AWOLNATION
Here Come The Runts


3.0
good

Review

by chris. USER (49 Reviews)
February 2nd, 2018 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: consistent at being inconsistent

Well, if there’s one thing you can say about AWOLNATION with this new album, they seem to be consistent in being inconsistent. Once again, Aaron Bruno serves us up a silver platter of one scatterbrained idea to the next; occasionally garnished with some good ideas here and there, maybe a little on the sides too. It’s almost like an ‘AWOLNATION album’ list had been created and each song seems to be just another item being checked off. Slightly inane intro track that’s mostly build-up" Check. Decent but ultimately lackluster lead single, complete with trademark AWOLNATION lead single electronic sound" Check. Oddball fast songs" Check. Oddball slow songs" Check.

Alright, so I think I established pretty well that the album is rather inconsistent in quality. So why listen at all" Well, somehow (don’t ask me how, I don’t even know) Aaron and all his hyper-energetic and caffeine fueled mannerisms still manages to pump out some pretty damn catchy electronic rock/pop jams. I ragged on “Passion” not 30 seconds ago, but it brings a pretty fun sound to kick the album off properly. Tracks like “Miracle Man” and “Handyman” showcase a rare phenomenon not usually seen on AWOLNATION albums where interesting ideas actually pan out to a fully fleshed out and engaging songs. When Aaron decides to let loose and go all out with the big stadium anthem sound, the album truly shines. Unfortunately, it’s not a common occurrence. “Here Come The Runts” is a rather confusing and boring start to the album in all it’s basic and non-groovy glory. “Sound Witness System” is a perfect example of AWOLNATION putting out songs that just seem completely random in the tracklist, presenting us a (rather tedious) hip hop song that switches to a normal synth and shouting chorus. Here Come The Runts is definitely backloaded, most of the missteps showing up first in the album’s 45 minute runtime. AWOLNATION’s issue here has been the same on as always. Aaron needs to settle down and focus his energy on making concise songs using what makes his great songs truly great. Until then, we just have make due with erratic and middling albums like this one.



Recent reviews by this author
Malibu Ken Malibu KenForests Spending Eternity In A Japanese Convenience Store
Greta Van Fleet Anthem of the Peaceful ArmyKero Kero Bonito Time 'n' Place
Lil Wayne Tha Carter VJoyce Manor Million Dollars To Kill Me
user ratings (49)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
McTime50
February 2nd 2018


834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first review of the week after skipping last week; too busy jamming tiny moving parts and the dangerous summer.



any comments, critiques , and concerns are appreciated!

Digging: PUP - Morbid Stuff

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2018


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm curious to hear this. Both their previous albums are guilty pleasures. Didn't he mention this would be a more guitar driven LP?

Digging: Fennesz - Agora

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2018


15486 Comments


Just a neatpick!

"Well, somehow (don’t ask me how, I don’t even know) Aaron is all his hyper-energetic and caffeine fueled mannerisms still manages"

maybe should be:

"Well, somehow (don’t ask me how, I don’t even know) Aaron and all his hyper-energetic and caffeine fueled mannerisms still manage"

[Just changed the "is" by an "all" cause it reads ackward and deleted the "s" from "manage" cause mannerisms is plural?]

Great review, nonetheless! Never heard these guys, don't know if it's gonna be up my alley.

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

dremusmann
February 2nd 2018


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel the album is a welcome return to form for the band after the disappointment of "Run". There seems a more cohesive guitar driven sound and plenty of mosh pit fillers ("Canonball", "Miracle Man" and "Here Come The Runts" just for starters). Admittedly "Megalithic Symphony" has yet to be bettered but I'm amped to hear this tunes live.

McTime50
February 2nd 2018


834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@insomniac I haven't seen him say that, but yeah that does seem to be the case. Besides Passion, every track here is mainly guitar based. Especially the middle of the album.



@dewinged Thanks for the edit and for the kind words! Also I am sure you've at least heard of Sail, it was on the radio everywhere a few years back.



@dremusman I can respect that opinion. There's definitely a more cohesive feel in some of the songs on display here, especially in the back half. Personally, I feel some of the bangers just don't last long enough or come often enough. I liked the other two albums for how they assaulted your speakers with the electronic choruses and all. Here, it's a little less constant fun (as evidenced by songs like "Seven Sticks Of Dynamite"). I could see this bump up to 3.5 for me in the future as the back half is seeming to really make up for the first half more and more with each listen.



Overall I feel this album to be on the same level as Run.



Also ghost neg :-(

McTime50
February 2nd 2018


834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ghost neg number 2 :-(

dremusmann
February 3rd 2018


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I apologize. I pressed the negative button because I disagreed with your review - not an indication of how it was written.



I take it back.



Sorry.



Keep up the good work McTime50!

McTime50
February 4th 2018


834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks for the clarification man. ghost negs are just really confusing because I seriously don't know if it's from a poorly written review or people don't like the rating.



i'm trying to improve here!

Aerisavion
February 4th 2018


1533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty damn good album imo.

Aerisavion
February 4th 2018


1533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also I wouldn’t worry too much about the negs. You’re comfortably sat on over 90% approval, the odd neg, mistake or not, isn’t too bad.

oisincoleman64
February 4th 2018


2260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album really seems to have no focus, but a lot of good tunes. Nice review, have a pos

oisincoleman64
February 4th 2018


2260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Overall it's pretty good, last few tracks start to lose me and don't get my attention again until the second half of Stop That Train which is one of the most intense moments of their whole discog.

Aerisavion
February 4th 2018


1533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yeah, the breakdown at the end is fucking awesome.

GabeItch
February 7th 2018


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is actually a decent album! Handyman is by far the best song, and Table for One is pretty good too. There's some goofy shit and less yelling than usual, but the more serious tracks make it worth a listen. And the goofiness actually kind of works for some reason haha

Papa Universe
February 13th 2018


20559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

here come the POS

Digging: Haimad - The Return



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy