Suuns
Felt


2.6
average

Review

by Aaron W. STAFF
March 8th, 2018 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Flensburg und das BKA, Haben unsere Daten da.

On Suuns' latest endeavor, Felt, the band have captured themselves at a moment in time where their sound is undergoing yet another transformation. It's not as transitional a sound as 2013's Images du Futur; nor is it as ominous as 2016's Hold/Still, but instead, Felt finds our boys from Montreal getting a hold of an armory of gadgets and refusing to go without them for a single minute. At first glance, the newfound aggression on cuts such as "Watch You, Watch Me" and "Daydream" is encouraging; but when taking another glance and recognizing a very obvious pattern in the songs' structure, the chink in Suuns' armor is as plain as day. While once taking cues from Suicide and Can (among many other groups), Kraftwerk is the band's (potentially) unnoted guiding light for their latest album cycle; in drawing from the nuts and bolts of Kraftwerk's cold itinerary, whether it's the vocoded vocals or the further emphasis on motorik rhythms, Suuns have come frighteningly close to losing the edge that made albums such as Images du Futur and Hold/Still some of the most interesting rock records of the decade.

Felt, in turn, is not Suuns going through the motions; it's Suuns putting down their guitars and dusting off the synthesizers and scrounging up less than stellar material. Suuns' records, while notably rife with challenging music, always retained a sense of humanity within their steel confines and you always got the sense the possibilities with their records were endless. Felt makes no discernible attempt at progressing the sound of its predecessors, which is the worst part of the loathsome slog all must endure when listening to this record. Never before has the band sounded so comfortable or as calculated, which props itself up to be the very downfall of Felt.




Recent reviews by this author
Animal Collective Tangerine ReefBoris Akuma no Uta
Derek Bailey AidaPram Dark Island
Beach House 7Preoccupations New Material
user ratings (22)
Chart.
2.9
good
related reviews

Images Du Futur

Hold/Still

Zeroes QC
recommended by reviewer
Neu! Neu! '75

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2018


17796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

okay (not my finest but idk this went down like 1.3 since it dropped and i'm sad)



"Watch You, Watch Me": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUCtZNoj_ww

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2018


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate to agree, but I am less and less enthused each listen. Nice write-up.

InfamousGrouse
March 8th 2018


4331 Comments


going to spin this today, had no idea they had a new record out

Sinternet
March 8th 2018


17046 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well i've loved all their stuff until now, i'll give this a spin, far be it for me to criticise them for taking a chance given the quality of the rest of their discog

Digging: Tragedy - Fury

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2018


17796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

yeah you're gonna be super disappointed

kylemccluskey
March 9th 2018


174 Comments


word

DemonComedian
March 9th 2018


16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found this to be a step up from Hold/Still which I found several of the songs on there to be monotonous and underwritten. This feels more focused like their first two records.

anatelier
March 11th 2018


2369 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is really quite underwhelming

Digging: Ex-Isles - Luxury Mass

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2018


8653 Comments


what should I check by them instead of this, good people?

Digging: Mark Stewart And The Maffia - Learning To Cope With Cowardice

Sinternet
March 11th 2018


17046 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

their last one is my fave, really nice dark and brooding atmopshere

JohnFire
March 11th 2018


585 Comments


Best summary :D
Jetz n Flens :D

LoLifant
March 11th 2018


1470 Comments


Summary?!

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2018


17796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

Bleep boop beep.

calmrose
March 11th 2018


3629 Comments


"what should I check by them instead of this, good people?"

Images Du Futur

Digging: Heiress - Of Great Sorrow

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2018


17796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

pretty much the first three albums

Ashen
March 12th 2018


1458 Comments


I was so interested to see where they'd go after the stellar release that was hold/still. But this doesn't sound appealing at all.

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2018


17796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.6

it has a handful of songs to make a solid EP



Look No Further

Watch You, Watch Me

Control

Daydream

Moonbeams



rest are a bit hit or miss, mostly the latter

JohnFire
March 12th 2018


585 Comments


@Lolifant You know, the thing that's on top of almost every review here? :P
Review Summary: Flensburg und das BKA, Haben unsere Daten da.


hiyabootchie
March 12th 2018


410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is not that bad. I was disappointed in Hold/Still and was hesitant to listen to this one. However I liked the more fuzzed out and light approach they took here.

LoLifant
March 14th 2018


1470 Comments


@ JohnFire yeah but I don't get this summary



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy