David Sylvian
When Loud Weather Buffeted Naoshima


5.0
classic

Review

by AnimalsAsSummit USER (28 Reviews)
March 24th, 2018 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Echoes of angels coming back to Earth

David Sylvian is a musical legend. His work spans every avenue music could possibly take through a lense influenced highly by ambient and avant-garde. Through what can only be described as a deeply monk-like awareness of self, Sylvian has crafted a sound that still remains all his own. 'When Loud Weather Buffeted Naoshima' is a single hour and ten minute track that was intended as the soundscape for an art exhibit called "NAOSHIMA STANDARD 2". This explains its contemplative nature, and thankfully the music on here is profound enough that the piece transcends its intended purpose. This final mix includes more sounds from the island of Naoshima to enhance to composition in the absence of the exhibit.

The following recording is likely to polarize listeners into two primary camps: Those who find this a deeply moving piece of spirtually conscious music, and those who find it to be pretentious sound art that serves no purpose. The reason for this is the music on here is slow and totally innovative. There is no recognizable percussion (yet many percussive elements) and there are relatively short bursts of ambient trumpet, bizarre angelic vocalizations (a first for Sylvian, it doesn't even sound remotely like him), and enigmatic noises and droney analog tones. Often these elements coalesce to create gorgeous soundscapes, but it takes some patience to see how these parts connect.

In many ways this album works like an art piece all its own, and it can be said it is far nore interactive than most music. Fans of Godspeed You! Black Emporer and experimental jazz, you will find a lot to appreciate here, hopefully. The phrasing is often like a extremely slow and odd jazz piece that is being heard in a kind of slowed-down perception of intense microanalysis; the dynamics of every sound and texture is brought into the forefront as being the most important aspects to this music being successful. And thus it succeeds as a kind of spiritual literature as well.

With 'When Loud Weather Buffeted Naoshima', we see David Sylvian continue his legacy as a modern gnostic of music. Always conscientious and meticulously involved in the final product of his works. Here he gives us a place that seems to float only a few hunread feet above sea level, being carried by echoing angels that have sung its hymns for what has probably been ages. Organic, mysterious, timeless.



Recent reviews by this author
Macintosh Plus Sick and PanicSoulstice (USA-CA) Illusion
Julien Face of GodPrefab Sprout Let's Change the World With Music
Julien MercuryCuyo π Drops
user ratings (12)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2018


19335 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sylvian is a legend. Great review, I think I tried listening to this a few times and couldn't get into it. Same with There's a Light. I might try again though. Hope he makes an official new album soon.

Digging: Godspeed You! Black Emperor - G_d's Pee AT STATE'S END!

EvoHavok
March 24th 2018


7857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see another Sylvian album reviewed. Even if I prefer his other works, this still is worth trying out if only to hear something out of the ordinary.

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2018


19415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ooooh my god



A hot streak from the boi himself

Jasdevi087
March 24th 2018


6642 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the weather on this is oddly quiet

Digging: The The - Infected

Rik VII
March 24th 2018


4128 Comments


Now every Sylvian LP has a review, am I right? Very good. Pos'd!

I won't rate this because I feel it's totally out of context without the exhibition it was composed for, but as a stand-alone album the rating I'd give this would be ... very not high.

AnimalsAsSummit
March 24th 2018


5469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its a magical piece of music, but it takes time to fully absorb all it has to offer. this is a bit more than the music that actually played at the exhibition, mind you. more parts were added for the finished work.



@jas agreed its pretty chill haha

Digging: The Veldt - The Shocking Fuzz of Your Electric Fur

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2018


8376 Comments


Sounds like itll be right up my bum. Another banger of a review holmes Ill defs be checking this out.

Digging: Dvne - Etemen nka

AnimalsAsSummit
March 26th 2018


5469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks evok! interested in hearing what you think of this monolith

AnimalsAsSummit
March 26th 2018


5469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

23:40 one of the best moments in music.... goddamn.... this is just filled with little pockets of divine majesty

AnimalsAsSummit
April 2nd 2018


5469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yo yall need to jump on this

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2018


19335 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave this a listen all the way through for the first time. It's pretty interesting, my favorite section probably the 20:00-30:00 mark. Sounds like Manafon at times.

AnimalsAsSummit
April 2nd 2018


5469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

id say thats an interesting comparison, and appropriate with all the textures on here. cant wait to see your rating talons!

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2018


19335 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say around 3.5 atm. Really glad to be able to listen to music at work. I just jammed There is a Light and that's just about as good as this imo

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2018


19415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For anyone interested in his collaborations with Holger Czukay, they'll be reissued on vinyl on June 22nd



https://www.juno.co.uk/products/holger-czukay-david-plight-premonition-flux-mutability/686177-01/

AnimalsAsSummit
June 23rd 2018


5469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh nice, both are great releases

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2018


19335 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I jammed those two albums a few days ago, really great stuff.

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
July 6th 2018


19415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

one more bit about the Czukay/Sylvian albums, this time about the recordings and the process



http://thequietus.com/articles/24916-david-sylvian-holger-czukay-plight-premonition



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy