Paddy Hanna
Frankly, I Mutate


4.5
superb

Review

by DoofusWainwright USER (100 Reviews)
April 6th, 2018 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “Frankly my dear, I do give two fecks...”

This is the sort of find you can trawl two hundred albums to unearth, a hidden gem and a half that boasts some real potential with a capital P. Paddy Hanna (ideally you always hoped he’d be named Paddy) is the mythical Irish cult pub singer of my deepest dankest fantasies, the sort of artist you think could (and should) be ten-a-penny but when push comes to shove. You. Never. Can. Quite. Track. The. Blighters. Down.

This being a music album and all then yes, for sure, there’s music here - and for what it’s worth it’s a surprisingly lean mix of faux grandiose chamber orchestration combined with a swinging sort of indie pop jangle that immediately conjures up images of smoky bars and old school theatres. It’s what’s required, certainly, even a little better than that maybe. Thing is, this sort of affair is barely about the backdrop and all about the man in the spotlight; the bedraggled and bitter crooner commanding centre stage, gently swaying from foot to foot. Hanna is that man, his over affected singing style filling the exact middle ground between Morrissey, Cathal Coughlan and your absolute classic low rent ‘Shooting Stars’-esque club singer. He comes across as over confident, at times a little antagonistic too, and most of all he sounds like he should be drunk (if he isn’t already drunk).

Whether he’s bellowing out the chorus of ‘oh sugar...oh shugurrrr’ that seals the deal on the arch pop nugget supreme ‘All I Can Say is I Love You’, or firing up the would-be epic title track with groan-asides like ‘wine and keyhole surgery’ and ‘boil my legs for supper’, everything Paddy tries here will hit that elusive melodic sweet spot...eventually. Oh yes, you see, that there’s the rub with ‘Frankly, I Mutate’ - there’s absolutely nothing instant about it, a grower through and through.

Well, that assessment would be true if it weren’t for the album boasting the catchiest indie tune of 2018 in the form of the ‘I’m sure someone must have written this one before?’ insta-classic ‘Bad Boys’. That there’s your entry point, your key to unlocking one hell of a slippery customer; a true out of step and decidedly offbeat one-off that will love you back if you just let it. ‘Frankly, I Mutate’ hints that those mythical Irish troubadours of legend might just be out there after all, and if that isn’t worth raising a toast to then I don’t know what else is.



Recent reviews by this author
Stuart A. Staples ArrhythmiaEvil Blizzard The Worst Show on Earth
Eleanor Friedberger ReboundKanye West ye
Janelle Monae Dirty ComputerTom Middleton Sleep Better
user ratings (16)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
butcherboy
April 6th 2018


9464 Comments


saw you rec one of his songs on the repeat list.. will definitely check..

Papa Universe
April 6th 2018


21070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

interesting

Digging: Rammstein - Rammstein

DoofusWainwright
April 6th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Butch, hope you dig this, not sure. Definitely takes a few listens to fall for the man's vocals :D

RadicalEd
April 6th 2018


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is gud, Bad Boys and Toulouse The Kisser are the two biggest standouts.

theBoneyKing
April 6th 2018


16702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A Doof review, of course it’s class. Album sounds interesting too.

Digging: The National - I Am Easy to Find

ianblxdsoe
April 6th 2018


1916 Comments


ooo a classy, pleasant doof review. will look into this hmm

DoofusWainwright
April 6th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks fam



Boney - you might like this in a sort of Jens Lekman way :/



Ed - pleased you dig, this album keeps surprising me I gotta say, top 10 of the year so far for sure

DoofusWainwright
April 7th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ranked/Rated:



1. Bad Boys [5/5]

2. Toulouse [4.5/5]

3. Frankly, I Mutate [4.5/5]

4. All I Can Say [4.5/5]

5. Sunday Milkshake [4/5]

6. Ida [4/5]

7. Spanish Smoke [4/5]

8. Reverends Grave [4/5]

9. Mario Lanza [4/5]

10. Low Voices [3.5/5]

11. Local Strangers [3/5]

12. I Saw the Man [3/5]

RadicalEd
April 7th 2018


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had to bump this up a notch because Bad Boys and Toulouse and T/T are all Top 10 songs of the year so far.

DoofusWainwright
April 7th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Classy rating bump Ed



I think a few people here might like this, it's strangely addictive, probably destined to drop below the sput radar tho

RadicalEd
April 7th 2018


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

predicting 7 ratings at the end of the year.

DoofusWainwright
April 18th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This keeps drawing me back...in terms of attracting repeat plays this is my AOTY so far.



Which is a bit of a turn up. Love this album and I’m not ashamed to say it lol

DoofusWainwright
April 18th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also I can't see 7 ratings for this by the end of the year xD

DoofusWainwright
April 23rd 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumping this again, up to a low 4.5.



If you discount the A.A.L for being primarily a compilation of existing material this album is the closest to bringing me something approaching unbridled joy in this dispiriting year for music so far.



I can try and resist but for now this gets an optimistic 4.5 and slips into 2nd place for 2018. No one is more surprised than me....

anatelier
April 28th 2018


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is wonderful

Digging: Hayden Thorpe - Diviner

DoofusWainwright
April 28th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Be still my beating heart we have another believer :D

anatelier
April 28th 2018


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

really get on with the rustic sun-bleached vibe this gives me. bad boys, title track and toulouse are proper good

anatelier
April 29th 2018


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah, i can't get 'bad boys' out of my head

DoofusWainwright
April 29th 2018


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The whole album has grown on me a lot, I really wasn't totally sold at first - now I see even 'Low Voices' and (the intentionally really messy sounding) 'Local Strangers' have their place on the album.

anatelier
April 30th 2018


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can easily see me 5ing this within the next month



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy