Genocide Pact
Order Of Torment


4.5
superb

Review

by MewCore USER (13 Reviews)
February 21st, 2018 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Crushingly groovy, uncompromising and primitive, pure to the form of old school death metal with creative tempo changes that inspire relentless, intrinsic hate.

Though this should be death doom I find the categorization lacking because rhythm changes so organic that your usual, run of the mill death metal sounds uninspired and monotone in comparison.
In a genre that adheres to it’s orthodox roots one cannot deviate too much because the original magic would be lost. What can be done is refinement of the formula, and that formula is perfected by the latest chronicles of Genocide Pact.

Every cymbal hit, blast beat and palm muted guitar chug is perfectly audible in the abyss of underground crevice that rejects light and expulses pure animalistic contempt. I would prescribe this fine album as an antianxiolytic for every stressful situation imaginable.
One simply can’t disregard the feeling of being PUMPED while listening to a composition that is consistent and flowing as Order of Torment. Some vocal performers seem strained and tiring while performing, but what we have here is so effortless and bestial that sir Tim Mullaney, the fine bellower of Genocide Pact sounds as natural as a wolf howling, dog barking or a demon simply stating the limitless metaphysics of suffering that awaits his less than eager subject. His rasp ultra low growl is accompanied by a tremolo guitar that’s more often than not in sync with percussion. This combo produces breathtaking and fun, yet incredibly hard hitting performance. Slowing down when one might expect the song will speed up and vice versa grabs attention and inspires revisiting this barbaric, primal explosion that’s so well rounded it makes the listener feel as if he is introduced to death metal for the first time.
Certain parts are even funeral doom like, not so in the rhythm sense because tempo never slows down to a dying crawl, but because impact is so weighty, hard as an tectonic plate movement.

If early Entombed recorded their material some decades later with ferocious vocals, more death and less ‘roll it might sound just like this. Great stuff!



Recent reviews by this author
Dance With the Dead B-Sides: Vol. 1Wormwood Ghostlands - Wounds From A Bleeding Earth
Our Place of Worship is Silence The Embodiment of HateProfane Order Tightened Noose of Sanctimony
Whitehouse Bird SeedKriegsmaschine Enemy of Man
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MewCore
February 21st 2018


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

https://genocidepact.bandcamp.com/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKJeMLtiDXE

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2018


15752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You definitely show you enjoyed this album ;).



Good review man, i would divide it into some paragraphs, but that's just me. Have a pos.

Digging: ???? (Ohashi) - ?????? (Nami no Hajimari)

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2018


9426 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A good start would be to look at some grammar, then breaking some of all this wall into paragraphs.



As for the music; man this is run of the mill.

MewCore
February 21st 2018


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tnx for the suggestions - since it's short I didn't bother paragraphing :-/



As for grammar - pointing at what you mean sure would help!

Auto proofing only gets me so far :-/



I get why some people might not be into this. Execution is simply superb for my ears so I recommended it. It's not original, that's for sure :D

accompliceofmydeath
February 21st 2018


4747 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dang, you really liked this. You've convinced me to at least give it another spin.

Digging: Full of Hell - Weeping Choir

botb
February 21st 2018


12909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stoked someone reviewed this, it rips

sonictheplumber
February 21st 2018


10383 Comments


this your band?

MewCore
February 22nd 2018


27 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No :'(

brainmelter
February 22nd 2018


6351 Comments


nice never heard of this

Digging: Vothana - B?n Tuyn Ngn -Demo V

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2018


25244 Comments


Oh hey, I've been seeing this band pop up quite a bit lately. I'm not really sure I get the appeal. This seems like dime a dozen death/doom to me.

Digging: Darkest Hour - Deliver Us

DDDeftoneDDD
March 27th 2018


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I liked this on first listen when was un-reviewed...gonna give it another go to see if my 4 stands or falls (doubt it raises but who knows)

Digging: Immolation - Close to a World Below

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 27th 2018


15752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It was alright.

DDDeftoneDDD
March 27th 2018


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Though this should be death doom I find the categorization lacking because rhythm changes so organic that your usual"



I'd say this is Grind&Doom&Hardcore. I think my 4 rating will stay for now but its prob a fair 3.5.

DDDeftoneDDD
March 27th 2018


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh and TKS for the review MewC

oltnabrick
August 20th 2018


36770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is fun. I liked it

Digging: Sun Ra - Jazz in Silhouette

DDDeftoneDDD
December 18th 2018


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm glad I came back to this. It's one muscular piece of grindy deathdoom.

Fun as hell

DDDeftoneDDD
December 19th 2018


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I ask for attention to the "second part" of this album gentleman...there's some bad ass solos and bangers there m/

AdolfChrist
January 5th 2019


20901 Comments


damn, this grooves.

DDDeftoneDDD
January 28th 2019


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't know about the AVG man. This album is badass! All riffs, grooves and solos bad ass af!

DDDeftoneDDD
January 28th 2019


5035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is that heavy 4 you're looking for X) m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy