Drudkh
They Often See Dreams About The Spring


4.3
superb

Review

by Scuro F. STAFF
March 9th, 2018 | 196 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An understated triumph.

Whilst the majority of black metal projects tend to nominate Winter as their chosen province, Drudkh remain devotedly infatuated with more temperate climes, doting in particular upon the transitory seasons forever trapped between two extremes. Coming off the back of an acclaimed split EP with Swiss solo-artist Paysage d’Hiver, the dichotomous evolution evidently proceeds once more, for the autumnal decay conjured on Somewhere Sadness Wanders surrenders to the inevitable rebirth promised by They Often See Dreams About the Spring.

Each track here is a temporary slice of organic abundance revelling in the celebratory warmth of life. Drudkh stand at the centre, responsible for all, shaping glass-smooth compositions in the same way a healthy April river caresses her gentle banks. The band’s classic twin-guitar interplay unfurls with the delicacy of periwinkle petals. Split duties see one role reserved largely for low-register rhythmic pulses while the other provides trebly tremolo melodies, crowning the instrumental environment with regal bliss. Appreciably, the bass serves a prominent foundational role in this incredibly balanced mix, and its reassuring rumble is a constant, welcome presence. While the guitars buzz acrobatically through the toasty spring-morning air, one can always rely on the snoozing house cat purring satisfied in the meadow below.

Egotism clearly isn't a notion ever broached in the Ukranians’ camp. Every member locks into the groove and serves a higher purpose to the extent that it becomes difficult extracting one element from the whole. Both the vocals and subtle keyboard textures especially play complementary parts, each adding their characteristic flavour when the moment calls for it, but otherwise hanging back to ensure the broth stays unspoiled. Directing a curious listener towards a de-contextualised example representative of this album’s quality also proves futile. Repetition and minimalist percussion are favoured techniques throughout and induce quite the hypnotic effect, relying on a slow build that pays off over time. Beyond claiming that closer ‘Bilyavyi Den’ Vtomyvsya I prytykh’ stands out from the pack, discriminating any more precisely seems to me a worthless endeavour. Graceful cohesion and uncompromising fluidity are the keys to success for Drudkh, and as assuredly as Autumn eventually yields to the vitality of ...Dreams About the Spring, succeed they do.




Recent reviews by this author
Korpiklaani KulkijaJonathan Davis Black Labyrinth
Majesty of Silence Zu Dunkel Für Das LichtDream Troll The Witch's Curse
Lautreamont Silence of the DeceasedWuW Rien ne nous sera épargné
user ratings (141)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2018


11530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

https://drudkh.bandcamp.com/album/they-often-see-dreams-about-the-spring



Stream: https://overdrive-mag.com/2018/03/08/premiere-drudkh-stream-new-album-їм-часто-сниться-капіж-often-see-dreams-spring/



Real grower this one, by degrees anyway, even from the first listen it sounded like something special.

Digging: Isegrimm - Der Herr von Verona

Hawks
March 9th 2018


59908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yes so pumped to hear this.

Digging: Boogie Down Productions - Criminal Minded

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2018


17797 Comments


hummina

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2018


2493 Comments


This was fantastic on the first listen. Excited to jump back in; can definitely see it becoming a favourite from the band. Brilliant review, dude. Really detailed given the brevity.

Hawks
March 9th 2018


59908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've heard it's his best in a decade so I'm stoked. Gotta wait for them to put it on Bandcamp in my timezone though. -_-

Flugmorph
March 9th 2018


18939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

uuuuh excited for this

Digging: IDLES - Joy as an Act of Resistance

Crysis
Emeritus
March 9th 2018


17351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

third track slays, this album was quite good

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So pumped for this review/album. Love your work Scuro



Stream: https://overdrive-mag.com/2018/03/08/premiere-drudkh-stream-new-album-їм-часто-сниться-капіж-often-see-dreams-spring/

Wizard
March 9th 2018


20194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, quite surprised people are loving this. I expected another redundant album but you guys have convinced me to waste my time on this.

Hawks
March 9th 2018


59908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

About to jam now, will report back with thoughts. m/

DungeonBoy
March 9th 2018


4559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review dude. I really dug what they did on the split with paysage and the two singles from this, so I will be jamming today for sure.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2018


24083 Comments


Super good review. I've never really gotten into this band. Gonna have to czech this hard though.

Digging: Majestic Mass - Savage Empire of Death

Ocean of Noise
March 9th 2018


10297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spirit you need to check their whole discog. Everything from Forgotten Legends to Microcosmos is brilliant.

botb
March 9th 2018


11860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can’t wait to dive into this

zaruyache
March 9th 2018


19547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

First tracks seemed good, rly excited to hear this one.

Digging: Forn - Rites of Despair

Essence
March 9th 2018


6220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will czech

DungeonBoy
March 9th 2018


4559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good album! One of Drudkh's better releases, but I think it has the same issues as a lot of their other albums where within each song it starts to get a bit repetitive, almost hypnotic. There are some really nice moments, some great tremolo harmonies but in the end I just wish it was a bit more interesting.

Essence
March 9th 2018


6220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I think that it is an intentional sound they go for, but even a decade on from Microcosmos, they still haven't figured out how to do it consistently well.



Dungeon did you czech their split from last year? Drudkh in small doses is a slam dunk

botb
March 9th 2018


11860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is sooooo nice

WatchItExplode
March 9th 2018


5850 Comments


actual good Drudkh? sweet, I'm on it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy