Destroyer 666
Call of the Wild


3.5
great

Review

by Scuro F. STAFF
February 25th, 2018 | 66 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Wild is calling...and you'd better pick up.

If you were to kidnap an unfamiliar listener and coerce them into a snug pair of circumaural headphones, bargaining the hypothetical subject’s freedom in exchange for simply naming which era this latest Destroyer 666 EP emerged from, they'd most likely stammer a little before taking a hesitant stab somewhere around the early ‘80’s.

And they’d be wrong. Dead wrong. [Lightning, evil laughter].

Or perhaps, like one of those exceedingly common and naturally charitable people-snatchers, you might concede that all the evidence does indeed point rather accusatorially towards a time about three or four decades prior to its actual release. On this outing the appropriately named Australian quarter cough up four tracks of muddy mixing, early blackened thrash riffs, and deliciously cheesy lyrics – every aspect unapologetically celebrating bygone genre roots with, dare I say, wild abandon. Opener ‘Violence is Golden’ sets the nostalgic tone immediately by employing chunky riffs, wacky solos, and utilitarian drumming, all the while conveying the resulting old-school reunion with suitably over-compressed production. But that's far from where the comparisons cease; after a wailing introduction the title track especially begins to reek of early Venom, spit in the face of some corrupted speed metal act no less, and treated to a night of heavy drinking rather than by a vile of antivenin.

What the astute reader may have gathered by now and what I'll spell out regardless is that Call of the Wild sounds far from original, and it's hardly trying to be – what it offers instead is a whole lot of fun, something the group manages to deliver in only a few minutes, and that’s more than enough reason to embrace these contemporary metal anthems. Despite its size, this brief collection is guaranteed to please anyone searching for a faithful revival of classic metal tropes with the passionate revelry to match. Or hell, use it for strange kidnapping trivia, I'm not your mom.




Recent reviews by this author
Jonathan Davis Black LabyrinthMajesty of Silence Zu Dunkel Für Das Licht
Dream Troll The Witch's CurseLautreamont Silence of the Deceased
WuW Rien ne nous sera épargnéSlugdge Esoteric Malacology
user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very enjoyable EP, check it out here: https://destroyer666.bandcamp.com/album/call-of-the-wild

Digging: Shining (SWE) - X - Varg Utan Flock

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2018


8753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was waiting for this review. Does not disappoint



As for the album, it’s fun blackened thrash. Roll with it : ]

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Nocte, and agreed it's just a good time, not much more to it than that.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2018


8753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not much more needed to be honest

BallsToTheWall
February 25th 2018


48648 Comments


Hail!

Digging: Jonti - Tokorats

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2018


11071 Comments


Nice one Scuro. As you said, this is lots of fun - great little ep.

Digging: Battleroar - Codex Epicus

CaptainDooRight
February 25th 2018


2417 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

didn’t like this

zaruyache
February 25th 2018


19024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This one was fun and stylistically diverse on each track, but it didn't grab me much beyond that.

Digging: Vilkacis / Turia - Split

Dinosaur
February 25th 2018


1252 Comments


This was good, but nothing new. I feel as though most black/thrash releases fall under this category

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2018


8753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Most try the serious contextual over tones and fail. This is great because it’s fun

Hawks
February 25th 2018


56465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Band rips, will jam soon.

Digging: Jimmy Wopo - Woponese

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2018


8753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jam now Hawksie, make marmalade

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hawks, Nocte. I think this could be your thing. Its kind of unknown to sputnik but it has great reviews already. I just added the new record, you guys should give it a try:



https://www.sputnikmusic.com/soundoff.php?albumid=277209



"indie blackened death metal band from Netherlands by way of Lebannon"



I'll check this guys soon to

Digging: Immolation - Here in After

Hawks
February 26th 2018


56465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This rips.



Will check that album too. m/

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ahah Yeah you should. They need some recognition in here. It's a shame they have only one rating lolol

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2018


8753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indie blackened death metal band from Netherlands by way of Lebannon




Members of Marduk and Obscura (Alkaloid) makes that sound promising. What a way to start a hype train DeftoneDDD

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, i guess that i should've said that in the first place ahah would love to see this reviewed!



https://kaoteon.bandcamp.com/



the music and all info there. brutal war in your fuckin face :D





Hawks
February 26th 2018


56465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gonna jam now.

DDDeftoneDDD
February 26th 2018


1363 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Indie" for me its game changer here (kaoteon) songs like The Will and Light of Compassion for me are priceless.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2018


11470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"https://kaoteon.bandcamp.com/"



Holy fuck this kills



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy