Slugdge
Esoteric Malacology


4.6
superb

Review

by Scuro F. STAFF
March 12th, 2018 | 612 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: EscarG.O.A.T.

Everyone's favourite invertebrate emissaries have once again brought glory to gastropods the world over, delivering what is perhaps their crowning achievement in the form of Esoteric Malacology. Packed to the brim with menacing Mollusca propaganda, the undisputed slime-lords have further refined their signature combination of terrific riffs, crushing percussion, vociferous vocals, and…uhh…spooky snails¿

If you haven't followed Slugdge’s slick and shiny path of progressive death metal dominance up to this point, allow me to briefly summarise; it’s been awesome and you've missed out big time. The U.K. based duo have followed a steady incline in quality since the project’s already impressive impetus. Truly, the correct equation for judging a new Slugdge album is “previous album + better”, and so far this complex formula hasn't been falsified. Some notable transformations have occurred since last we were visited by our cosmic Conch-dwelling overlords. Once swamped in a slightly obscuring muck, the mix is much clearer this time around, complementing the more melodic direction opted for on this outing. This isn't to say that previously the production was inferior, nor that it’s now pristine and polished - it's simply reflective of a sonic evolution for Slugdge matched with the correct presentation. As the album cover suggests, no longer must our mucus encrusted brethren inhabit only dank and dark domiciles; instead every note, every rhythmic threat, is unabashedly exposed.

Elsewhere, the band’s iconic vocal variety abounds, with everything from guttural gurgles and monastic chants, to shrieks and possessed cleans interacting deliciously. ‘The Spectral Burrows” is an especially potent concoction of diaphragm dancing, featuring a haunting chorus paired with extended chesty drones, not so distant from the realm of throat singing. The guitar, in all its forms, unequivocally commands the soundscape here, proving especially effective when pairing intimidating low-register licks with agile lead duties that weave spiderweb patterns up and down the fretboard. Similarly to my feelings following the release of Dim and Slimeridden Kingdoms roughly two years previous, I instinctually struggle to believe there will be a way for the pair to top Esoteric Malacology. However, since every new Slugdge album is consistently the best Slugdge album, I’ll instead pledge allegiance to the garden-munching dictators in their slow-slithering cause against heliciculture, and towards total domination.




Recent reviews by this author
Jonathan Davis Black LabyrinthMajesty of Silence Zu Dunkel Für Das Licht
Dream Troll The Witch's CurseLautreamont Silence of the Deceased
WuW Rien ne nous sera épargnéDrudkh They Often See Dreams About The Spring
user ratings (354)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

https://slugdge.bandcamp.com/album/esoteric-malacology



I have given into peer pressure and reviewed this beast of an album. They really (s)nailed it this time.

Digging: Shining (SWE) - X - Varg Utan Flock

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


17376 Comments


dank sonic progressions and pod people

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also turns out you can defeat the question mark bug if you just invert it.

Sniff
March 12th 2018


4654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The tracknames though

Demon of the Fall
March 12th 2018


6692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'Review Summary: EscarG.O.A.T.'



I thought you'd run out of slug puns, nice. Thanks Scuro, I was so excited to see this review & the 4.6 score I haven't even read it yet, give me a minute...

Digging: Sepultura - Beneath the Remains

Demon of the Fall
March 12th 2018


6692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review rules, love the last sentence especially. I need to give this more time, optimistically hoping it'll eventually surpass Gastro as best Slugdge.

MotokoKusanagi
March 12th 2018


1437 Comments


loving all these snail puns. will check now

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Nothing Is Still

Dewinged
March 12th 2018


10022 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here. We. Go.



It had to be you Scuro. Brilliant review, I had a good laugh. The album is incredible, there is even early Mastodon on this thing. They (s)nailed it[2]

Digging: Mourn (SPA) - Sorpresa Familia

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2018


8753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I’m glad we pressured you into this, tell the truth - you’re glad too

TundraL5Z
March 12th 2018


1372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That summary lmao

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys, glad you like the write-up (:



"I thought you'd run out of slug puns, nice"



All I can say is they'd better not release anything for a while.



osteporosis
March 12th 2018


414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HAIL MOLLUSCA

Demon of the Fall
March 12th 2018


6692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That 1.0 on the ratings chart is making my eyes bleed

Evok
March 12th 2018


7200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rips. Shame about how over-produced it is tho.

Digging: Allah Las - Allah Las

DDDeftoneDDD
March 12th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

waaaaait!!!! Is this review real!? :D:D:D

Digging: Immolation - Here in After

osteporosis
March 12th 2018


414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah if they got a real good production on this with like colin marston or something, all their stuff would be so much better

DDDeftoneDDD
March 12th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"interacting deliciously" awesome review! Congrats dude. Loving every second of this! HAIL THE SLUG.



@Dewinged: "there is even early Mastodon on this thing."



I read somewhere "Imagine Gojira, Mastodon and Napalm Death being eaten alive by a giant mollusc."

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man (:

DDDeftoneDDD
March 12th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

btw 4.6 is a beautiful rating

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2018


23627 Comments


THAT FUCKING SUMMARY THO



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy