Chihei Hatakeyama
Butterfly's Summer and Vanished


3.5
great

Review

by insomniac15 STAFF
May 25th, 2018 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: More soothing drone ambient...

Since the lazy summer days are almost here, I find this droning type of ambient music a lovely soundtrack for such quiet mornings or afternoons. With all that energy draining, scorching heat outside, I usually take comfort in laid back, relaxing songs. Meanwhile, any accompanying picture or video attached to it can automatically change your perspective regarding the mood or setting this genre evokes. For example, it can be mournful or melancholic if combined with a certain visual experience (basic examples that seem like that to me: autumn rain or winter snow), but at the same time, it can remind you of hazy summer days (just look at the gorgeous album cover). In my opinion, these synesthetic associations apply best to ambient music. Of course, they are relatable to all genres, yet the presence of lyrics can completely change what feeling the instrumental might raise.

Moving on to Butterfly's Summer and Vanished, the soothing songs create a dreamy atmosphere that remains present throughout the whole album. The title is bittersweet, still, I ignored it and focused on the artwork. You can automatically see it as a fading memory or vividly imagine you are there to witness the gentle waves. As I mentioned, it's all about how you perceive these sounds. Knowing Chihei’s output and usual directions, things are more on the melancholic side rather than everlasting, joyful experiences. Even so, it’s all up to the music to wake certain emotions for the listener. The entire record plays more or less like a watery drone in different keys. The effects soaked guitars and heavily processed synths craft a heavenly vibe that became a trademark of the Japanese composer. ‘Raging Wave’ and ‘Calm Sea’ emphasize more on the low end, having some faint leads that work really nice with the sonic foundation. If you enjoy Hammock’s minimal output, this is right up your alley. The elegant, slow progressions of ‘In the Sunlight’ make their way through windy layers, which are smoothly wrapping themselves around the higher pitched guitars. Moreover, ‘Vanished Kingdoms’ offers this blissful journey a slightly distorted detour that reminisces a bit Fennesz’s style. Still, there are no glitches, nothing to break the graceful voyage apart. Hatakeyama has a knack for this type of ambient music and I am happy to see him maintain such a constant quality in his prolific catalog. This LP is perfect to relax on a busy day or simply enjoy it in your spare time.




Recent reviews by this author
Yawning Man The Revolt Against Tired NoisesYOB Our Raw Heart
Church of the Cosmic Skull Science FictionBong Thought and Existence
God Is an Astronaut EpitaphMidas Fall Evaporate
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2018


4525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He released many albums lately, but I got attached to this one more than to others. Good music to relax, sleep, work, etc. to



Stream/buy - http://chiheihatakeyama.bandcamp.com/album/butterflys-summer-and-vanished

Digging: Nine Inch Nails - Bad Witch

Lucid
May 25th 2018


9670 Comments


He's prolific but consistenly delivers 3.5 content. Been enjoying Void XVI, Scene and Journey to the End of August. Will check this next~

far from the atmosphere is definitely the best thing i've heard from him

Divaman
May 26th 2018


2323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this. Thanks for the tip.

Digging: Beach House - 7

Trophycase
May 26th 2018


719 Comments


Ayyyyy, a Chihei Hatakeyama review!!! This guy is awesome when you're half asleep. Has great tracks like In Dreams and Prince of the Sea but can be inconsistent. Will check this one.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2018


4525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Lucid - Yeah, I like those albums too. Check out Alone by the Sea, Coastal Railroads in Memories and Void X, they are really nice as well.



@trophycase - I like taking naps with his music on haha

Alucard125
May 26th 2018


589 Comments


Great to see some Chihei Hatakeyama here. I own several of his albums - if you buy directly from his bandcamp, he'll sign his work for you on request. I got an autographed copy of Five Dreams last week, which has been my favourite of his for a while now. You'll often get a bonus disc with some purchases.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2018


4525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's great to hear. I saw he has bonus discs for several albums. I will get some. I've been listening to Void X and Coastal Railroads in Memories quite often since they came out. I always thought the shipping will be a lot, but it's very accessible from what I searched right now.

Pho3nix
May 26th 2018


478 Comments


I enjoyed 'Above the Desert' somewhat, so I might be checking this out just because - thanks for the review!

Alucard125
May 26th 2018


589 Comments


@insomniac15 Yeah I was surprised to find that postage was only £1.30 from Japan - very reasonable. Not listened to his Void works much, where's a good place to begin?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2018


4525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

From what I read, the Void series are pretty much material he recorded for several albums but did not include it anywhere. I only checked a few of them so far, still Void X is really nice + XIV and XV.

GmemberKills
May 26th 2018


3615 Comments


awesome review, I always need more ambient. I see the label this was put out on has tons of music

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2018


4525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks! Yeah, it's Chihei's label, but has some different artists signed to it as well.

BlackMalachite
May 28th 2018


3321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, good find. Gotta check the rest of his discography out. Spiritual pos

Digging: Dead Girls Academy - Alchemy

Sniff
May 29th 2018


4655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of his better ones from what i've heard

Archelirion
June 2nd 2018


5561 Comments


Every new Chihei release is an excuse to do nothing for an hour and feel beautiful about life

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2018


4525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy