Runeshard
Dreaming Spire


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
March 12th, 2018 | 40 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ruleshard

It is no secret that artwork can set the tone for an album. It has the ability to influence and evoke images that otherwise would never be created to the listener’s mind. From the very first look, Dreaming Spire screams dungeons and dragons. In fact, Runeshard’s debut EP has not only a cinematic quality but also feels like playing an old rpg. The instrumentation and songwriting brings to mind Bal-Sagoth which practically means over the top symphonic black metal with heavy emphasis on synths; actually, those who suffer from cheese intolerance should stay away from this one. Nevertheless, and despite the nerdy nature of the album, the overall offering is extremely fun, energetic, epic and plain silly in a positive way.

The use of various effects adds to the grandiose nature of the music and provides an extra layer of cheese bombast, while the spoken passages augment the cinematic quality of Dreaming Spire. The EP’s title track is a perfect example of what Runehard are trying to achieve; it is ferocious, adventurous, has a clear direction and never lets go. The music here is synth-driven which might not be for everyone but in the context of the album it works perfectly, while the vocals are your typical black metal shrieks. Moreover, there are some power metal elements as well on here which might bring to your mind the obscure blackened power metal act, Numenor.

Overall, Dreaming Spire successfully transports the listener to a land of ice, epic battles and dragons. There is a strong sense of consistency and continuity throughout, even though the album is quite diverse due to the variety of riffs and melodies. Those who love Bal-Sagoth will probably have a blast listening to this one but there is enough for power metal fans and anyone who seeks an epic element to their music as well.




Recent reviews by this author
Loreena McKennitt Lost SoulsVarathron Patriarchs of Evil
Therion Beloved AntichristTribulation Down Below
Black Sabbath The End (Live)Motorhead Overnight Sensation
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


11071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A quick little write-up hoping you guys check this one. It's only 18 minutes so feel free to give it a shot.

Digging: Battleroar - Codex Epicus

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2018


8753 Comments


Dat summary : ]

I came for the art, stayed for your review

DungeonBoy
March 12th 2018


4188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ha yeah I got a kick out of that summary, but nice concise review man. Album art goes a long way for me generally and this one compliments the music well. Pretty solid stuff here. Very competent musicianship and I'm digging the synthwork for sure

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


11071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Easiest summary ever, couldn't resist the temptation haha. Glad you dig the album, Dungeon.

bloc
March 13th 2018


50472 Comments


Band name and summary were made for each other

Digging: DJ Seinfeld - Time Spent Away From U

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2018


11071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For sure haha - I'm glad the album turned out such a fun listen. One of the guys who made this album also thanked us on his FB page which is always a nice gesture.

Hawks
March 14th 2018


56465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I need this.

Digging: Jimmy Wopo - Woponese

TundraL5Z
March 14th 2018


1372 Comments


I see cool dragon, i click

cloakanddagger
March 14th 2018


272 Comments


Listening to this now, don't listen to this type of metal much any more but I'm liking what I'm hearing here.

Confessed2005
March 14th 2018


4330 Comments


Brilliant summary. If it does indeed rule hard I will have to check it out.

Storm In A Teacup
March 14th 2018


23090 Comments


Seems like Dragon Age

Elynna
March 14th 2018


210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Symphonic black, dragons, volcanoes... my ultimate weaknesses. Also fantastic review

Digging: Paramaecium - Within the Ancient Forest

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2018


11071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you're digging this one guys and thanks for the kind words. This is really enjoyable, so easy to jam two times in a row. Another awesome little EP similar to this one is Zel Agganor - Rise of the Black Star which features the same vocalist.

Essence
March 14th 2018


6169 Comments


yo this riffs solid

wayfaringstranger
March 14th 2018


212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent stuff for the most part. Certain synth passages even reminded me of early Wintersun.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Great summary, nice succinct review. This sounds like my shit, I'll give it a go asap.



Edit: you weren't lying, this is cheesy as the moon, love it though.

Digging: Shining (SWE) - X - Varg Utan Flock

Hawks
March 15th 2018


56465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ruleshard [2]

AsleepInTheBack
March 15th 2018


5710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nom, I do love me a bit of cheese

Dinosaur
March 15th 2018


1252 Comments


This is bombastic.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2018


11071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is cheesy as hell indeed but so easy to jam again and again.



Cheers Scuro, glad you enjoy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy