Spectral Lore/Jute Gyte
Helian


2.2
poor

Review

by Aaron W. STAFF
February 10th, 2018 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nothing lost and nothing gained.

With all due respect to both Spectral Lore and Jute Gyte, their expertise in metal notwithstanding, I listened to Helian with rather low expectations and with the utmost patience I could possibly muster. Helian does exactly what I feared most: it shuns creativity in favor of quintessential black metal tropes, it panders to its audience so blatantly in its execution, and does little to justify their expansive scope in a way that is truly inspiring to all guitar-god hopefuls. Jute Gyte's microtonal methodry is, at first, staggering to behold yet leaves much to be desired; it's a slab of metallic decadence without character nor the power to break free from its atmospheric characteristics. The most devastating aspect of Jute Gyte's work is an overbearing insistence of depriving the piece of the momentum it thrives on; its mannerisms both add to the effect of the track and detract from the development of it as well.

Where the meandering ways of Jute Gyte ends one track, the all-encompassing Spectal Lore stakes a claim on capturing the attention of its audience – whether it be yours truly or someone else – at the risk of taking too great an emphasis on hard-edged riffage. Helian works its way through the motions, going to such lengths to establish the commonly-heard metal clichés and dispersing them, as well as taking claim to originality in a haphazard fashion that leaves no justification to the great overindulgence they have left in their wake. In their bargain with their own lack of originality, Spectral Lore and Jute Gyte only contribute to the ongoing flow of point-blank excess in the genre today with nothing to offer but a scant record to show for it.



Recent reviews by this author
Beach House 7Preoccupations New Material
Alva Noto UnieqavDavid Byrne American Utopia
Suuns FeltKeiji Haino and Sumac American Dollar Bill
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

Party rock is in the house tonight.



Helian: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kSJjVE8CZGg

Digging: Soundtrack (Anime) - Now and Then, Here and There: Official Soundtrack

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2018


8602 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ouch, haven’t had a chance to have a gander at this split but this does not look promising : [

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

dive in, the water is infested with sharks

Beautiful
February 10th 2018


417 Comments


But does it m/

?

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

Life's most important question, Myst

Beautiful
February 10th 2018


417 Comments


You got that right

Pal

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

I ain't your pal



Buddy

Beautiful
February 10th 2018


417 Comments


I ain't ur buddy

Guy

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

touche

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2018


2213 Comments


review captures my thoughts exactly. release was a waste of time.

Sniff
February 10th 2018


4518 Comments


Is the Jute Gyte side as awful as all of his other work?

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


17254 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2

the better half of this split, but an easy 2.5/5

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 10th 2018


2500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, but good god I don't think we could disagree more on the rating. I've listened to it plenty of times and I get something more out of it with every listen. I guess every pair of ears are different though hey-ho.

Digging: Thy Catafalque - Geometria

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2018


11371 Comments


Interesting review, will have to give this a gander

Digging: Thy Dying Light - Forgotten By Time

Darius
February 10th 2018


13846 Comments


Jute gyte is one of those artists i was so hyped for because of how much i heard about his quirks and style and it turned out it just sucks :[

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2018


2500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be fair this is the only thing Jute Gyte-related I've heard that I actually really enjoy. I've listened to a few of the Jute Gyte releases in the past but couldn't get into much.

Astral Abortis
February 12th 2018


5585 Comments


Jute Gyte has always been trash yea

Hawks
February 12th 2018


55553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't heard anything from Jute Gyte before this but I thought both parts of this split ruled.

Digging: Violet Cold - Sommermorgen (Pt. I) - Innocence

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2018


23461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Interesting review! I can't say I agree with the majority of your first paragraph at all.



Helian does exactly what I feared most: it shuns creativity in favor of quintessential black metal tropes...




This, to me, is a very confusing statement to make. Jute is probably one of the most creative BM artists of the last few years, and this is up there as some of his weirdest. When I do hear the black metal tropes (shrieks, trems, blasts, etc...) they sound re-purposed and broken down to fit his mold. I would argue this release invites creativity, but that's just me. I do agree on the bit about the momentum however. At some point, this kind of just sounds like it's existing without much purpose.



You spend a lot of time attacking their lack of originality, and that doesn't make much sense to me considering they're both paragons of unique extreme metal. Jute is understandably controversial, but out of the all the BM i've listened to, I don't think I've found an artist comparable to him. Perhaps the Spectral Lore track wasn't **too** weird, but I'm not sure placing the emphasis on it being stale was a necessary.



Either way, I'm glad you reviewed this and it brought the release some more attention.



Evreaia
February 12th 2018


4951 Comments


A bad Spectral Lore release? What has the world come too.

Gotta check this out to see if if the world truly is in such a dire state.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy