DZ Deathrays
Bloody Lovely


3.5
great

Review

by James Enwright USER (3 Reviews)
February 4th, 2018 | 21 replies


Release Date: 02/02/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Still rocking the radio and the bar.

Mainstream Aussie music in 2018 seems as divided within its fan bases as the political climate devouring up the world: There’s the rising pop/electro crowd driven by the social media and Spotify cycle, and then there’s the rock ‘n’ roll fortunate enough to be adopted by the mainstream either to represent the scenes or simply because the appeal is too good to be ignored. For years, two Brissie boys have set out to divide the line between the two, and with their latest they continue that cycle, melding charging thrash guitar riffs with soaring vocal and guitar harmonies in a sound that divulges the mainstream while standing on its own. The band rarely reach for the ambience of 2014’s Black Rat, and instead aim for a sound that is a little more restless and charges a little harder, reflecting the trials and tribulations of a night out – Shane Parsons even seems to swap out his standard high-pitched delivery for deeper undertones. Bloody Lovely is still very much a continuation of the thrash pop template they’ve established, but when they build on it, like the stomping melodic thrash of “Shred for Summer”, the storming punkish beats of “Feeling Good, Feeling Great”, and the excellent 5-minute closer “Witchcraft Pt II”, they further cement their place as one of the greatest mainstream Aussie acts to emerge from the last few years. This is just the music we need - sweat-ridden and exhilarating, yet boisterously atmospheric and tightly woven. Bloody Lovely will surely be one of the most consistently enjoyable mainstream rock records of this year.


user ratings (18)
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheLeopardsFret
February 4th 2018


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Disappointed they're barely enough ratings on this to post a review, this one's highly enjoyable. 3.5 might seem a bit low for this review, but this one isn't as consistent as Black Rat while still having some killer tracks. Feedback still always appreciated, especially about the shorter format which I think will work much better for me.

schoonda
February 4th 2018


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

honestly think this one may be better than black rat, I thought that only had a few highlights. great review man

schoonda
February 4th 2018


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

who gave this a 2?

TheLeopardsFret
February 5th 2018


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know but they're blowing it for sure



Also thanks

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2018


16946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Honestly some of the songs feel like a straight out Nirvana rip off trying to sound "modern".



Also, I am confused about the use of "thrash" in your review, I guess you don't refer to the genre, but it's a bit confusing.

Digging: Deerhoof - Deerhoof vs. Evil

Butkuiss
February 7th 2018


4614 Comments


Bloodstreams and their EPs fucking RIPPED, Black Rat sucked. Haven't heard this yet and don't know if I want to. I spent NYE 2013 in a dark room with these guys playing on a halfpipe and I doubt anything they ever put out is going to top that.

Also, a little miffed at the incorrect, slightly rockist use of "electro" in your review but whatevs I'm just a picky cunt.

Butkuiss
February 7th 2018


4614 Comments


And nah Dewinged, DZ are thrashpop af. Listen to their first few releases; it's the energy and attitude of Mortal Sin all over again.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2018


16946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well I'm mind blown.



https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Trash%20Pop



I honestly didn't know, though thrash pop was a mix of Kreator with Justin Timberlake.

Butkuiss
February 7th 2018


4614 Comments


That's for trashpop mate. Lrn2read

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2018


16946 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah my bad, so it's not the same thing, what's the difference then?

Butkuiss
February 7th 2018


4614 Comments


Thrash pop

=

Thrashy guitars + poppy song structures.

Like everything off their first album.

TheLeopardsFret
February 7th 2018


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Butkuiss nailed it, that's just how I felt about this album



Also by "electro," I was talking about the ambient electronic/EDM thing that's big now



schoonda
February 7th 2018


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bloodstreams is just non stop bangers, this new one falls somewhere in between that and Black Rat

Butkuiss
February 7th 2018


4614 Comments


Yeah Leopard I got that, but Electro is a v specific sorta music. Just say EDM if you mean EDM, because Flume and Alison Wonderland aren't electro.

TheLeopardsFret
February 8th 2018


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah that's fair enough

JesusCage
February 15th 2018


323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is fun. not on bloodstreams level tho

danielcardoso
February 15th 2018


11770 Comments


Sick dig, dude!

JesusCage
February 15th 2018


323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks dude. Really digging this new album, could become a favorite. Do you heard it?

danielcardoso
February 15th 2018


11770 Comments


Yeah man.

Their debut is definitely up there as one of the best rock albums made in our country in the past 10-15 years.

conesmoke
July 4th 2018


6076 Comments


Didnt expect to see the big old "10 year anniversary" dz ad on sput... sigh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy