Nils Frahm
All Melody


4.5
superb

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (87 Reviews)
January 28th, 2018 | 94 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The good kind of solitude.

Nils Frahm is an artist to behold. He has made a name for himself as one of the most prolific and consistent ambient producers today and it’d be at the very least silly to deny his talents. But when you become that consistent, you risk reducing people’s ability to define your work. And I am afraid that Nils has reached that point in his career, where all that could be said was said already, so one has to retract to simply saying: “This is a great album, as expected of Nils Frahm.” That sentence sums it all up. There is barely anything else to say. Perhaps a brief analysis of each track, or at least the highlights, is possible, but not much more than that.

But Nils does have a handful of surprises up his sleeve. The distant harrowing, but surprisingly calming vocal murmurings are a great example. Also, the extensive use of muted flute brings a lot of new way perspective. The album also does a great job of setting up slightly different atmospheres for each track. Cuts like “Human Range” are reminiscent of some chilling wintery noir detective stories. “A Place” delves into more of a clergy, it would seem. “Forever Changeless” explores a sorrowful state of isolation. The title track, being easily the loudest, although that doesn’t say much, actually presents a vaguely danceable tune, although hidden behind walls of sophistication and calm. There is futurism within “#2”. “Kaleidoscope” explores a slightly more haunting abstract setting. And the closer “Harm Hymn” feasts on tenderness and easy-going relaxation.

It seems like this has become the formula for Nils Frahm, but one he insists on trying to explore from ever so slightly different angles every time he gets to it. All Melody is not actually all about melody, it is about the conveyed atmosphere and the worlds created through the music, where the melody is a building stone. But whatever the method of achieving the results, in the end this album is All Beauty.



Recent reviews by this author
Turnstile Time and SpaceVox Low Vox Low
Born Ruffians Uncle, Duke and The ChiefU.S. Girls In A Poem Unlimited
Ought Room Inside The WorldSuperchunk What a Time to Be Alive
user ratings (54)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Felt

Spaces

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Today’s review was supposed to be on The Spook School’s new album, but there was absolutely nothing I had to say on that, so here’s a substitute. As you can see, I had barely anything to say here too. Still more than Spook School.

Digging: Ought - Room Inside The World

NorthernSkylark
January 28th 2018


8711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Nils

Digging: Brandi Carlile - By the Way, I Forgive You

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

then you'll like this

TwigTW
January 28th 2018


2961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is gorgeous. His new studio has a great sound. This was an easy 4 on first listen for me, but I bet it's going higher.

Digging: Nils Frahm - All Melody

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thank you, POSitive people

Sniff
January 28th 2018


4229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stunning album

AsleepInTheBack
January 28th 2018


5406 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Neat review. Sounds like my kind of record too, will check.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2018


6876 Comments


music defeats ambient three-nils.. will check though..

Digging: The Necks - Silverwater

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well, at least that

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2018


11680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll get to this one for sure.



"Today’s review was supposed to be on The Spook School’s new album, but there was absolutely nothing I had to say on that, so here’s a substitute".



What were your thoughts on that one? I pretty much didn't like any of the songs with the dude singing, and the rest was pretty hit or miss as well tbh.

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's okay, but I just cannot find any words to describe it beond just "okay". it's like a perfectly mathematically calculated 'listenable album'. nothing too intriguing, nothing too boring. it swings by and you forget it the next day.

neekafat
January 28th 2018


8605 Comments


Really love the points you make here, but something about the style just seems a bit... stilted I guess. Maybe I'm just too used to informal styles, but the points you're making seem more conversational than the writing style they're paired with

Also, "Nils has a handful of surprises up his sleeve, indeed." is a bit weird for a transition because it's set up as confirming the previous point, even though it's contradictory. Maybe something like "That's not to say Nils doesn't have a handful of surprises up his sleeve, however." would work a bit better?

Just food for thought! I know you're hoping to make contrib so I figured I'd give you as much feedback as I can but this is a really good review dude (:

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really wanted to avoid writing any "That's not to say that..." sentence, because I noticed that every other one of my reviews has it.





But I'll go change it up a tad.

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

better?

neekafat
January 28th 2018


8605 Comments


Lmao I'm pretty sure all of mine do too
All POSody

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my tomorrow's review will be painful..

neekafat
January 28th 2018


8605 Comments


oh no bb, what is you doing

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well, i researched a horde of albums to review this year and made a delicate schedule, but one by one they turn out disappointing or not worthy of a review (see the very first comment here). and it's a pain in the ass to replace them and change the schedule, so by the time i got to tomorrow's review i was already tired of these albums turning out shite, so i brewed up a skintpiee on it..

neekafat
January 28th 2018


8605 Comments


Sometimes disappointing albums can be fun to review if you find the right words (;

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


12010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but the problem with these is that they are mostly not really that bad. they are just absolutely empty and you have nothing to talk about.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy