Cabal (DK)
Mark Of Rot


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (246 Reviews)
February 24th, 2018 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Underwhelmed by the rot.

Despite my hesitancy to embrace Cabal’s dissonant brand of metal including sounds (dubbed black metal, djent and deathcore) utmost curiosity forced my hands (or my ears) into finding out exactly what the hype was all about. I found myself with mixed opinions, unable to shake the feeling that Mark Of Rot simply missed the mark in a mess of incoherent, unfocused genre-pooling. Fortunately, Cabal’s Mark Of Rot has a couple of solid tracks able to cover a surplus of ‘filler’ allowing Cabal’s debut effort to be slightly above passable, while failing to live up to the hype.

Mark Of Rot’s ability to meld together the typical low end riff work made famous by the likes of Meshuggah, with the occasional downtempo rhythm sections found al a Black Tongue records combined with the ever present, two toned screams that vary from your typical black metal shrieks to middling (yet powerful) death growls are an achievement by itself. Unfortunately, the combination of good ideas and tight musicianship fail to sound like anything other than a band hopping on multiple hype-wagons… at the same time. My main grip with Mark Of Rot’s particular sound is the lack of variance between those particular sounds. Having so many styles to work with, and the ability to play them it becomes confusing as to why Cabal rely so heavily on the d-beat ringing chords without the substance to back it up. Tracks like, “Blackened Soul” are able to tear through the speakers with excellent use of ringing atmospherics and intense vocal structures - making for some of the album’s most enjoyable listening but the track itself fails to push on the potential this Danish band has to offer and while “Rah’ Ru” builds on the oppressive, majestic dread Cabal are becoming known for these two tracks can’t completely carry the weight of the rest of the record.

Also worthy of a mention is the Filip Danielsson (of Sweden’s In Reverence) featured track, “The Darkest Embrace”. Short, sharp and abrupt the track itself relies less on the downbeat riff work that cripples the rest of the album while Filip’s guttural death growls permeate long after “The Darkest Embrace” finishes, while the djent styles of Cabal’s instrumental side actually have a chance to shine properly, culminating in the year’s best breakdown to date. Ultimately, it’s the medium to short run time of Mark Of Rot that becomes the album’s saving grace. Had the album been another track or two longer, it would’ve most certainly out-stayed its welcome. Tracks begin to meld together, becoming undistinguishable between beginning and end and while there is an under-reaching level of diversity to be found on Cabal’s full-length debut there is some positive to be found in a band that’s willing to be this ambitious when producing music.

Overall, Cabal’s Mark Of Rot appeals to a certain type of listener. Surely, if you are pissed off enough to find yourself enjoying this, flailing limbs and rocking heads are almost guaranteed. If like me, you’re still wondering exactly what the hype is about a few more spins are not going to hurt you. There are some gems hidden in the rot, just don’t miss the mark. As a whole, Mark Of Rot is a “hit” and “miss” record, plagued by its own attempts to be more than something it actually is. When these guys knuckle down and focus on their sound, we’ll start hearing some great music. They’ve already got everything else they already need.



Recent reviews by this author
Until Death Overtakes Me MissingAbstracter Cinereous Incarnate
Burial in the Sky Creatio et HominusKataklysm Meditations
Joan of Arc 1984Ghost (SWE) Prequelle
user ratings (18)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This is literally a 2.8/5 if I could do that sort of thing.



https://cabal.lnk.to/MarkOfRot

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2018


11530 Comments


Great review, first sentence actually does make me pretty interested in hearing how this sounds despite the warning contained in the rest of the review that it's going to disappoint. Even still...


Btw, extra "above" in the last sentence of the first para


Digging: grum~pe - Expansions and Conflations

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I redacted the second “above”. Man that’s one way to screw a sentence.



By all means let me know how you go, we’ve heard that Willie is pretty chuffed with the album so far - I’m just not feeling it.

teamster
February 24th 2018


3068 Comments


Destiny 2 brought me here....

Digging: Besra - Anhedonia

Papa Universe
February 24th 2018


17199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

unremarkable record, remarkable review

Digging: Chain Cult - Isolated

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys.

Willie
Moderator
February 26th 2018


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Dude! Ha ha. I like this. Good review, though.

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2018


1718 Comments


"dubbed black metal, djent and deathcore"
Yeah, I'd hate this. Regardless, very entertaining and well written review!!

Digging: Man or Astro-Man? - Your Weight on the Moon

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2018


24080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I liked this a little bit, but still not sure exactly how i feel. Ace review though, and congrats on feature buddy :]

Digging: Majestic Mass - Savage Empire of Death

Wildcardbitchesss
February 27th 2018


1541 Comments


Yeah two of those three genres named fucking suck so...

Digging: Forn - The Departure of Consciousness

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sorry Willie, the new Usurpress is way more enjoyable than this.



Bloon/Spirit: yeah it’s one of those albums that’s only going to work for certain listeners. There’s also not a lot of room for something like this to grow.



Wildcard: see a dick post...

Willie
Moderator
February 28th 2018


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Never heard Usurpress. Added it to my 2018 playlist.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

That’s got to be quite an extensive playlist at this stage of the year. Anything we should keep an ear out for?

Willie
Moderator
February 28th 2018


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's actually not, ha ha. Lots of decent things, not many albums that have really grabbed me yet.

new Avslut, Conjurer, and Hyno5e are really good. Only Avslut is out right now. New Oceans of Slumber comes out Friday. It's pretty good.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sounds like you need my list. That Avslut is a solid 3/5 though.



Here’s a list filler: Rolo Tomassi, Mahr, Thy Catafalque, Heilung, Nest, Mournful Congregation, Solstice, Eigenlicht, Coram Lethe, Chaos Echoes, Hecate, Beorn’s Hall



Just on my own “to review” list all 3.5’s and Higher

Willie
Moderator
February 28th 2018


17609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Will add them to my list.

DDDeftoneDDD
March 1st 2018


2017 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These are my top rated, so far, 2018 releases (one of them is reviewless):



Hooded Menace - Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed

Kaoteon - Damnatio Memoriae

The Atlas Moth - Coma Noir



I'll check this one without any hope ahah



Digging: Nails - Abandon All Life

DDDeftoneDDD
March 1st 2018


2017 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well...i guess i just prefer Meshuggah, or Car Bomb, or Exoplanet.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2018


8777 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

one of them is reviewless):




Hint hint?? Haha

DDDeftoneDDD
March 2nd 2018


2017 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ahahah ok...it's the one with only 3 votes!



here's a review https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g61h-j2iDko



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy