Rema-Rema
Wheel In The Roses


4.0
excellent

Review

by butcherboy CONTRIBUTOR (120 Reviews)
February 27th, 2018 | 39 replies


Release Date: 1980 | Tracklist

Review Summary: someone's in the kitchen making Rema-Rema..

The short, year-long life of Rema-Rema exists in the thick of a Venn overlap packed with so many cornerstone post-punk acts, one might wonder how the group remained such an unknown entity. The extended family tree of the group’s four members spans doing stretches in Siouxsie and the Banshees, Psychic TV, Adam and the Ants, Cowboys International, the Wolfgang Press and a slew of other lesser-known acts running the length of synth-affected punk, from new wave to goth pop to industrial and back. Wheel in the Roses, the band’s sole four-song EP, released in 1980 on 4AD, is a salvo of sound, metallic squealing, see-sawing guitars, lo-fi clattering and vocals so askew they border on hysteria. Written at the height of the recording industry’s dalliance with unhinged experimentation and a willingness to explore just how strange art can become before it does away with any notion of commercial appeal; the record seems hell-bent on testing the limits of leeway, flirting both with the boundaries of noise and the listener’s patience. Self-subversion becomes Rema-Rema. “The Feedback Song” sports neither more nor less feedback than any of the other three cuts found here. “Instrumental” isn’t one. And naming a song after the band’s name still remains just about the most effete and masturbatory thing an act can do. It all ends rather cheekily on the spacey ballad of “Fond Affections,” electronic dirges and a fitful guitar teetering around a lazy kick-drum, Gary Asquith’s declarative voice rattling off nonsensical proclamations. It’s all bold, difficult, grimy and occasionally quite beautiful. Come dip your toes in..



Recent reviews by this author
DNA A Taste of DNANeon Boys That's All I Know (Right Now)/Love Comes In Spurts
The Fall SlatesThe Yummy Fur Night Club
Beat Happening DreamyHarry Crews Naked in Garden Hills
user ratings (7)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

99..

Digging: Mark Stewart And The Maffia - Learning To Cope With Cowardice

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh damn, i like me some Rema Rema.

Digging: Chain Cult - Isolated

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also, fuck you Cyclotron

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rema-Remaaaaaaa.. also, some the best album art right here..

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rate time

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd give you a hard time for that 3.5, but I'm about to slap a 3 on that Middle-Eastern rock group you reviewed a few days ago, so can't complain too much..

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

eye for an eye and a rate for a rate

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

been putting off rating it actually.. it's got a lot of interesting sounds and beautiful vocals happening, but overall, didn't do much for me..



you back in Oz?

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

try their debut then. there has to be something to it you'll rate higher... or just keep on lowering the scores of things i like



and I hope not to be in Oz for a long time now..

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

where can a Universe call a home?

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have a registered residence in Czech Republic and in Perth, but I have not been in either for a long time.

SandwichBubble
February 27th 2018


7229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rema-Rema, Die Kreuzen, Linda Perhacs, and Manicured Noise all reviewed within 2 days of each other. gonna have a heart attack.

Digging: ADULT. - This Behavior

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just wait for tomorrow, darling

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

teenage jesus and the jerks coming tomorrow from me.. whatchu got cookin', Uni?

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

still amidst writing, but I am trying to bite through writing either one thing Sandwich 5d or another thing you 4.5d, whichever will be finished first. and the other one i'll keep for another day or for when one of my planned new release reviews end up being just as big a time wasters as the ones that were supposed to be yesterday, today and tomorrow.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool.. Uni, Sandwich, I've been thinking about doing a string of Lydia Lunch reviews.. what's your take on her music, Bone Orchard, Big Sexy Noise etc.

Papa Universe
February 27th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really like her. Wanted to stack together all of her projects and make a giant monster-Don't you forget us episode about her, but that will have to wait some time...

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like her music quite a bit, spanning through the decades, but at the same time, if you listen to her speak in interviews, she comes across as a proper imbecile sometimes.. don't know..

hansoloshotfirst
February 28th 2018


1066 Comments


is butcherboy Universe's long lost son?

Digging: Sepulcher - Panoptic Horror

Papa Universe
February 28th 2018


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, I fucked around a lot, but I skipped homeless gypsy lairs in Turkey.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy