The Armed
Only Love


4.0
excellent

Review

by JimMead USER (1 Reviews)
May 9th, 2018 | 14 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Deciphering white noise

I’ll admit that on first listen of the new album from The Armed I thought it would be great to be used as audio torture sounds for interrogation. But with more listens the mystery that is ‘Only Love’ unravels.

As well as somewhat keeping with their hardcore sound with this record they are also pushing themselves with more of inclusion of electronics too. The creative decision made with the electronics and thematic and stylistic choices give this album a slight mainstream pop sensibility but still holding on to their abrasion. It’s this combination that makes this album so relentless and interesting; how they can make a record so claustrophobic in sound but also so glittered and gorgeous in moments too.

Songs like ‘Witness’ blast through un-apologetically and without compromise which then bleeds into ‘Role Models’ for a more of a down beat track and slightly fatigued in its approach. It still has its moments with its crazy modulated guitar section towards the front of the track as well as being carried for the majority with relentless electronic beats with both screamed and sung vocals weaving in and out of each other.

When it gets to ‘Apperception’ it’s when The Armed could be at their most hectic where the electronics are at their most incestuous with the guitars and drums. The first half ends with ‘Fortunes Daughter’ with its subdued catchy clean vocal chorus. The last half of the record seems to be more focused on The Arms way of building layers and stretching out their composition chops such as with tracks ‘Luxury Themes’ and ‘On Jupiter’.

The Armed has a created an album that on first listens questions everything palatable and their uncompromising production choices. It may seem hard to believe something like this could work combining such very opposing styles but still making it seem catchy and anthemic in places that seem impossible. Given the time and patients to decipher the album it will become apparent that this could be one of the most rewarding albums to spend time with and one of the most unique listening experiences of the year.


user ratings (162)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Prancer (4.5)
What's not to love?...

related reviews

Untitled

These Are Lights

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wildcardbitchesss
May 9th 2018


1539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Luxury Themes is probably the best on here, and those female vox go fucking hard

Good review too, pos

Digging: Alice in Chains - Rainier Fog

FearThyEvil
May 9th 2018


16417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hoping this grows on me cuz this album is not hitting me as hard as others at all. Maybe it's the very strong electronic influence going on.

JimMead
May 10th 2018


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@wildcardbitchess Cheers for the Pos. Yeah I really love the female vocals too, they make for some of the best songs on the record.



@FearThyEvil I'll admit when I heard 'Witness' for the first time I was totally put off, it really does push the limits on whats palatable and I think its something you have to push through. Obviously if after multiple listens its not happening that maybe just the way it is.

botb
May 14th 2018


11856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This has such a cool noise rock element to it. Can’t wait to see what happens with this on repeated listens for me.

botb
May 14th 2018


11856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also maybe best recorded Ben Koller performance ever?

Wildcardbitchesss
May 14th 2018


1539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's a bold claim

JimMead
May 14th 2018


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@botb Ben Koller's performance is one thing I wish I kept in my review as that is something that just shines through and really helps the record in my opinion. There is so much there for the production and processing to fuck which is a big highlight in a rather jarring in a good way.

ProPrayer
May 15th 2018


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, great album.

I just can’t stop listening to Fortune’s Daughter, Nowhere To Be Found and Luxury Themes. But still can’t get into Witness.

withateethuh
May 26th 2018


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Was introduced to this band on a whim and I'm pretty infatuated. The last song on this album is fucking monumental.

ilovewhiskey
June 14th 2018


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Luxury Themes... holy moly.



Not a big fan of this style (noisy/chaosy) so I was rather unmoved until reaching Luxury Themes. What a beast of a song. That chorus is like taking the first bite of cheesecake.

Flugmorph
July 1st 2018


18938 Comments


fuck i didnt expect this to be this dense
a nice challenge to get to know this album for once


Digging: IDLES - Joy as an Act of Resistance

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2018


23616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is intense

TomAkaVeto
July 12th 2018


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So damn good. I wish Ben Koller could drum for all my favorite heavy bands.

Lucman
July 23rd 2018


899 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On Jupiter is so vicious.

Digging: Zao - The Well-Intentioned Virus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy