Brian Fallon
Sleepwalkers


2.5
average

Review

by mmbernie USER (3 Reviews)
February 9th, 2018 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Forget me quickly.

When a successful lead singer embarks on a solo career the most common pitfall is creating music that sounds like B-sides from the original band. Brian Fallon had avoided this trend until his latest effort. His return with a second release (third if you consider The Horrible Crowes) is muddled with bland chord progressions and flat vocals. A voice that was once raspy, yet endearing, has been relegated to a strained and monotonous sound.

Of course the album has everything you’d expect from the New Jersey rocker: soulful tales told over mid-paced folk grooves. The issue is these tunes just aren’t as refreshing as they used to be. If an artist is going to replicate a specific formula it is critical that the execution be top-notch. Songs like ‘Neptune’ and ‘My Name Is The Night’ seem like works in progress and completely lack polish. It is understandable that this effort would be more stripped down than a Gaslight release, but there are times where the tunes are just begging for a touch of backup vocals or a second guitar.

Although Sleepwalkers fails to grip the listener in any meaningful way there are flashes that will satisfy any Brian Fallon fan. 'Come Wander With Me' and 'Etta James' feature Brian’s sheer authenticity and charisma. Unfortunately these moments are sprinkled so scarcely throughout the record that they get buried under all the filler. Consequently there is nothing on here like 'Behold The Hurricane' or 'Smoke' to leave a lasting impression.

The Gaslight Anthem have seemingly scheduled a small tour as a prelude to a more major commitment to the band’s future. This could also signify that Brian has become bored with his current project and is ready to move on. Maybe a lackluster release was all the motivation he needed to rekindle his passion for Gaslight again. Maybe he is sitting on better material that will eventually surface with his old band. Until then, save your spins for his previous works.


user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Painkillers

Comments:Add a Comment 
onionbubs
February 9th 2018


7559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

decent review, albeit one i dont agree with at all



even tho painkillers has smoke, this is maybe the better of his two solo records, if not really damn close i loved this thing. get hurt is the only lackluster thing hes done

Digging: Brian Fallon - Sleepwalkers

AngryJohnny
February 9th 2018


648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This does not surprise me. Hope I end up disagreeing with this but get the feeling I won't

mmbernie
February 9th 2018


13 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm sorry, I wish I felt differently about this one. In terms of his solo projects I consider them in this order:



Elsie > Painkillers > Sleepwalkers

phildoo54
February 9th 2018


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Totally disagree, this album is much better than painkillers.

phildoo54
February 9th 2018


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review though

onionbubs
February 10th 2018


7559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Of his stuff that i’m super familiar with (so no horrible crows since ive only listened to it once or twice) id probably rank them



59 sound>painkillers>handwritten>this>american slang>sink or swim>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>get hurt

Crawl
February 10th 2018


2445 Comments


Get Hurt is gorgeous. This is pretty good actually, much more colorful than Painkillers, although his vocal melodies are still pretty much the same.

jmh886
February 10th 2018


1936 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yea i thought this was pretty lame on first listen. the formula seems to have run its course.

Rawrz
February 10th 2018


171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Etta James is one of the best things he has ever written

dfevil085
February 10th 2018


1028 Comments


Good review. Need to check this out.

mmbernie
February 10th 2018


13 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Etta James is excellent. That may be the one song I come back to.

onionbubs
February 10th 2018


7559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea the more i listen the more i love this. i’ll probably write up a review for it soon unless someone else writes a positive one first

onionbubs
February 11th 2018


7559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck me Etta James is a top 10 song he’s ever written

Clumseee
February 11th 2018


809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I also find this record incredibly bland and boring. I used to be a diehard Gaslight fan back in high school but since then just completely fell out of love with Fallon's shtick. Glad people who like it like it though.

Clumseee
February 11th 2018


809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Would much rather see Elsie 2 or a real Molly and the Zombies record.

STOP SHOUTING!
February 11th 2018


779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love all his stuff apart from maybe Get Hurt.

Danred97
February 11th 2018


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn, this is actually some of his best material to date. Etta James and the closer are probably two my favorite songs he's ever written.

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Wait For Love

onionbubs
February 12th 2018


7559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this loses me a little bit at the end but the closer brings it back way up. first half is incredible

BigHans
February 12th 2018


28858 Comments


Need to check.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2018


22972 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

too soon to tell if I like it more than Painkillers, but it has some killer standouts

Digging: Brian Fallon - Sleepwalkers



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy