Bone Thugs-N-Harmony
The Art of War


4.5
superb

Review

by New Tool album soon... USER (7 Reviews)
May 10th, 2018 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: She told me to calm down, I said Handle The Vibe.

What can I say about The Art Of War that hasn't already been said by the RIAA confirming its quadruple Platinum status in early 1998...well I can tell you all how this happened and more! Since Johnny Bravo, Bill Cosby and Question Marks on MX have been banned, apparently, I will try and tone this review down just a tad. There will be no rhetorical leads. No sarcasm. Just str8 fire. So apparently, this album was originally titled as DNA Level C, which is Cleveland backwards. I like it. I'm not from Cleveland and never been there, but that album title would have still to this day been makin peeps think 'bout ***. This was going down for a reason. Copycats of the band. Three 6 Mafia and Twista to name a few. Bizzy got depressed and stopped going to shows. Bizzy was consistent, he felt something of a competition deriving from his style. Bizzy was also dealing with a death of his Father during this album, and he was emotionally destroyed. He still delivered.

This album is far under the radar in the hip hop community. It is a double disc and almost every song is a gem. The lyrics suggest some sort of revenge, I would assume from Bizzy solely, but that being said there are some slow jams on this album. This album will make you understand loss, love, live, anything in general and then take you back to it, like they were some sort of disciples at the time trying to paint a picture, tell a story without going into details. I mean, some of the lyrics are suggestive, violent, speak of sadness of the soul. But the real message is the art of war. How does Bizzy tell millions of people Twista, Crucial Conflict, Three 6 Mafia that they are clones" I understand where he's coming from, but I look at it like they were inspired by Bone Thugs-N-Harmony. You can't deny, they started a genre and a plethora of artists wanted to be like BTH. Period.

Anyways, unlike this albums' length, this review is short and simple. It's a great example of Bizzy, Layzie, Krayzie, U-Neek, and the production is solid for its length.



Recent reviews by this author
Kyrie Eleison The Fountain Beyond The SunriseMachine Head Catharsis
Madonna Rebel HeartKalamata Disruption
Thirdmoon BloodforsakenScar Culture Inscribe
user ratings (76)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drifter
May 9th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

m/

Drifter
May 9th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not sputting like a cool guy

Drifter
May 9th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not even a month ago I never would've thought I'd 5 a Bone Thugs record, let alone a two hour one. Now they're one of my favorite groups.



I really don't know what it is but artists seem to just try harder on double albums. Hell, I'd probably 5 Wu Tang's double album!

BigHans
May 10th 2018


29725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album has some great cuts but REALLY should have been one disc

zakalwe
May 10th 2018


27367 Comments


Who was the bloke with the fucking enormous ‘fro? Was that bone, thugs or harmony?

Drifter
May 10th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lmao



Hans you sir, are wrong.

combustion07
May 11th 2018


6497 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WE ALL GON DIE WE BLEED THROUGH SIMILAR VEINS

Drifter
May 11th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That intro from Krayzie on Handle The Vibe with the hand clapping is so dope

Drifter
May 11th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've listened to this like every day for a week 🔥🔥🔥

Hawks
May 26th 2018


70717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How the fuck did I miss this????

Digging: Full of Hell - Weeping Choir

Drifter
May 26th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lolololol



Glad you re 5'd this hawks lol

Hawks
May 26th 2018


70717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah had to.

Drifter
August 29th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

tbh I think of this as almost like a Krayzie Bone features Bone Thugs album. he's so prevalent on like every song he's on and he's on more songs than anyone else

Hawks
September 12th 2018


70717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

WHY DON’T YOU REAAAAALIIIIIZE THAT U AIN’T BONE

Hawks
September 12th 2018


70717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But you prob feel like that cause Kray makes and does all the hooks lol.

Drifter
September 12th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Am I wrong doe

Drifter
October 26th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

THEY SAY THE WAR SHOULDNT STOP UNTIL THESE MOTHAFUCKIN COPS BODY ROTT

Drifter
October 30th 2018


15566 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think Wish had the best solo here tbh

Hawks
October 30th 2018


70717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Eh I’d give that to Biz but they’re all great.

xXx420blazitxXx
April 20th 2019


22 Comments


I can't decide



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy