Our Place of Worship is Silence
With Inexorable Suffering


5.0
classic

Review

by Simon.K CONTRIBUTOR (184 Reviews)
April 15th, 2018 | 67 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Suffer you shan't with this fine piece of work.

Not to be taken lightly, the creation of With Inexorable Suffering has painted a vividly dank cavern as the playing field for this chaotic and contemptuous entity. It’s seldom you come across an album of this calibre and craft. Like Godflesh did with Streetcleaner and the industrial metal genre, the same level of engagement is transfixed to the listener here with pure loathing and despondency being made applicable underneath the death metal chassis. At 7 tracks in length, this record delivers in only the finest punishing riffs, technical proficiency and gutturally pained vocal work in a condensed and to the point fashion. The grinding and intimidating bass tones that rumble underneath the charging drums and gnashing guitar riffs are met with an equal in the vocal work on songs like “Lawlessness Will Abound” which sounds like an exorcism being performed in a torture chamber. While there is little in the way of optimism and hope, the solo chokes that creep into the war zones of “Defiance and Upheaval” and “The Decay Maxim” bring a buzz of elation from the dour mainstay of G-force tearing speeds and serrated riffs. As I said before, it’s rare a record smashes me in the face upon release, but it seems Our Place of Worship is Silence has taken the award for it in 2018. Its lean runtime works to the album’s advantage and magnifies the effective destruction these tunes have, not giving a moment for the listener to stop and search out a weakness. If you're into heavy music, look no further.

ESSENTIAL.

EDITIONS: DIGITAL/̶/̶C̶D̶/̶/̶V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶/̶/̶V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶(̶V̶A̶R̶I̶A̶N̶T̶)̶

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A



Recent reviews by this author
Cancer Bats The Spark That MovesBreaking Benjamin Ember
Thirty Seconds To Mars AmericaRob Zombie Astro-Creep: 2000 Live – Songs of Love...
Dynatron AeternusJack White Boarding House Reach
user ratings (27)
Chart.
3.4
great
related reviews

The Embodiment of Hate

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sniff
April 15th 2018


4439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cant wait for the riffs to pulverize me

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


14100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Very, very rare I give out a rating like that, but it's an unbelievably awesome record. Another sleeper hit for me in this pretty poor year for music so far.



Stream/buy here:



https://opowis.bandcamp.com/album/with-inexorable-suffering

Digging: Our Place of Worship is Silence - With Inexorable Suffering

Sniff
April 15th 2018


4439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Embodiment of Hate is good. I have faith in this

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


14100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

haven't heard the debut, but def check after this

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


2143 Comments


I love you so much for doing this. Completely forgot about this band even after digging the hell out of the debut. Slapping ass so far.

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't find this anywhere

Sniff
April 15th 2018


4439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For real? Took me 1.2 seconds to find it here: https://opowistl.bandcamp.com/album/with-inexorable-suffering

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


2143 Comments


bandcamp, do you speak it
https://opowis.bandcamp.com/album/with-inexorable-suffering

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never check bandcamp, usually redacted and other outlets

Sniff
April 15th 2018


4439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough.

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep, $10 I can't afford atm

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oof, vocals on this are pretty bad

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


2143 Comments


u do kno you can streem an albem on bc a few tiems b4 u buy it

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wanted to actually take it on the go. Do you buy every album you listen to?

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


2143 Comments


no, bc lets me stream albums while on the go

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, I live in Canada, where data costs more than anywhere else on the planet

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2018


14100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You crazee gyro, vox on this slay dragons

Gyromania
April 15th 2018


24396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I actually like them now 4 songs in. Gotta say tho -and this is a problem I have with the genre as a whole - this is sounding pretty homogeneous to me atm. Besides the first track I can't tell any of these apart

brainmelter
April 15th 2018


5267 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yaaaaaas

Digging: eastern youth - ?????

teamster
April 15th 2018


2592 Comments


Genre tag this please.

Digging: Fissure of Riddles - Nemea



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy