Night Verses
Copper Wasp


4.0
excellent

Review

by Eucatastrophe CONTRIBUTOR (78 Reviews)
February 18th, 2018 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And reintroducing....

The complete badassery of Copper Wasp begets a troubling question; was Doug holding his old band back" Copper Wasp is Night Verses untethered, playing with an abandon they only hinted at with their debut Lift Your Existence and curiously bottled up with their follow up Into the Vanishing Light. This short, three song teaser takes the unbridled energy of their debut and artfully infuses pockets of breathable space throughout to create a product that technically marvels without exhausting the listener with its momentum. The chemistry between these three is enviable and after the misguided experiment that was Into the Vanishing Light, Copper Wasp immediately exudes a rejuvenated aura. In particular guitarist Nick DePirro flourishes with his unique effect-laden approach to guitar play, presenting the most intense riffs heard yet out of the group. Night Verses has always embraced technology in creating their signature sound and Copper Wasp utilizes it in such a way that you don’t even realize how often they show up. This clever suppression of the constant electronic enhancements is in no small part due to the fact that even without them, the music is phenomenally written. It’s hard to notice the small stuff when the big picture is so overtly attractive. At only three songs, Copper Wasp teases and teases well. Apparently freed from the burden of writing for vocally driven music, the group’s new sound now has fresh scratches on the surface and a clear path for in depth exploration. And to answer the question from earlier, Doug skill on the mic was never in question and Doug himself was not holding this band back, but vocals were.

This is the music Night Verses needs be making



Recent reviews by this author
Avantdale Bowling Club Avantdale Bowling ClubTowkio WWW
Bibio Phantom BrickworksThe Ongoing Concept Places
Stray From The Path Only Death Is RealIgorrr Savage Sinusoid
user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


16107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Trying to get back into this writing shite. A 3 song EP was probably not the way to go though. The group has my favorite drummer and guitarist making rock music of any sort though right now.

Ecnalzen
February 18th 2018


8211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmm... I wonder if I would be into this band. I have become weary of both post hardcore and alt rock tags as of late, tho, but that post rock addition is appealing.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


16107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this aint post rock in any way homie. their last album kinda was I guess. this however is different than any other post-hardcore imo.

clavier
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2018


866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can confirm that this fortunately does not conform to my expectations for post-hardcore tags, really unique sound (there's a sort of chill coming from the electronic aspects)

Ecnalzen
February 18th 2018


8211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, can't always trust them genre tags on sputnik.



So, have they said anything about when the actual album for this will be released?

AsleepInTheBack
February 18th 2018


5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fantastic review and damn this is a fun little ride. eschews the genre tag for sure.

supremejelly
February 18th 2018


1058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice, glad someone made a good review for this. Album rips

Digging: Extol - Extol

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


8940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was pretty enjoyable. If it was longer I would've been able to really get a grip on the ideas they try to develop here, but as it is they're crammed into a short time span.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


16107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it teases a little too well.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


8940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If nothing else, I'm eager to hear what comes next

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


15462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, you are still in shape Calc. I enjoyed Night Verses a lot so will give this a prompt check.

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2018


16107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

asleep and dewinged thank you both

Piglet
February 18th 2018


7839 Comments


oshit this is probs fireemoji times three

jmh886
February 19th 2018


2304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

my prayers were answered. a review! vice wave is one of the best instrumental tracks i've ever heard. shit is soooo dope.

jmh886
February 19th 2018


2304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

drummer absolutely shreds on this.

decisions
February 19th 2018


260 Comments


Good release, but I found it a little forgettable. I liked them better with Doug *shrug*

Divaman
February 19th 2018


3461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

From what I read, these three guys have played together for 10 years in different bands before they ever hooked up with Robinson the former vocalist. I don't blame him -- he's a pretty good vocalist, and he did some good work with The Sleeping. But this EP does feel like they're taking a joy in the music that I didn't necessarily hear on the prior two LPs.

Digging: Kakkmaddafakka - Diplomacy

momentsofclarity
February 19th 2018


419 Comments


Phenomenal, as expected, but I’ll always miss Doug’s vocals.

Ecnalzen
February 19th 2018


8211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do like the stuff I have heard with vocals, but this is pretty cool too. I definitely will be interested to hear a full album from them like this.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2018


8880 Comments


Saw these dudes live last night and was blown away. Feels like loads of Tool influence, but without seeming derivative, like how Karnivool and Rishloo sometimes sound. It's also nice to hear the drums and bass get some of the spotlight in a technical prog metal band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy