Ed Schrader's Music Beat
Riddles


4.0
excellent

Review

by Bloon CONTRIBUTOR (80 Reviews)
March 4th, 2018 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “All is a riddle, and the key to a riddle...is another riddle.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

The dense, driving bass riffs that regularly coat the backgrounds of these songs automatically give one an idea of the driving and dark melodies that Ed Schrader’s Music Beat builds a number of their songs upon. These fuzzy basslines are accompanied by tight percussion, vibrant vocals, and synthetic drones. All these pieces contribute to sharp and engagingly strange compositions, full of flavorful variations, which is found in the tracklist’s pre-planned eclecticness, and impressive precision. Each song, from the frantic “Dizzy Devil” to the sweepingly ethereal “Humbucker Blues,” is different enough to give an interesting take on the group’s style, but still cohesive enough to portray a consistent theme of mystery.

This theme is built from the haunting melodies of “Tom,” “Wave To The Water,” and “Culebra,” and the intense, high octane post-punk tracks like “Rust,” “Dunce,” and “Riddles.” The large amounts of variety on this record highlight the uncertainty of the experience. It’s adrenaline-pumping in some moments, yet harrowing in others. Ed Schrader’s Music Beat also has a tendency to wear its influences on its sleeve, from new wave like Modern English, Alien Sex Fiend, and Joy Division to noise rock like Sonic Youth and The Jesus Lizard. Rather than relying on these influences, as many do, Music Beat manages to mold them into something that feels fresh and invigorating, without losing the very obvious homages to past genres. This darkly lit romp uses these elements from the past, as well as contemporary ideas, to craft an experience that embodies the previously mentioned mystery, creating dream-like experiences such as “Radiation Kid.”

It’s passionate and grandiose, yet it backs up its bold feelings with interesting ideas and engaging foundations, such as the previously mentioned bass work and the complex drumming. The group proves that, beyond a shadow of a doubt, they know how to use various genres to create bountiful atmospheres and enthralling themes of life and how frustratingly hazy it can be. Riddles can only be described as a passion project fueled by anger, sadness, confusion, and hope. It's a tumultuous ride that reflects the the life and times of both Ed Schrader and Devlin Rice, while also maintaining a complex system of stimulating themes and experiments. The record feels like a dream, but it also feels extremely real.



Recent reviews by this author
Satan Cruel MagicEminem Kamikaze
Young Thug Slime LanguagePixies Head Carrier
Body/Head The SwitchNegativland Dispepsi
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2018


1718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream/Purchase the album here: https://edschradersmusicbeat.bandcamp.com

Thanks to clavier for providing input.

These guys are great, can’t wait to see them on tour.

Digging: Man or Astro-Man? - Your Weight on the Moon

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2018


750 Comments


glad i could be of service!

SteakByrnes
March 4th 2018


12994 Comments


Nice review Bloon friend

dbizzles
March 4th 2018


12087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Look at that HARD 4 avg. I wish this were longer, but it owns. Thanks for shedding light on something I surely would have missed out on.

Digging: Thou - Magus

dbizzles
March 4th 2018


12087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

darkly lit romp

Perfect description.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2018


8777 Comments


This is a nice bit of text this

anatelier
March 4th 2018


2368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’m mad at you for beating me to a review but realistically I wasn’t gonna do one. this album is so ace and it gets better each listen. 4.5 / 5 potential

Digging: Ex-Isles - Luxury Mass

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2018


1718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Guys.

I really hope that this album gets more attention, really good stuff.

Dewinged
March 5th 2018


11062 Comments


Damn Bloon, easily sold on this, great entry for the comp dude. Good luck!

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - On Dark Horses

oodlesofnoodles
March 5th 2018


66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening now, this album is actually fantastic. Worth mentioning that Dan Deacon was the producer for the album, I was worried that his influence was going to be more apparent but it's pretty subtle.



Seagull is my top track so far

dbizzles
March 5th 2018


12087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Culebra is so good.

anatelier
March 5th 2018


2368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Riddles and Dizzy Devil are both fantastic, love the drum roll that starts the latter, like a revving engine

DoofusWainwright
March 5th 2018


20004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only listened once so far, def good enough that I'm going to listen to the entire discog soon as I get the chance.

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2018


1718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Real talk, dizzy devil has me super pumped when I hear it.

@dewinged best of luck to you as well :D

anatelier
March 6th 2018


2368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

upped my rating, new favourite of the year so far

dbizzles
March 6th 2018


12087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this fucker came out of nowhere.

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2018


1718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Might up my rating as well, idk

SirArthur6
March 9th 2018


263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only blemish on this album is Wave to the Water, the rest of this album is pure gold.

dbizzles
March 9th 2018


12087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like that one. The only thing that kinda bugs me is how repetitive Dizzy Devil is, but that's kind of the point.



2 weeks and I'm probably go to see these guys if all works out.

anatelier
March 9th 2018


2368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really like wave to the water, it’s a needed respite after the first four tracks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy