">
 

State of Grace
Pacific Motion


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpaceMan USER (40 Reviews)
May 14th, 2018 | 15 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist


I've written enough ((unprofessional)) reviews on here to have finally decided that the act is more of a self-indulging activity than anything else. Sure, a handful of cool peeps might read em and enjoy it, but a music review is a medium of musical interpretation that, at least for me, is only read with the hopes of an echoed sentiment. That is, I've found myself scouring the internet for opinions both of albums I already love and albums I already hate and everywhere in between in order find a collection of words that outline my thoughts better than my brain ever could. But that's not what a review is supposed to be for, at least if it does have a conventional purpose to fulfill. I guess I've always interpreted the idea of reviewing as a means of helping consumers make a proper decision to optimize their time, and that application could easily work for music. But that will always just create an awkward “you're gonna hafta take my word for it” write-up that demands either familiarity with the author and their opinions, or just blind trust. In reality, music is one of the most personal and subjective things out there. And because of that, I'm almost certain that a review on Sputnikmusic.com about a sleeper album from 1994 isn't gonna convince anyone to go out of their way and obtain a copy of it if they didn't trust me already. And that's fine – I'm not here to sell a stranger anything, and I'm sure you know that. In fact, I actually don't know why I'm here, let alone why you are here, if there even is a you I'm talking to. So after typing this entirely useless paragraph, I've decided that I know nothing of the purpose of why I'm writing a review for Pacific Motion by State of Grace other than the fact that I wanna reach a few of the users I'm more personal with on this site, who may already appreciate my taste in music, when I say:

"fuck it, take my word for it”



Recent reviews by this author
Autechre ConfieldCulprate Others
Alocasia Garden Burning the FlagsHalou Wiser
The Horrors VPinkshinyultrablast Miserable Miracles
user ratings (2)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey check this album i have nothing else to say

Asdfp277
May 14th 2018


24275 Comments


added Jamboreebop. Mind if I add the rest?

artwork is cool

TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

of course not man go for it! sorry i was lazy and just added this, i swear i was planning on getting to it soon lol

Asdfp277
May 14th 2018


24275 Comments


it is not an obligation, don't worry. I enjoy adding stuff

TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah you're a pro at it (; i dont feel obligated i just think its lame to come across holes in the data base and not patch em up

Tyler.
May 14th 2018


19019 Comments


Pos


Asdfp277
May 14th 2018


24275 Comments


damn, can't actually find decent artwork for this band lol

this has some cool retro synths

TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

those are the only three LPs i'm aware of, I think i have some sput friendly artwork for a few EPs so ill add those in a min



edit: you got em nice



but yeah the style is a pleasent retro vibe

brainmelter
Contributing Reviewer
May 14th 2018


8318 Comments


cool read spacemayn, pos'd as well

TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2018


4052 Comments


Sold. I'll look around for this a bit later. Wouldn't have expected a piece like this to convince me, but nice words as usual, Space.

I do agree reviews can be self-serving -- helps me discern what it is I appreciate about certain pieces, though the danger is that it's easy to """over-intellectualise""" art this way, which kills it. I like readings reviews, though, and people's interpretations of albums -- the discussion is valuable, I think.

Aberf
May 14th 2018


3986 Comments


where do you listen to this tho

TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks blush, and yeah musical discussion is awesome and why i signed up to the site but i sorta find it more common to actively seek out reviews of albums youve heard and ones that match what you feel about the album... dunno, maybe thats just me. i still like stumbling across a different opinion and opening up a discussion based on it but it just happens way less frequently. because of that i just feel writing a review is more of a self-rewarding hobby then an act of reviewing for an audience especially at an unprofessional level



anyways hope you guys do check this, some songs are scattered on YT but the full album was taken down recently, theres copies for cheap on discogs ((but its on soulseek))

Chortles
May 14th 2018


21494 Comments


excellent review but i would like a few more sentences about the guitars please

TheSpaceMan
May 14th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you and for your trouble: shoutout to the guitars they are a good thing on this world i'm glad we have them and use them to make music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy