S. Carey
Hundred Acres


4.0
excellent

Review

by A.R.O. STAFF
March 6th, 2018 | 119 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Keep your feet on the ground and your eyes to the sky.

My love for folk exists at an odds with my personal trends of music enjoyment. For music to be arresting to me, there generally has to be a sense of ambition and sonic adventurousness, a willingness to explore beyond the norms and try new things. And while some folk artists strive to push the boundaries of the genre, oftentimes they seem complacent, taking comfort in familiar sounds in order to battle their personal demons on their own terms.

It’s also strange that even though my love for this album was evident from the start, its faults were at the front of my mind the first time I listened to it. The music is consistently gorgeous, lush, and inspiring, but there’s a quiet uniformity that strangles the album, one that makes it clear there’s no strong intention to try anything new here.

That being said, S. Carey does nail the base foundations of the genre perfectly. There’s a deep, rich beauty to every one of the tracks here, so much so that there is no clear weak link. The whole thing wraps you up like a warm blanket, just as the lyrics express an eerie uneasiness. And as you settle deeper, the faults become less and less evident. It slowly eschews its influences and comes into its own sound. His subtly strange instrumentation perks the ears on further listens, with the quiet country twang of “Fool’s Gold” sounding more unique than perhaps it should, and the gorgeous combination of strings and glitchy percussion in “Emery,” unveiling itself as a clear highlight. Even the title track, which at first sounded to me like a bad Sufjan Stevens cover of a Bon Iver song, now feels rooted in a familiar but quietly inventive sound that’s no more skippable than anything else.

I guess that when it comes down to it, folk music was never about reinventing the wheel. Sometimes, it’s just about that feeling of thinking back when you know you should be looking forward. It’s a magnet pulling you to your past and a reason to keep your eyes to the sky. Carey gets that. He knows that what we need isn’t either change or stability, and instead offers a rolling tide of familiar sounds that flow spectacularly well, breezing from one track to the next. At the end of the day we’re all on our own, just desperately clinging to that familiar thread to base ourselves off of from this moment onward. And I suppose that for me, that’s what folk music is. And this album happens to do it better than others.



Recent reviews by this author
Willow Smith EmpathogenOwen The Falls of Sioux
Habitants AlmaAllie X Girl With No Face
Shygirl Club ShyKing Creosote I DES
user ratings (66)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


26233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man these just keep getting shorter

Hopelust
March 6th 2018


3618 Comments


Hey this sounds great. Have a pos.

Divaman
March 6th 2018


16120 Comments


Nicely written, though. Short, but sweet.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


26233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys (:

Sowing
Moderator
March 6th 2018


43962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. Perfectly sums up my feelings on this.

luci
March 6th 2018


12844 Comments


nice write-up neek, succinct and straightfoward

Drifter
March 6th 2018


20861 Comments


I'm glad you mentioned Emery as a highlight. I love that song. It's also the name of my baby cousin so that's cool lol

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


26233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Emery" is probably the best thing on here, that's such a cool name! Is it a boy or girl name?

Thanks everyone (: And thanks for the feature!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


27975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice to see a review for this



"Even the title track, which at first sounded to me like a bad Sufjan Stevens cover of a Bon Iver song, now feels rooted in a familiar but quietly inventive sounds that’s no more skippable than anything else."



my favorite track, haha. though the closer is getting up there now

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


10234 Comments


sounds like a lovely listen. great write up, neek

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


26233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for inadvertently pointing out a typo Atari, fixed! (;

Appreciate it asleep! Any notes?

Sowing
Moderator
March 6th 2018


43962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have You Stopped to Notice is hands down the most beautiful song here

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


26233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly one of my least favorite sowing :c

It really is beautiful, but it just doesn't stand out too much to me compared to the others

theBoneyKing
March 6th 2018


24448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nice review neek, I mostly agree with your points though I think I find it slightly less impressive as an overall package than you do.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


27975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

subject to change but current favorites are Hundred Acres, More I See, and Meadow Song

Drifter
March 6th 2018


20861 Comments


Girl

TwigTW
March 6th 2018


3934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sometimes pretty is enough

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
March 6th 2018


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sounds excellent, will have to listen. Great review neek!

theBoneyKing
March 6th 2018


24448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sometimes, Twig, but not always ;-P

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2018


26233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Boney I can understand why someone wouldn't dig this as much as I do but I'm glad you still enjoy it!

@Twig, you're totally right

@Talons Let me know whatcha think!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy