Press Club
Late Teens


4.0
excellent

Review

by owl beanie STAFF
March 16th, 2018 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: dePressed Club

Natalie Foster never asked for any of this and I’m not sure we’re supposed to be listening in on her live commentary. There’s no time removed on Late Teens, no sagacious tangents or wisdom to be mined from the desperate rasp of Foster’s vocal delivery. There’s nowt but the real-time reaction to growing pains and the ambush of the spotlight.

So she’s a spokesperson without a speech prepared, representing a subset of people (Melbourne’s inner-city youths) who’re forced to catch their breath as the suburbs move on without them. The city is in a constant “state of flux”, and so too is this record. It’s a mosaic of personal problems filtered through an energy that is so typically Melbourne. Catch the breathlessness of Angry Wil Wagner in the vocals, the attitude of the diametrically opposed Georgia Maq, the forward momentum of Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever (though less subsumed by a psychedelic haze). Stop me from being reductive: Press Club is a unique and electrifying new member of the Pool House family -- the vagrant teen with a heart of gold. This young-adult angst (“My body’s changing”" there’s your tagline for adolescent discontent) is boiled down into its essence. Simple sentiments, easy to relate to, even easier to appropriate as captions for your next Instagram post.

Neatly engendered by overdriven power chords, this illustration of emotional unrest isn’t dressed up, sugar-coated, or mollified by polished production or poetic metaphor. Foster writes like she’s speaking without thinking, leading to brief outbursts, sudden bleary-eyed realisations (“I left my heart in the suburbs”) that are, from different angles, relatable insofar as we all need someone to vent to re: break-ups, issues with identity, juggling responsibility. If nothing else, we can roast our popcorn kernels in the fires of Foster’s car crashing over and over and over. Though Rietwyk’s guitar may blister, and Macrae’s bass does more than most in the scene, Foster pulls it all into her orbit, all emotional impact siphoned through an impassioned performance that’s as much a Fuck You as it is a Please Help Me.

Through all the changes that this record does its best to document, home is the only constant: the suburbs, the inner circle gathered around a transparent backyard table. It’s not the place itself Press Club are concerned with, I don’t think, but the imprint it leaves. Home is the people who'll pick you up from the gutter – disregard the potential for metaphor – I mean the literal gutter at the end of a spaced-out Saturday night. Home is your quintessentially middle-class upbringing. Home is a panic room, and if Late Teens is anything to go by, it’s there no matter how far from the beaten path you think you've strayed.



Recent reviews by this author
Sleep Talk Everything in ColourStella Donnelly Beware Of The Dogs
Sharon Van Etten Remind Me TomorrowDrug Church CHEER
colourblind Move Like YouHorror My Friend Home Life
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2018


2409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TheSwi(verdant)ngOfThings

dbizzles
March 16th 2018


13208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought 'nowt' was a typo.



I'm just uncultured.



Please remind me to jam this- several times, if you must.

Digging: Fetid - Steeping Corporeal Mess

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2018


6933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Checked this out on the strength of this review and was not disappointed in the slightest, this shit jams hard

Digging: The Dangerous Summer - Mother Nature

IAMERROR
March 16th 2018


329 Comments


Skimming through the album now. I'm digging the instrumentals a good bit, but the vocals come off a little shrill. I think they'll grow on me in time. I'll give it a full spin. There's something here that beckons the listen.

Feather
March 16th 2018


5161 Comments


The cover of this looks like something I'd like

kris.
March 16th 2018


15029 Comments


"dePressed Club"

ohhhh i get it

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2018


2409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

smart kris



dbiz: jam this jam this jam this jam this...jam...this

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2018


2903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A good deal of this reminds me of earlier Paramore. This lives up to the singles and I am so glad of it. As for the writing, you know how I feel, Jack.

Also, Jarrow and Press Club this week, good day for Melbourne music.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 17th 2018


16065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This goooood!





Digging: Fire! Orchestra - Arrival

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2018


2409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks pals

schoonda
March 17th 2018


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YESSS so glad this got a review, these guys are definitely going places! Seen them live twice in the last 24 hours and they do not disappoint, Nat also has an incredible live presence.

Digging: Karnivool - Sound Awake

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2018


2409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

schoonda my boy i was very tempted to dedicate a paragraph to the MV for Headwreck because i can tell from watching it that she would be absolutely arresting live

schoonda
March 17th 2018


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ahhh dude that video captures their energy so well! was front and centre last night for their headline gig and she's super interactive with the crowd, pulled me by the hair on two occasions and screamed into my ears, and today at Pool house party she was doing the same on stage with one of the security guys.



another thing that's super impressive about these guys is they're 100% independent. big things coming for these guys

dbizzles
March 22nd 2018


13208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This was like a light 3.5 for me on first listen. Felt like lady japandroids or something. Not bad.

tom79
March 26th 2018


3684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liking this

Digging: We Were Promised Jetpacks - These Four Walls

schoonda
March 26th 2018


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

title track is soooo good

tom79
March 27th 2018


3684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a really consistent record in terms of quality. Right now Golden State's probably my favorite.

schoonda
March 27th 2018


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it's rather impressive given they've only been around a bit over 12 months, very keen to see where they go. Suburbia is probably my favourite right now

schoonda
April 4th 2018


1677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WHAT ARE YOU ASKING ME NOW?

Feather
April 4th 2018


5161 Comments


I hated this :/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy