Vladislav Delay
Anima


5.0
classic

Review

by AnimalsAsSummit USER (28 Reviews)
March 28th, 2018 | 99 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A glimpse into the future

Sasu Ripatti came to NYC from Finland with hopes of becoming a modal jazz drummer, ala Miles Davis' 'Kind of Blue'. When he arrived and realized such music was no longer relevant, he became interested in the possibilities of jazz and electronic, eventually spawning this project Vladislav Delay. 'Anima' is an album with no comparison to any album, band, or song in any era of music (except Ripatti's own work). It is without a doubt one of the most innovative and atmospheric electronic albums ever recorded.

The album consists of one hour long song, with a strange sample in the beginning of men talking backed by minimalist electronic that sounds like someone is just emerging from a dream, or perhaps a simulated reality "Eddie?... Are you awake or not?". We then hear the man in the sample say "I don't know... it's over" and all of the sudden, a huge rush of cybernetic synths and indescribable percussion kicks in. It is in this moment that you realize you are listening to something else entirely. It is as if you are inside a kind of organism that is undergoing a technological tranformation. Within this are extremely urban and extremely futurist themes that are present at all times. The track fluctuates so much it does give a feel of free jazz in some odd sense. But it utilizes a very simple chord pattern, yet is able to disguise it enough to keep you interested for the whole 1 hour and 2 minute runtime.

So to be clear, others have describe this as glitch ambient electronic. I do not think this is an accurate label. While this has ambient properties and electronic properties, it is about fifty percent organic instrumentation. With that being said, it is also extremely chaotic in its execution of percussion and other sounds, yet it all sounds like it belongs together perfectly in its futurist echo world. It is a marvel for audiophiles and producers to try and dissect this work; the textures on display here are some of the clearest and most pronounced your likely to hear on any record. This allows the work to reach these ethereal heights that almost doesn't seem possible for this day and age, and to think this is from 2001 really throws you for a loop.

The album ends with a sudden splash, accompanied by very oceanic sounding synths. The album ends with a brilliant ambient section and samples that resolve a storyline that your mind will inevitably create on its own after listening. All things considered, its an album that still sounds like a future for music that hasn't happened yet. A future of sonic mediums that are not yet at our fingertips. The entire time you are wondering how Ripatti pulled this off.... it is a head-scratcher. In the end, you are left with an astonishing glimpse into the future that upon first hearing, I wished to return to immediately.



Recent reviews by this author
Macintosh Plus Sick and PanicSoulstice (USA-CA) Illusion
Julien Face of GodPrefab Sprout Let's Change the World With Music
Julien MercuryCuyo π Drops
user ratings (48)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
pizzamachine (3.5)
One of a kind art piece: not for everyone....



Comments:Add a Comment 
AnimalsAsSummit
March 28th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"this is clearly one of the greatest pieces of art in the history of mankind" - my soundoff from last year



DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2018


5104 Comments


Dig your reviews, especially since you go for lesser known stuff. I'll check this tonight.

AnimalsAsSummit
March 28th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

thanks! interested in hearing what you think of it

mindleviticus
March 28th 2018


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Mad respect for you for reviewing this guys stuff in full. I’ve been listening to this guy for years and love all his stuff. He’s able to completely create these very grey and sparse but immeasurably expansive environments that don’t really hold up as songs as well as they do just an auditory experience.

mindleviticus
March 28th 2018


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I do like The Four Quarters more than this though. I just find it more soothing.

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2018


5104 Comments


I'm about 20 minutes in so far, and to be honest it's good but not really blowing me away or anything. I'm interested to see what it's going to develop into.

Sniff
March 28th 2018


8111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This though

AnimalsAsSummit
March 29th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yes... THIS

Jots
Emeritus
March 29th 2018


7563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this is bone apple tea

AnimalsAsSummit
March 29th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"only vladislav worth checking tbh"



lol have you heard anything else he's made? whistleblower is just as good as this if not better

Yotimi
March 29th 2018


7668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty amazing how it's basically 2 notes yet rarely repeats itself

AnimalsAsSummit
March 29th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

agreed. sometimes the motif is very well hidden too. when it comes to musical dynamics and textures this guy is one of the best

parksungjoon
March 29th 2018


47234 Comments


Ban that predictable and lame sockpuppet tbh

Yotimi
May 1st 2018


7668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just noticed how much this sounds like an ambient glitchy version of Van Morrison's "You Don't Pull No Punches, But You Don't Push The River"

AnimalsAsSummit
May 5th 2018


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

weird comparison, i do see the melodic similarities but thats about it

AnimalsAsSummit
October 14th 2019


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

reminded once again why this is an all time favorite of mine. what a wonder this is to jam in the park on a nice day.

Sniff
October 15th 2019


8111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lovely album

Trifolium
October 22nd 2019


39387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one is amazing! I think I even prefer it over Whistleblower. The underlying atmosphere that runs throughout this thing is so soothing. It makes all the noodling bearable.

AnimalsAsSummit
October 22nd 2019


6180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

whistleblower is more like talk talk post-rock to me while this is like progressive electronic for the ps2 era. both are masterful but decidedly different approaches for sure.

Trifolium
October 22nd 2019


39387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh my I only now realised this was released on Mille Plateaux. What an incredible label.

And it's totally insane that this thing is 18 years old already. Can't believe it. It could have been released last week and it would still be impressive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy