Tiny Moving Parts
Swell


4.5
superb

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
January 28th, 2018 | 111 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I care a little too much

Consistency is the easiest virtue to feel cynicism toward - it’s not flashy, it’s not sexy, and it can be hard to get excited about it. Albums that shatter expectations often make headlines, and bands that constantly evolve their sound tend to get the most applause. But putting out great album after great album with only minor tweaks to one’s sound, while maintaining a high level of quality is arguably more difficult and more impressive. Four albums deep, Tiny Moving Parts’ sound hasn’t changed all that much. The technical tapping riffs and arpeggios are still ridiculous, the lyrics are still raw and underdeveloped, and Tiny Moving Parts deserve to be praised for their consistency as Swell manages to live up to a strong discography without taking any major risks.

There's so much heart to the band's sound, every song has a blistering pace, even the more melancholy tracks are bright and exuberant. It’s still just as fun to hear Dylan Matheson's guitar wizardry, like the crazy finger picking in "Whale Watching", and the tapping in “Feel Alive” and think to myself “Holy shit, he plays that and sings at the same time!” The lyrics remain the weakest link in the band. “I care a little too much” perfectly encapsulates Dylan’s lyrics, it’s silly and overblown, but in a charming non-confrontational kind of way as the lyrics are merely supplemental to the music. Tiny Moving Parts' production is the best it's ever been the arrangements on Swell are so lush, and there are so many satisfying little flourishes like the keyboard in "Smooth It Out” and “Whale Watching” and the horns in "Warm Hand Splash." Tiny Moving Parts continue to do what they do best because if it’s not broke, don’t fix it.

It's easy to overlook how impressive Swell is because there's nothing shocking, Tiny Moving Parts have been excelling for four straight albums. They get away with experimenting very little because they replace full-scale growth with exceptional and consistent musicianship. Four great, albeit similar albums in a row, It becomes necessary to ask “Are Tiny Moving Parts too consistent for their own good" Could they possibly craft a masterpiece if they ventured outside of the box a bit more"” I think it’s fair to say that their run of consistency is unsustainable, eventually, the returns will be diminished. If Swell was the band’s 10th release things would definitely be stale, but as a fourth album, and with songs like "Caution" and "Warm Hand Splash" being possibly the band’s best songs to date, it’s hard to argue that Swell isn’t as good as it gets for a band at this stage of their career.




Recent reviews by this author
Pianos Become the Teeth Wait For LoveRich Brian Amen
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreLil Uzi Vert Luv Is Rage 2
The Brave Little Abacus OkumayThe Brave Little Abacus Just Got Back from the Discomfort - It's Alright
user ratings (167)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2018


55563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah doggy

Digging: Soundtrack (Film) - Black Panther

Papa Universe
January 27th 2018


11754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

too late, ian's already clenched the feature

Digging: Ought - Room Inside The World

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2018


55563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll take it by force

ianblxdsoe
January 27th 2018


1708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i felt a strong pain in my lower abdomen, and i suddenly got the guttural instinct to check the home page :thinking:

Digging: Car Seat Headrest - Twin Fantasy (Face to Face)

Papa Universe
January 27th 2018


11754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

savagery. pure savagery

Papa Universe
January 27th 2018


11754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if this is not abuse of power i don't know what is..

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2018


55563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It used to happen to me all the time, such is the circle of life

ianblxdsoe
January 27th 2018


1708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i’ll make my way up just to spite u emo king

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2018


55563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Please do

ianblxdsoe
January 27th 2018


1708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah seriously though great review i’m not mad i couldn’t even make it past contrib anyways prob yeehaw

bgillesp
January 28th 2018


3197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nobody's talking about Its Too Cold Tonight and it makes me sad

Digging: Earl Scruggs - Live At Kansas State

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


11754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

let's talk about it

AsleepInTheBack
January 28th 2018


5397 Comments


good rev, though poor ian :'(
Got a bit of c/c: maybe consider switching up your commas for some different, more befitting punctuation. Would make it an easier read. e.g...

"It's easy to overlook how impressive Swell is because there's nothing shocking, Tiny Moving Parts have been excelling for four straight albums." They're too separate sentences; a colon or semi-colon might be better, or a connector.

"“I care a little too much” perfectly encapsulates Dylan’s lyrics, it’s silly and overblown, but in a charming non-confrontational kind of way as the lyrics are merely supplemental to the music." Same issue. These are 2 different sentences, so a comma makes it confusing to read.

"It becomes necessary to ask..." shouldn't be capital

I also find that you repeat yourself a lot in the final para. Your thesis is clear from the 1st two, the last doesn't actually flesh it out any more.

Just my 3 or 4 cents.

bgillesp
January 28th 2018


3197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's a great song. I love the guitar parts when he's singing "Call, Call for help". The chord structure in the foreground is unexpected but works really well and then there's the twinkly math riff over top that makes it all so good

bgillesp
January 28th 2018


3197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, I feel ya Ian. Verdant took over my spot for the Typhoon review. Such is the way of the world

TheGreatQ
January 28th 2018


2587 Comments


I love this band and want to listen to this but I don’t know if I’ll be able to take the lyrics right now.

Digging: Pale Waves - All the Things I Never Said

Papa Universe
January 28th 2018


11754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

better than their last one, must admit

Danred97
January 28th 2018


1581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Wildfire and Malfunction are dope. Easily the best tracks on the album.

Tyler.
January 28th 2018


14262 Comments


i didnt know we had bandcamp integration lol



Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2018


20645 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nice one treb, def need to check this asap damn



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy