Mortiis
The Song of a Long Forgotten Ghost


4.5
superb

Review

by Scuro F. STAFF
February 2nd, 2018 | 16 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dungeon synth's long-form lo-fi blueprint.

Lurking in the shadows of relative latter success, often overlooked for the tripartite of classic albums materialised in its wake, The Song of a Long Forgotten Ghost symbolically assumes the hermit position its aesthetics suggest. Mortiis’ debut demo conjures simulacrum towers; each dreary stone finger extending from the palm of an equally immaterial castle - the structure initially viewed warily from afar, suddenly all too close. Inside we find dusty lofts harbouring decrepit figures, some hunched beyond unexplored corridors, other spectres poorly concealed by the flickering shadows of spluttering torches. Dissonant tones linger, teasing out nerves and nurturing paranoia, while reverberating bass drums echo down endless halls. Can you be sure the portrait’s eyes really traced your movements – of course not, and still, you’d prefer they didn't seem to. The same conspiracy of synth melodies appearing with unstable tones and equally inconsistent tempos can be held accountable for inducing disorientation, both spatial and temporal, in the unlucky subject. Repeating motifs mirror déja-vu-enducing passages while spiral-staircase saunters are detailed in slow, trudging rhythms supported by persistent percussion. Though the techniques and style depicted here are somewhat sloppily performed and amateurishly recorded, counting these as drawbacks would be missing the point entirely. ‘Charming’ barely scratches the surface for a genre that revels in riding the line between poor quality and atmospheric license. These apparent flaws are the objet petit a, each contributing to the unnamable quality that makes this demo and others like it so irresistible. At least, for the few willing to set aside auditory anxiety and explore, with eyes closed and metaphorical arms outstretched.



Recent reviews by this author
Jonathan Davis Black LabyrinthMajesty of Silence Zu Dunkel Für Das Licht
Dream Troll The Witch's CurseLautreamont Silence of the Deceased
WuW Rien ne nous sera épargnéSlugdge Esoteric Malacology
user ratings (10)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
piroga84 (3)
A time when trolls were way cooler...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2018


17665 Comments


"déj�"

HOLY DIAMOND

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2018


712 Comments


god dammit sput, just can't handle the French

great to see a review from newly minted staff writer Scuro

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2018


11514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://downloadmusic.mortiis.com/album/the-song-of-a-long-forgotten-ghost



Made sense for my first staff review to be something no one cares about, but...uh, here it is?







Digging: Mortiis - The Grudge

Dinosaur
February 1st 2018


1266 Comments


Grats on the staff. I should probably check this.

Asdfp277
February 1st 2018


18468 Comments


holy shit !

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 1st 2018


27489 Comments


By the way, if any staff member writes a review for something old (I think anything older than one year) it just shows up in the regular user review section as STAFF instead of in the top box for new releases. But hey I guess you figured that out! Swell review, of course.

Digging: Foxing - Nearer My God

Hawks
February 1st 2018


58656 Comments


First Scuro staff review woooooooooooo!

Sweet write up as always bro. I've been wanting to get into Mortiis' solo stuff forever and just haven't yet for whatever reason.

Digging: Eucharist - A Velvet Creation

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2018


11514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Sowing I'd seen that happen before but didn't quite know why. Good feature though, de-clutters the more relevant review in the staff box.



thanks for reading guys

Dewinged
February 1st 2018


10854 Comments


Staaaaaaaaafffffffffff

I never tried to get into dungeon synth but I'll give it a try, good write up man.

Digging: Tomberlin - At Weddings

Ovrot
February 2nd 2018


13296 Comments


mopthis

hansoloshotfirst
February 2nd 2018


1028 Comments


nicely written. congratulations on your promotion.

Digging: Manilla Road - Gates of Fire

Keyblade
February 2nd 2018


25806 Comments


damn scuro's staff, congrats man

never thought i'd see a staff review of mortiis whew

Digging: Travis Scott - Astroworld

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 2nd 2018


23899 Comments


Hell yes. I'm expecting some more kvlt reviews from you, so don't let me down ;]

In all seriousness, great review and congrats once again friend!

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2018


11514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll make you proud Spirit



@ov I'd legit buy a shirt of that



Cheers Key, Han and Dewi (:

Alastor
February 2nd 2018


1956 Comments


nice, a Keiser review next?

I like that Mortiis is re-releasing all of his Era I albums, he finally has gotten to the point he can deal with this phase of his life again it seems. I'll try to get a hold of the 'Return To Dimensions Unknown' book, seems pretty interesting from what I've heard.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2018


11514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll probably do Ånden before Keiser, though neither for a little while, I'll fit a few other reviews in before then but yeah I plan to do them up to and possibly including Stargate.



Yeah I'm super glad he's come around on that, seems to be embracing it even, what with the re-recording of Fodt apparently on the way and he's touring Era 1 stuff as well (planning to see him in July actually since he's coming to Australia, should be a blast). And yeah dude looking forward to the book, pre-ordered the hardback but it was damn expensive. Might use my new staff powers when it arrives to do some kind of blog feature on it and pretend I can justify my spending.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy