Son Lux
Brighter Wounds


4.5
superb

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (109 Reviews)
February 3rd, 2018 | 94 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Absolute.

Do you know what emotion is the most striking of them all" It is the one as poignant as any biting sorrow, deadening melancholy or malefic sadness. And it is also much more energy-inducing, life brightening and adrenaline pulsating as any joy, bliss and utter happiness is. The bittersweet. That which merges struggle with triumph, macabre with hope, decay with slight distant light, and pain with ecstasy. It is a piercing combination of two polar opposites, gifting both negativity and positivity at the same time. And I may have stumbled upon the best musical representation of that feeling.

The moment my ears landed upon the first single “Dream State”, I knew I would regret not listening to the entire album. And I am happy that I did. Son Lux have always been a collective with a unique and absolutely magnificent production and compositional capabilities. And their latest album, Brighter Wounds, is proudly said their most enigmatic and mature effort to date. Their already well established sense of instrumental intricacy and compositional ambition may have found an absolute peak here.

But this album is not just Son Lux’s most stylistically encompassing and atmospherically engulfing album, it also is their most triumphant. But triumphant that is with a strong, crushing feeling of candescent bitterness amidst a hopeful, albeit naïve sweetness. It is like a gratification among ruins and a deceit within ascendancy, all clothed in a cloak of overwhelming, cinematic, masterfully crafted musical grandeur, both subtly chilling and stupendously imposing. There is also a particularly haunting, but strangely calming, feeling of solitude all throughout the record.

The album’s opener, “Forty Screams”, might at first come off as a little confusing musically, but only strengthens its emotional impact as it goes further. Here, Ryan Lott and his rusty, crumbling voice deliver some of their most hellish cracklings. And together with the atmosphere as freezing as the outer space, it is as magnetic and beautiful an opener as it can ever get. With the gorgeous, grandiose following track, the aforementioned single “Dream State”, and all of its background chants and perforating strings this makes for quite an introduction to the album.

However, right after that is what one could by default describe as the album’s low point. It is the slightly dizzied out “Labor”, the most poppy cut on here, “The Fool You Need” (although this one has that beautiful acoustic guitar ending) and trip-hoppy “Slowly”. Those tracks are nowhere close to bad, but considering the skinning nature of the rest of the album, their slightly confused aesthetic fits the flow a little less. The succeeding calm of “All Directions” and more so of “Aquatic” then shows that very cosmic, echoic, luminous direction the triplet before them appears to have been trying to achieve. And because Son Lux never stand on one musical spot, the final track-triptych is both sombre (all things considered) and invigorating.

And just like that it ends. It swings by like a cataclysmic end-of-days euphoria and leaves you sitting in awe. Needless to say that Son Lux have accomplished something special here. Hard to say, whether Brighter Wounds will stand the test of time, but as for right now, right here, right in this mood and this particular need for beatific gloom of mine, this shall be the soundtrack to every day, until it is no longer needed.



Recent reviews by this author
Damien Jurado The Horizon Just LaughedProtomartyr Consolation
The Ex Aural Guerrillaserpentwithfeet soil
Dave Matthews Band Come TomorrowSoft Kill Savior
user ratings (54)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Barrel-scraping, ahoy!





Them free streams: https://www.npr.org/2018/02/01/579948243/first-listen-son-lux-brighter-wounds

Digging: Petrojvic Blasting Company - Over the Garden Wall

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2018


2355 Comments


“Do you know what emotion is the most striking of them all?”
S-s-s-SUBJECTIVE!
Random quip, maybe add “first” or “beforehand” to the end of “entire album” because I have no inference skills and will assume you still haven’t finished the record.
Pos, gramps. Really colourful review.

Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

N-n-n-NAME CHANGE!



Also,

"I knew I was going to regret not listening to the entire album first." ? You really think so?

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2018


15971 Comments


no way is this a 4.5, guess I'll listen to more than 2 songs

Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Darling, it's 4.5 all the way.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 3rd 2018


39659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay

JustJoe.
February 3rd 2018


3979 Comments


I can really sense the genuine awe & excitement in your review & it's all the better for it.

Digging: YOU23 - ???????? ??? ? ???

Gyromania
February 3rd 2018


25393 Comments


new son lux!? had no idea. sweet

Lucid
February 3rd 2018


9846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

mostly indifferent to this. this group doesn't do anything to make them standout. just electronic for yuppies

Gyromania
February 3rd 2018


25393 Comments


disagree. their last album wasn't the best, but their discog is consistently great, with their debut album being a masterpiece

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 3rd 2018


11493 Comments


""I knew I was going to regret not listening to the entire album first." ? You really think so?"

I think the issue is more that what you wrote implies "I should have listened to it and now I'm regreting that I didn't" instead of what I think you intended which is "It's so good only a few tracks in that I would regret not listening to this whole thing".

Basically change "was going to" to "would" and all is solved I think.

Good review btw, keep it up. Wish I had your daily reviewing stamina.


Digging: Pagan Reign - Spark of Glory and Revival of Ancient Greatness

Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gonna change it on computer, when I get to it. Phone works for shit.



And cheers to all you, folks. Except for those who give it less than 4.0 (even Potsy is on the same page here, which is a rarity).

bgillesp
February 3rd 2018


5143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excited for this one!

Second to last paragraph, "nowhere close TO bad."

How does the sound on this compare to their debut? I loved that one

Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, they've gotten significantly more experienced and there isn't that sense of grandiose ambition. There's more of grandiose professionalism.

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 3rd 2018


27035 Comments


Oh damn this is streaming? Nice.

Digging: Wild Pink - Yolk in the Fur

Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really thought at first that this is just me pissing boiling water after first (three or so) impressions, but I'm at my honest to god tenth listen and I do not back down from this rating even a little. Might actually end up being above everything else I gave a 4.5 so far this year.

bgillesp
February 3rd 2018


5143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You give a lot of 4.5s so I'm always skeptical whether it's hype or good, but I'll check this for sure since I loved their debut you rec'd me

Papa Universe
February 3rd 2018


16043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I find it easier to talk about things I like. Besides, when you really like something new, you just wanna get on the review before anyone else can, so you can claim it for yourself as the first prophet of goodness.

bgillesp
February 3rd 2018


5143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, that's what I did with Typhoon

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
February 3rd 2018


8226 Comments


alright, this is on tomorrow's to-do list.. a pos to end all pos'es..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy