamaoka’s work. The sinister “Attitude #70” with its ominous puffs and blows mixed with intermittent clanking metal sounds is an appreciated blast from the past and a welcome breather to the rock heavy influence of the last couple of albums. This is, indeed, the closest we ever get to the original score’s sound, and with a much bigger budget and knowledge on making soundtracks, it’s not hard to imagine this being the OST Akira had envisioned for SH1, had he been given the same tools back then.

It also stands to mention Mary Elizabeth McGlynn’s contributions here are far more integral to the album than that of her hindrances on Shattered Memories. Her performances are excellent throughout Homecoming; great execution, catchy melodies and she really drives the emotion and pain which typically comes from these scores. “One More Soul To The Call” is a fantastic opening number that carries all of Yamaoka’s modern day traits of anthemic hooks and well-crafted song structures, but when you get to each McGlynn marker on the album it feels like a cohesive and refreshing change of pace, one that never turns into an immersion ripping exercise. Basically, even though the game isn’t quite up to everyone’s tastes Akira’s craftsmanship here is still second to none. It’s definitely a reflectively made piece of work and one that seamlessly blends five games worth of musical progression together to make this sixth outing a unified treat. There’s a distinct feeling of isolation and warmth to this album that is quite unique but familiar at the same time, and that’s what makes it such a joy to go through. If you disregarded the game because of its artistic and stylistic choices, not giving enough time to appreciate the score, I highly suggest revisiting this aspect of Homecoming, it won’t disappoint.

Superb.

FORMAT/EDITION: SILENT HILL: SOUNDBOX///̶/̶C̶D̶/̶/̶D̶I̶G̶I̶T̶A̶L̶

PACKAGING: Housed in a hard-cardboard box with 10 slimline CD cases and 1-page artwork for each.

SPECIAL EDITION: Contains a Machine Head remix of “Alex's Theme” which, in my opinion, is the superior version; it fills up the vacant space of ballad piano notes with a flickering synth, which in turn suits McGlynn's performance better.

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE: https://open.spotify.com/album/1Jz7anFZ2f5XG1SwvIy9ma



Recent reviews by this author
Bury Tomorrow Black FlameGodflesh Streetcleaner
Guns N' Roses Appetite For Destruction: Remastered...Wombbath The Great Desolation
Bullet For My Valentine GravitySlipknot Iowa: 10th Anniversary Edition
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpaceMan
May 26th 2018


11345 Comments


nice i see you compare it to silent hills's 2 goat sound track, but how does it stack against it?

i didnt like the game, but i never beat it

CalculatingInfinity
May 26th 2018


8431 Comments


"FORMAT/EDITION: SILENT HILL: SOUNDBOX"

Jesus Christ dude do you know how much this goes for now? Feel lucky to have it.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well, it's no contest tbh, but it lends a lot of ideas from sh2's score and it works really well for it.



give it a spin, man, its a really well made album.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how much does it go for now? lol



i picked it up years ago for about £90 and even that was a begrudging buy

CalculatingInfinity
May 26th 2018


8431 Comments


https://www.discogs.com/Akira-Yamaoka-Silent-Hill-Sounds-Box/release/2791431

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy sheeeeit

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tbh, i'd recommend buying the individual albums, there's more care put into them. i used to have all the original cds but i wanted a more condensed package hence my buying of the soundbox. there's more artwork etc with the originals whereas with the SB they have slimline cases and 1 sheet of art for each cd

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

plus the bonus dvd sucks, it's just art stills for zero and the other sh games no one gives a shit about lol

Veldin
May 26th 2018


3322 Comments


Actually really enjoy this game. This is like Silent Hill 5 right?

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, it's the unnamed 5th game in the series. I enjoyed the game somewhat too, the graphics were great, but I hated the fact it used the movie for its aesthetic and design.



And Pyramid Head being used as a mascot for these games was a bloody joke; cool character and concept destroyed for the sake of the players having something "familiar" to latch onto.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 26th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's why I rate Downpour above all the other third-party games, because at least that tried to be its own thing.

Zig
May 26th 2018


819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The game is not bad not good; they surely tried to replicate the original atmosphere, but the characters look like purcell dolls and it gets annoying at some points.

As for the soundtrack, Akira did a great work.

Digging: Harry Partch - Delusion of the Fury

Aerisavion
May 26th 2018


1533 Comments


Really nice touch on the album’s merits compared to the game itself, I remember the soundtrack being alright so should really revisit this you’ve intrigued me again.

Veldin
May 26th 2018


3322 Comments


Kinda forgot about Downpour, my buddy beat it and said he enjoyed it. RIP P.T.

LethalPaintball
May 26th 2018


983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

games a travesty, score is probably 3rd or 4th best

Digging: Svalbard - It's Hard To Have Hope

Gyromania
May 26th 2018


25358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah dude! Game and soundtrack is a masterpiece

Gyromania
May 26th 2018


25358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh shit lol, thought this was for the room. This ost rules tho, and the game is pretty decent for what it is. Definitely liked it way more than downpour

LethalPaintball
May 26th 2018


983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

silent hill 4 get too much hate but it certainly has flaws

silent hill 4 is definitely the second best soundtrack behind 2 obviously

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 27th 2018


14443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@veldin Yeah man, it has issues but was a solid attempt. P.T will always be in our hearts. m/



Cheers Aeris. Definitely let us know what you think if you do go back to it.



@lethal I wouldn't call Homecoming a travesty, that kind of talk is reserved for Book of Memories lol. And I actually think The Room is far more appreciated these days than it was back in the day. I've always love The Room though; best atmosphere in all the games.



Glad you love 4 as much as me Gyro lol.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy