The Voidz
Virtue


4.5
superb

Review

by friv USER (6 Reviews)
April 7th, 2018 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Splattered all over the place.

I remember going to science museums a lot when I was younger. One exhibit always stuck out to me in particular, where you would press on these mats and colors would splatter themselves all over. It always entranced me; I would find ways to make discernable shapes on the mats, things that I recognized, and sometimes I would just let it go all over the place. This onslaught of science-museum-memories jumped me the more (and more and more) I listened to Virtue. The Voidz takes colors from all over the place - the light blue of twinkly, dancing indie pop (Leave It In My Dreams), the purples of gloomy synthpop (QYURRYUS, Pink Ocean), and the ochre of noisey, driving rock music (Pyramid of Bones, We’re Where We Were). It doesn’t feel like the band are painting with these colors directly, rather it feels more like they’re smearing the palette across the canvas and stumbling across octarine.

What’s most impressive about all this paint is that it never feels purposeless. The Voidz use these colors to create songs that are downright addictive; tunes that, even after having this album on almost constantly for the last week, I still feel as though there are things left to unpack here. This album never gets bogged down in its experimentation, but it never ceases to be forward-thinking or boundary-pushing. Virtue is a vibrant, eclectic album that straddles the lines between many a genre, while also being remarkably consistent on a song-to-song basis.



Recent reviews by this author
Profligate Somewhere ElseStreet Sects Rat Jacket
King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard Sketches of Brunswick East (w/ Mild High Club)Oneohtrix Point Never Good Time
Mount Eerie Seven New Songs Of "Mount Eerie"
user ratings (184)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Tyranny

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frivolous
April 6th 2018


876 Comments


hey, this album is really somethin special

thanks to blush + 50 for edits / lookin it over

bloc
April 6th 2018


55882 Comments


Yeah this owns, hope the novelty doesn't wear off though

Digging: Paris - Sleeping with the Enemy

50iL
April 6th 2018


5192 Comments


Great rev, pos

Digging: Dmitri Shostakovich - The String Quartets

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2018


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FUCK beat me to it

Frivolous
April 6th 2018


876 Comments


sorry neeka, love u < 3

StKiyo
April 7th 2018


384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah fuck this avg



pos'd

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2018


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love you too boo, and this review is probably better than whatever overblown thing I woulda turned up :3

Still prefer Tyranny because that was just so crushing but this is growing on me every listen

theBoneyKing
April 7th 2018


16844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well-written review but it’s rather short for such a long album and one that you yourself in the review say has a lot to unpack.

Digging: The National - I Am Easy to Find

TheFantasticDangler
April 7th 2018


2030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds like you have synesthesia

Kompys2000
April 7th 2018


2716 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm gonna give this a few more chances to grow on me but damn, really not seeing whatever it is y'all are here.

Frivolous
April 7th 2018


876 Comments


neeka: interesting, i like this more because theyve sanded down the rougher edges a bit
boney: i probably couldve but i prefer to write w/ brevity in mind
dangler: i don't
kompys: id highly encourage you to do so - album continues to grow on me more and more - but at the same time i wouldnt force because its definitely not an album for everyone

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2018


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's definitely more smooth, but the songs on there were so gratifying and intense, I think they sanded down a bit too much

Love the edgier songs on here infinitely more than the more traditional ones

WatchItExplode
April 8th 2018


6746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah but still it's just basically Julian...

that smooth muscular bastard.

Point1
April 8th 2018


568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree that this album is super addictive.

bloc
April 8th 2018


55882 Comments


Is he actually muscular whaaat

WatchItExplode
April 8th 2018


6746 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Trailer park boys? Anyone?

bloc
April 8th 2018


55882 Comments


oh.

IcelandRevel
April 8th 2018


943 Comments


Interesting. This review is well written, and there isn't really anything I dislike about it, but I am still surprised it got so many posses while being so short. For an album that's so long, one that you seem to like very much, it looks like you didn't think of a lot to say.

TheFantasticDangler
April 10th 2018


2030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you don't have synesthesia its interesting how you arbitrarily chose colors for each type of music



and i totally agree with them



Ebola
April 10th 2018


3589 Comments


That song with autotune is fucking unlistenable. Easily the worst thing I've heard all year.
The rest of this seemed pretty okay

Digging: Allfather - And All Will Be Desolation



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy