Three Days Grace
Outsider


2.5
average

Review

by Simon CONTRIBUTOR (232 Reviews)
March 10th, 2018 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not a surprise in sight.

I’ll stand in defence of Three Days Grace’s first effort with new singer Matt Walst, it was a hearty attempt at shaking up the camp. I’m sure time and its fans will tell if it stands up to any one of Adam’s fronted works, but let me put out there: it contained all the typical tropes associated with the field it played in. And for me, that’s good enough. Let’s get to brass tacks here, this kind of band is never going to be recognised for its meaningfully intelligible lyrics or innovative instrumental work. No, in the field of radio-rock, generally, all a band has to do is deliver a substantial array of catchy, melancholic vocal performances using competent support from the music behind them. Though Human did these things to a bare minimum, it had enough of it to enjoy a couple of disposable listens. Sure, I’ll admit that bar “I Am Machine” the record was completely forgettable afterwards, but bad" Honestly, no. It was simply adequate in delivering what it set out to do.

Now that Matt Walst has had some time to settle into Three Days Grace, there is somewhat baited breath on how everything pans out for the band; this is the important unveil where we see TDG’s potential with Matt at the helm. And honestly, I think we saw what it had to offer one album ago. Outsider continues on from Human like nothing ever happened, a collection of songs that sound as though they came from the same recording sessions as Human: a signature template at this point of mildly engaging melodies on top of a perpetually sluggish tempo, with another failed attempt at capturing a moody atmosphere with the electronics and guitars. There’s the addition of backing chants which adds a contrived hinderance to songs, but by-and-large this is just a slightly inferior version of Human. No more, no less. A lot of the problem stems from the clinically vacant production which feels both flaccid and uninspired; instruments don’t feel united and have this weird segregated feeling. There’s no energy to be found and it emits a feeling of weakness, which results in a pretty passionless experience overall.

All I’ve done is point out the kind of flaws Human pertained though, so it still continues to be a half-decent record. Matt’s vocals are once again able: his Bennington-like falsetto and string of catchy hooks bring enough to the table to at least have you hearing this thing to the end; songs don’t overstay their welcome and tell what they need to before finishing, and there’s a good chunk of tracks here like “Villain I’m Not”, “Right Left Wrong” and “The Mountain” that have the paid-off and infectious chorus explosion. The instrumental work is so indifferent it’s barely worth mentioning however, minus the tight rhythm of “Strange Days” or sombre synth saturation of “Love Me or Leave Me”, there’s very little to report. It does its job and supports Walst’s performance. Of course, what Outsider lacks is that one track to grab onto; there’s nothing standout here, nothing that will justify you coming back for a second helping. Like Human, Outsider is a disposable 40 minutes that will whet your appetite and have you moving on with your life thereafter. It’s not a bad album, but its continued on-the-fence writing and lack of any spiked moments of excitement make it a weaker successor and one that will be completely forgotten after hearing it.

Average.

EDITIONS: DIGITAL//C̶D̶//V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶

PACKAGING:

SPECIAL EDITION:



Recent reviews by this author
Rotting Christ The HereticsHEALTH VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR
Busted Half Way ThereBring Me The Horizon Amo
George Michael OlderSlipknot All Hope Is Gone: 10th Anniversary Edition
user ratings (130)
Chart.
2.2
poor
other reviews of this album
Shamus248 (4.5)
Three Days Grace surprises with their best effort in a decade, ensuring their tumultuous recent hist...

DropTune (1)
Don't even give it a chance....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2018


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Solid review, album... not so much

DropTune
March 10th 2018


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You make a pretty general statement. Dragging "Outsider" to the same level as other radio rock albums is pushing it. "Outsider" is a bad rehash of "One-X." They both try to accomplish similar goals. The concept of an outsider is explored vastly in "One-X" where "Outsider" makes it a caricature of being angsty. Celebrating adequacy is silly. I shouldn't lower my expectations to enjoy this. Towards the end you make some claims about the value of "Outsider." It has no purpose. There is no reason for anyone to listen. There's no smash hit or any replay value. It's 12 tracks of the same exact format. I think Walst has potential as both a songwriter and vocalist. He keeps writing songs the same way he did for My Darkest Days. Walst needs to get out of that zone and start writing real songs.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2018


15087 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can easily retort and say it's mind-blowing you give this a 1. Is this the best radio-rock has to offer? Not by a country mile. But as with all the heat Human got on here, I don't see it. It's just an average album for its field, albeit one that managed to hold my interest until it finished. I don't celebrate adequacy, but I'll give credit where it's due; it's nothing special, just able.



A 1 out of 5 -- imo -- is regarded as inaudible. This is far, far from that. It's inoffensive radio-rock.

Digging: HEALTH - VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR

DropTune
March 10th 2018


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I can agree it's just able. It stands on its own two feet. Like I said, the album is fundamentally broken. Average to me is something like Disturbed or Evanescence. They aren't perfect, but they get their point across. This album doesn't rest on that pinnacle. The highest I'd give it, if I were generous, would be a 2. I know a 1 is harsh. Think of it from the perspective of, "does it at least relay the message?" No. It doesn't even relay the message right. Everything the message tries to get across is screwed over. The last 3 tracks 'Chasing the First Time,' 'The New Real,' and 'The Abyss' all carry the theme of "nothing matters 'cause we're going to die alone." That just screws everything up. Everything is pointless because it never matters in the end.

SweeneyTodd
March 10th 2018


1979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

haven't spun this start to finish yet, but from the couple of tracks i've heard, i think i'm going to this.

Digging: Tycho - Epoch (Deluxe Edition)

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2018


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Everything is pointless because it never matters in the end.




Dude, you screwed up your Linkin Park lyrics...

Toondude10
March 10th 2018


13659 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

^ lol



good review, mind pos'd

Digging: Dream Theater - Distance Over Time

DropTune
March 10th 2018


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Don't worry Nocte, I'm breaking the habit tonight.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2018


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hey!!!! There you go haha : ]

DropTune
March 10th 2018


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

We need to stop this before it gets out of control. All of these Linkin Park lyrics will spin out of control. I need to find a place for my head.

kalkwiese
March 10th 2018


2540 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I've given up on this thread, but I won't be the one to leave this in pieces

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2018


9441 Comments


'Attempt' figures twice in the opening sentence close to one another.. otherwise, a typically fantastic, articulate review, Gonzo.. a min pos that's one step closer to the edge and it's about to break..

Digging: A.R. and Machines - Die Grune Reise

Divaman
March 11th 2018


3315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review.

Digging: Rachael Sage - Choreographic

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2018


15087 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cheers guys

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2018


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Love your work butcherboy: ] m/

Wildcardbitchesss
March 11th 2018


2599 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I 1.5'd because even the vocals suck. Matter fact, I don't even know why I rated it that high. This album is hot garbage

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2018


41231 Comments


why does this album cover look like the fever dream of a redditor

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

Snake.
March 11th 2018


21391 Comments


looks more like a minimalist ddr design if anything

Eons
March 11th 2018


2085 Comments


At least the song titles don't include things like 'Over' or 'Broken' 'Far away', etc.

Eons
March 11th 2018


2085 Comments


Which is right?

Review Summary: Not a surprise in sight.

Review Summary: Three Days Grace surprises with their best effort in a decade



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy