My Epic
Ultraviolet


2.5
average

Review

by Grant S. USER (9 Reviews)
April 4th, 2018 | 20 replies


Release Date: 03/30/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like a rainbow without all its color: a spectrum incomplete.

Several years ago, while desperate to escape the violent Arizona heat, I found myself in an art installation dedicated to a single concept: the color red. In all of its manifestations, I viewed this color. First it appeared in its most obvious forms: stop signs, fire trucks, roses and the like. But before long, every shade from blazing orange to neon pink was being washed around me. Entire rooms were painted in blurs of crimson and coral and cantaloupe. I recall bursting back onto the streets of Phoenix and feeling completely overwhelmed by the return of the rest of the rainbow. It was an exhausting experience, and I no longer take the absence of colors for granted.

I mention this because, as I write this, Ultraviolet, the newest release from My Epic, exists in a sort of chromatic limbo. It is only part one of a two part series, the second being an EP titled Violence to be released later in 2018. And it shows on Ultraviolet. There’s a real sense that this is only half of a project. Like a rainbow without all its color: a spectrum incomplete.

My Epic succeeds with the limited colors they do use, though. Their post-rock grooves are meticulously designed, glinting and glowing with stunning precision. In Absentia is the standout track, with it’s fast paced drum groove driving underneath the coat of strange and wavy synth sounds, giving the track an almost dream pop sound. Singer Aaron Stone is still excellent, carrying the beautiful track Voices with his signature croons and wails. Unfortunately, he can’t save So Be It from being a meandering bore that can’t decide if it wants to be a power ballad or an airy synth jam. The problem begins to arise after repeat listens: this EP is too monochromatic to be engaging for very long. My Epic's swirling melodic choruses are still pretty, but they struggle to reach the same daring technicality and grace of their previous releases. The chorus of Of Wilderness is just not that different from the heavy chugs of Two Nights: their context may vary, but the color ultimately remains the same.

However, Ultraviolet does have one notable twist. My Epic have become somewhat infamous for their relentlessly overt Christian themes, but on Ultraviolet, the lyrics are surreal, even bordering on the Lovecraftian. “I lost the sea last night/None of the shore’s in sight/All of the stars still hang in sequences but/I don’t know this sky”. While faith and religion still rear their heads, they appear as ghosts rather than gods, an appreciable change from My Epic’s typical color palette.

It is ultimately a sameness of color that causes Ultraviolet to underwhelm. The colors that are there can be beautiful, but they don’t hold up to repeat listens. While the lyrics do offer a slight twist on My Epic’s typical formula, it is hard to feel like Ultraviolet was meant to be more than it is. Perhaps when Violence is released, Ultraviolet will make more sense, but until then, Ultraviolet will be the first My Epic record to disappoint.



Recent reviews by this author
Now, Now SavedBleachers Gone Now
Allison Weiss New LoveMy Epic Viscera
The Hotelier GoodnessTrent Reznor and Atticus Ross Gone Girl
user ratings (26)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
instantradical (3)
My Epic’s cerebral side comes out in Ultraviolet....

related reviews

This Is Rescue

I Am Undone

Yet

Broken Voice
recommended by reviewer
My Epic Viscera

Comments:Add a Comment 
MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2018


10123 Comments


Solid review, I enjoyed the set up and how it played into your critique. Only overt grammatical error I saw--granted, I wasn't looking too hard--was in "...appear as ghosts rather as gods..." I believe you're missing a 'than' in there.

ahousedivided
April 4th 2018


31 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@MarsKid



Whoops! Good catch, fixing that right now.



Thank you for the kind words. This was a surprisingly difficult review to write for some reason.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2018


10123 Comments


Seems to me that it was an album that was 1) disappointing to you, especially since you respected the artist, and 2) average overall. Those can be two tough factors to grasp with. In my personal experience, discussing mediocre records can be such a pain.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2018


15797 Comments


wow, didn't even know these guys had new material out.

Digging: Desert Sessions - Volumes 11 and 12

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2018


10583 Comments


This is such a great review
Pos’s Naturally

botb
April 4th 2018


13374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man those last two songs are so good. It’s cool to hear them experimenting with some electronic elements but you’re right this release feels a little bit sleepy

solongatlast
April 4th 2018


342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has more variation than Behold. That is a monotonous record if I ever heard one.

botb
April 4th 2018


13374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I loved behold tbh

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2018


15797 Comments


and yet, behold slays.

Marehelm
April 4th 2018


858 Comments


really great review man

coldheaven
April 4th 2018


4731 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I remember when the singer would do mini-sermons in between songs. That shit was super annoying.

Digging: Turnover - Altogether

solongatlast
April 4th 2018


342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, Behold is pretty good. I feel like Yet is the only record by these guys that really has much variety, and then each release following that kind of focuses on a different aspect of what they did there.

Ignimbrite
April 4th 2018


6568 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is solid but definitely not as great as their past few releases

i'd be more annoyed if it were a full length, but i'm actually kinda digging their EP-centric strategy if it means they can experiment a bit more (even if not everything nails the landing)

botb
April 4th 2018


13374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this band is about as Christ sermon-y as you can get

coldheaven
April 4th 2018


4731 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Yeah this band is about as Christ sermon-y as you can get"



I remember playing with them at CBCC back in like 2007 and he legit preached for almost their entire set.

Lucman
April 4th 2018


3484 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see I'm not the only one who was disappointed with this! I still stand by Behold as one of my favourite records of all time but the band hasn't really been up to par since.

Digging: Great Grandpa - Four of Arrows

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2018


10123 Comments


"I remember playing with them"

Heyo, you got yourself a project hidin somewhere?

Divaman
April 5th 2018


4404 Comments


Nice review. Pos.

Digging: Tegan and Sara - Hey, I'm Just Like You

coldheaven
April 5th 2018


4731 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

""I remember playing with them"



Heyo, you got yourself a project hidin somewhere?"



Yeahhhhhhh, a few lol

Krpa
April 30th 2018


86 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really digging this. The electronic elements are perfectly integrated and I love the calmer, sleepier vibes. Can't wait for the other new EP



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy