Hovvdy
Cranberry


3.5
great

Review

by Conmaniac CONTRIBUTOR (70 Reviews)
February 19th, 2018 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: detached and rusted swing from your childhood home.

As a follow up to the burst of limelight received after 2016’s Taster, the Austin duo have decidedly dimmed the brights a bit. Songs here feel even more vagrant and boundless in structure while the vocals match this sigh of dissolution in delivery. Highlight ‘Petal’ seems to borrow everything from the late Elliott Smith; wistful and airy in vocal inflections while simultaneously recalling chord progressions from The Beatles. It’s a welcome maneuver as the track shines as brightly as a muted leaflet could, leaving the listener with something to hold onto during this mist of detachment and latency. The catch-22 with this record is found within its thematic expression; it pushes a tone of disengagement throughout all four corners of the dusty room Hovvdy reside in. When successful, the tracks run the risk of detaching the listener from the music itself, something that happens every-so-often on this 12-song endeavour. Some will confuse this with boredom, and in their defense a couple of these tracks seem unnecessarily lackluster in melody. ‘Thru’ comes off as an EP-experiment extended a minute too long as the mix of synths merely produce a blurry photograph of greys and silhouettes. Although an album this barren only begets repeated listens, it’s really a matter of whether or not the melodies are convincing enough to latch onto. The ones that prove to be are the most balanced in theme and are consequently stimulating to listen to.

In a sort of ironic twist, ‘Colorful’ is undoubtedly the least saturated song, yet it explores this dissociative mindset with refreshing clarity. Its most passionate whimper even exemplifies this idea, “I saw you clearly then ” -- a flash of an engaging memory that they so desperately attempt to hold onto, putting it on a sort of pedestal comparatively. It’s a slow, dreary build in order to get to this point, however, as the guitar hazily stumbles in front of a muffled drum set over the course of nearly 4 minutes. Cranberry inhabits the uncertainties and neglections of one’s life for almost the entirety of this album, forcing their listeners to squint in order to see the blips of affianced sparks. Due to this, it’s easy to understand why some would simply just shut their eyes, yet anyone used to a melding of indie folk and slowcore such as this will fathom the reward of keeping them slightly open. Really, this effort is vague enough to conjure up any nostalgic feeling; it’s the lack of specificity that also hinders any of these emotions from feeling resolute. That’s the intent nonetheless, it’s just that the literal translation doesn’t always prosper.



Recent reviews by this author
Ski Mask The Slump God StokelyJoji Ballads 1
GHOSTEMANE N/o/i/s/eJoey Purp Quarterthing
Dad Thighs Easy ListeningPersh persh
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.4
great
related reviews

Taster

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stream it here: https://hovvdy.bandcamp.com/album/cranberry

dis a nice one but found myself a lilllll bored. cc welcome as always

Papa Universe
February 19th 2018


18626 Comments


POSberry

will check, cause I keep on believing that there is an indie/emo outfit you like that I will like as well.

Digging: The Ocean - Phanerozoic I: Palaeozoic

MarsKid
February 19th 2018


7806 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Short and sweet, spirit pos.



Have to agree with the detachment aspect, except it happened rather frequently to me

Digging: Noise Trail Immersion - Symbology of Shelter

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it got a bit tiring, but songs like Quitter and Petal are really gorgeous

thx u two

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


9130 Comments


Looking good my man

AsleepInTheBack
February 19th 2018


5876 Comments


neat little read, mate. might check this, though I'm not sure it'll tickle my pickle.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ben you'd definitely prefer the lil more dynamic Taster, so check that first if ya havent!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2018


23942 Comments


Sexy review!

Snake.
February 19th 2018


21148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you mean their name isn't actually pronounced hovdee?

Digging: Space Camp - Inevitable Demise

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ay sexy appearance by Atari, thx man (:

and snake it's pronounced however u want it to be!

TheWrenKing
February 19th 2018


1696 Comments


heard a song off this randomly a while ago

it ! was ! pleasant !

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yes they're a pleasant band ! im sure you'd enjoy this Wren

TheSpaceMan
February 19th 2018


11701 Comments


Great review con

CaimanJesus
February 19th 2018


3731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is dope

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice Caiman, glad you dig this. also much love space

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


2662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review Connor! (: Quite liked this on first couple listens, though I need to give it more attention.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might've been a bit impatient with this one, only 3-4 listens before I decided to start writing but coming back to it tonight and many of my thoughts have stayed the same. still a lovely lil slice of slowwww indie. thanks for reading tho blush, any immediate favorites?

Chortles
February 20th 2018


21308 Comments


so do u like hovvdy or what???

nice lil review con. i didn't know these guys were from Austin, i should try to see them sometime

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2018


24270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hah I’ve played with them once, prob why I seem so infatuated with em. but yeah def do they are yummy

CaimanJesus
February 20th 2018


3731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stop using yummy and tasty to describe music, it hurts me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy