Myles Kennedy
Year of the Tiger


4.0
excellent

Review

by tiesthatbind USER (46 Reviews)
March 13th, 2018 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "If there is a God, why did he take my father’s soul?"

After spending the last two decades fronting hard rock bands, Year of the Tiger is a fresh and intriguing new direction for Myles Kennedy. As a concept album, it’s heart-wrenching and deeply personal for Myles, dealing with the loss of his father at a young age after his father refused medical treatment due to his Christian Science beliefs. Grief and loss are pervasive themes on the album, as well as Myles’ own questioning of his childhood faith, something which was previously touched on in ABIII but given greater context and emotional weight on Year of the Tiger. Ultimately, however, as the album reflects him processing his own difficult history, it also becomes more hopeful by the end, highlighting his mother’s strength and resilience and projecting a positive vision for the future.

Musically, it’s a fun and engaging album, even with the heavier subject matter. Myles trades in the charged metal riffs of his main band for mandolin and lap steel guitar, getting to play to his strengths as a songwriter in ways that he hasn’t been able to fully explore with Alter Bridge or Slash. The blues and folk-infused songs on Year of the Tiger end up being an excellent match to his vocal and musical sensibilities. From the rollicking, lyrically evocative title track and the bluesy swagger of ‘Devil on the Wall’, to the more subdued and contemplative ‘Haunted by Design’, the album moves at a steady pace and never hits a lull. Myles’ skill as a guitarist shines throughout the album, with consistently engaging riffs and intricate playing. He also delivers some of his strongest vocal performances to date, particularly on ‘The Great Beyond’, whose bombastic, string-assisted hooks are the closest the album gets to the intensity of his Alter Bridge material.

Although it took years to come to fruition, Myles Kennedy’s solo debut is worth the wait. It’s melodically pleasing and more lyrically affecting than anything else he’s been a part of. As great as he’s done in delivering a signature brand of melodic heavy rock with Alter Bridge, the more intimate material found in Year of the Tiger is a promising new direction which hopefully leads to more from Myles as a solo artist in the future. Created as a work of catharsis, it’s a powerful, resonant album that does justice to its subject matter.



Recent reviews by this author
Lunatic Soul FracturedJoseph I'm Alone, No You're Not
Alter Bridge The Last HeroPoets of the Fall Clearview
Alter Bridge FortressGrammatrain Lonely House
user ratings (64)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2018


32013 Comments


Good review man, I gotta give this a check. Have a pos.

DadKungFu
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2018


4698 Comments


You've got me interested, gonna check this out at some point. Good review too.

butcherboy
March 13th 2018


9464 Comments


likely won't listen, but review is great, short and to zee point.. have a pos..

SteakByrnes
March 13th 2018


29682 Comments


Might check this out, I thought the single was decent enough

Kalopsia
March 13th 2018


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

short and sweet review, spot on too.



this is what i've been craving from Kennedy, to see a different side of his musicianship outside of AB and working with Slash.

WatchItExplode
March 13th 2018


10443 Comments


Ties here to rep Kennedy. There are some constants in this world.

Kalopsia
March 13th 2018


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ties knows what's up

RaylanCrowder
March 13th 2018


127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review. My favourite song off this is probably "Love Can only Heal"

tiesthatbind
March 13th 2018


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I really hope Myles keeps doing stuff like this. It’s a great fit for him. It would be great if this influences the next AB album as well.

Haunted by Design is my favorite. I’ve been replaying that one ever since it was a single and it still hasn’t gotten old.

kris.
March 13th 2018


15504 Comments


damn, this sounds great

EvoHavok
March 13th 2018


8078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The right person to review this first, heh. Gonna check it out soon.

Toondude10
March 13th 2018


15182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

really wasn't big on this tbh, it's just not my thing. Though "The Great Beyond" was really good.

Sowing
Moderator
March 13th 2018


43933 Comments


ties reviewing hard rock...feels like 2010.
nice work, pos'd

Toondude10
March 14th 2018


15182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this isn't hard rock tho

HarryBoBerry
March 14th 2018


620 Comments


Great review, it's really nice to hear this side of Myles, I enjoy this quite a bit.

MarkvandenBerg
March 14th 2018


153 Comments


Great review!

Kalopsia
March 21st 2018


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this grew off me, hard and fast

jmh886
April 24th 2018


2929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was great.

Asura14
May 13th 2018


512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, have a pos.



Wish you'd mentioned Love Can Only Heal tho, it's a standout for sure... The falsetto leading to the slide guitar solo gives me goosebumps.

tiesthatbind
May 15th 2018


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love Can Only Heal wasn’t initially a favorite when I wrote this review, but it grew on me a ton since then. It's probably my second favorite song on here now. God, that solo...so fucking good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy