Whitney
Light Upon the Lake


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dedes USER (86 Reviews)
February 12th, 2018 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Those golden days will come.

Upon my first listen of Light Upon The Lake, I was unsure what to think. The feelings I was awash with were not something I was used to in music, which is likely due to the type of music I tend to gravitate towards. I decided that, while this was an elegant listen and I was happy to have discovered it, I probably wasn’t going to come back to it. Funny enough, I proved myself wrong. Light Upon the Lake is peppy, and has a lot of spring in its step. It’s free from burden, pain and sorrow, looking only to see the world through the most optimistic scope. Now, had Whitney attempted to create this emotion poorly, it would come across as artificial. It’s smile would not come across as warm and glowing, and would’ve instead looked more like a Crest toothpaste commercial, and that is perhaps why I find myself impressed with the album - the purity that emanates so brightly is completely natural.

No track represents this better than “No Woman”. The track floats gently, gracefully ascending into another realm. This is in part due to some of the most dainty, soft-spoken vocals I have heard, as well as smooth acoustic guitar that is paired beautifully with creeping violins, adding an elegance that does not swell, but rather grows slowly, like a flower taking its time to bloom. I will admit that this level of astonishing beauty isn’t quite reached by other tracks off this album, but I’ll be damned if tracks like “Golden Days” didn’t bring to mind laying in a hay field, watching as the heath swayed to and fro in the summertime breeze. The song is easy to become lost in, and before you know it, it has already ended. I think that is what caused my initial disconnect with the album. It felt like pleasantry that left as fast as it came, quickly fading away as if nothing had ever happened. It also felt innocent, almost too innocent. Yet, what initially started as my gripes soon became the traits I most adored. For a short moment, the evils of this world don’t have to exist, and sometimes it's that short moment people most need.



Recent reviews by this author
Yugen Blakrok Return of the Astro​-​GothYhdarl Loss
Ghost Atlas All Is In Sync, and There's Nothing Left to SingTaake Noregs Vaapen
Horns and Hooves Morbid LustEldamar A Dark Forgotten Past
user ratings (105)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
February 12th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As usual, criticism and thoughts are always appreciated!

Papa Universe
February 12th 2018


14188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well, i'm not gonna start looking for grammar mistakes, cause god knows i am the last person to do that, but stylistically speaking it is a bit too short for something, where 1/2 of paragraphs are devoted to a story of how you came about listening to it. i'd add at least one more paragraph.

still, light uPOS the lake

Digging: Slow Bloom - Hex Hex Hex

Dedes
February 12th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brevity is beauty, my friend.

Yeah though I understand, it's just this record felt too simple for me to go in TOO deep on ya know? Although perhaps I should flesh out my reviews a bit more in the future.

Dedes
February 12th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh also, BIG thanks to 50il for helping me here, god knows how many structural/grammatical mistakes he helped iron out haha.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2018


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This is in part due to some of the most dainty, soft-spoken vocals I have heard, as well as smooth acoustic guitar that is paired beautifully with creeping violins, adding an elegance that does not swell, but rather grows slowly, like a flower taking its time to bloom."

p sure ur missin an article before smooth acoustic guitar. also this sentence is a structural eye sore but idk

"For a short moment, the evils of this world don’t have to exist, and sometimes it's that short moment people most need."

word choiceeeeee my dude if ur gonna do this short of a review pls try not to repeat phrases within the same sentence.

"Now, had Whitney attempted to create this emotion poorly, it would come across as artificial. It’s smile would not come across as warm and glowing"

again, wc "come across" is an ez phrase to replace.

kinda agree with Papa here, review really seems to be lacking substance and I'm only saying this cuz I know you can do better (plus I was p excited to see how someone would tackle this album). a lot of the imagery is nice, esp the Golden Days description but right afterwards u decide to just abruptly end the rev. this is very close to well written but honestly it doesn't tell me much about the album other than it's nice n soft and how it deviates from ur usually taste of, I'm guessing, non-soft music

Dedes
February 12th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wouldn't say i dont listen to soft music so much as soft music that feels so happy and peppy but anyways I really only made the review this short because the album was rather straightforward and simple and I really didn't have much else to say so everything other than what I said woild be kind of forced. Also I don't think I needed an article before smooth acoustic guitar work buttt im probably wrong.

Dedes
February 12th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry if I sound dismissive btw, I guess i just...feel like I said what I wanted to say/what could be said. Maybe I could've added another short paragraph but im not sure.

Papa Universe
February 12th 2018


14188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

at least you liked it. that's what matters

Feather
February 12th 2018


4401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I for one enjoyed the brevity, glad you liked it

50iL
February 12th 2018


4655 Comments


Idek what y’all are complaining about, I really liked this review
Pos

Ecnalzen
February 12th 2018


7218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, cool, this got a review. I always really liked this.

Feather
February 12th 2018


4401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Ecnalzen Random review game homie :-)

BlackwaterPork
February 13th 2018


3909 Comments


Probably should’ve added another paragraph to add a bit more analysis, but review wasn’t bad and I don’t know why it’s being shat on

Digging: Coroner - No More Color

Dedes
February 13th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Being shat on is an exaggeration haha.

I decided to reread it for the 10th time after reading another one of my reviews and suddenly it DID seem too short.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2018


20949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sorry if I seemed too harsh, just my thoughts unfiltered ig.

Dedes
February 14th 2018


5810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah hardly haha, it's a fair criticism



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy