Breaking Benjamin
Ember


2.0
poor

Review

by pizzamachine USER (219 Reviews)
May 19th, 2018 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Breaking Benjamin’s album titled “Ember”

I don’t mind Breaking Benjamin, they’re alright. Once in a while they write a cool song and then I jam them again. “Ember” lacks cool songs. Don’t get me wrong, there are some cool sounding riffs here that must be difficult to play, but that’s about it. This album is all style and no substance, sounding so very slick and focused (also completely over processed) yet providing only incredibly uninspired songwriting. It sounds like every song was built around a riff or a chorus and I cannot abide. They have also sacrificed good songwriting to make things sound chunkier and heavier. They’re trying their best to impress but go through the motions.

To enjoy this album it’ll help if you’re a Breaking Benjamin fan, and it’ll also help to turn your brain off during the listening process. Enjoy this for what it’s worth (if you can), the typical radio friendly alt metal from them returns, but with consistent heaviness. Don’t think about how bad this actually is though. It hurts to know the real truth: Breaking Benjamin are staler than my dad puns. We’ll probably never hear anything as great/original as So Cold again. This is the equivalent to EA adding a lack lustre story mode for Battlefront 2 and claiming it’s a new experience. It’s a shame, We Are Not Alone had some great ideas/moments. “Ember” will forever be one I play only when my boredom drives me to madness. If you’re desiring an album that sounds fresh due to extra heaviness, try Chevelle’s “The North Corridor”.

The album starts good enough with Feed the Wolf only to be choked by the annoyingly repetitive Red Cold River. It only gets worse after that. Tourniquet’s riff could’ve been stolen from Lacuna Coil, and in general choruses are repeated too much. And with no progression at all, the rest of the album sounds like the first song. It’s as though they put one riff and one melody in the blender, dumped it out, and then spread it throughout the album without a care in the world. There is only one song here that branches out (The Dark Of You), which isn’t amazingly creative, but at least it has a different beat and puts the “crazy riffs” on hold for a few seconds. This is your average release from these guys. I don’t mind consistency and a stapled sound but their sound leaves no breathing room. They certainly know how to water down their formula to make it as straight forward and accessible as possible, which is boring. On the bright side, if you’re a fan of these guys, don’t worry, this album is no different than their last three.



Recent reviews by this author
Animals As Leaders The Madness of ManySevendust All I See Is War
Draconian A Rose For The ApocalypseDraconian Turning Season Within
Power Quest Face The RavenShokran Exodus
user ratings (237)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Doctuses
May 19th 2018


1877 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

weren't there more than just 1 other review of this, werent there like 3 or 4, or am I high

William21
May 19th 2018


313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eh. Maybe I'm just biased cause I do admittedly love this band, and maybe also because I do like the genre, but I found nothing about this boring or stale. If anything, the uptick in heaviness is actually a good thing for this band imo.



I do agree with The North Corridor recommendation though, that album's a jam.

pizzamachine
May 19th 2018


13898 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I’m shocked this doesn’t have tons of reviews lol. I like this band/genre generally but I just got bored of this album.



William21
May 19th 2018


313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I might do a review later to even things out a bit. I didn't plan to originally, but both review so far are below a 3 and I'm too much of a fan to just let that slide.

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 19th 2018


28692 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

nice review, oven. these guys are pointless now but I still jam phobia

Digging: Madeline Kenney - Perfect Shapes

pizzamachine
May 19th 2018


13898 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

All power to you! Thanks blanket maker, yeah Phobia’s where I started with them, way back in the day, before I found Draconian

tiesthatbind
May 20th 2018


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I used to really like these guys, and still go back to some tracks on Phobia from time to time but these last two albums have been so half-assed. They're just rehashing Dear Agony over and over again with no variation whatsoever.

pizzamachine
May 20th 2018


13898 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dear Agony is better anywho

tiesthatbind
May 20th 2018


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I still think that's a pretty solid album. Anthem of the Angels is my favorite song of theirs. But that formula just felt played out by the next album.

More atmosphere, more solos, more ballads, some actual variation in the lyrics, if they mixed it up at all at this point I'd probably be on board...unlikely that that'll happen at this point though.

gordodustin
May 20th 2018


254 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Albums a 3 for me. Vocals are top notch, but lyrics are lacking. Not their best, not their worst.

xtrole
May 20th 2018


70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn. I really like this album. Hope someone does a review with a rating of 3 or higher. I'd try, but I don't know if I could do a Breaking Benjamin album justice.

Digging: Shim - Shim

William21
May 20th 2018


313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Xtrole: I plan on doing one at some point in the coming weeks. I agree, this album needs such a review.

ShadowNeko
May 20th 2018


183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I totally disagree. This album is full of great songs that are very heavy hitting. Breaking Benjamin does alternative rock/metal perfectly fine. I don't recall there being one boring song on here.... This is Breaking Benjamin at their finest peak. There's also a lot of creativity going on in the vocals and riffs. I don't see how this album is worse than Sum 41's 13 voices. XD

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2018


14923 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Christ, your rating has plummeted since release sowing haha



Nice review pizza, a little harsh at times but I pretty much agree.



Have a pos

pizzamachine
May 20th 2018


13898 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, my most negative review in a long time lol. If anyone’s got constructive criticism it would be appreciated.👍🏻

SweeneyTodd
May 21st 2018


1792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

sowings rating plummeted and so did half the sites

Digging: The 1975 - A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2018


14923 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

All these butthurt negs are a joke

William21
May 21st 2018


313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review isn't great or anything but it certainly doesn't deserve 1 out of 5

pizzamachine
May 21st 2018


13898 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

My review is great, and my opinion is truth. All hail pizzamachine!🙇🏼‍♂️



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy