Aksumite
Vinegar Perimeter


2.5
average

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
January 27th, 2018 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: you catch more flies with honey than vinegar

I'm not wholly surprised that Vinegar Perimeter feels a bit tired. After all, it is by just one of the many bands that Colloquial Sound Recordings owner Damien Masters fronts. He's a man seemingly never at rest, and as a result his catalog is quite prolific and equally as diverse. His main project A Pregnant Light concocts "purple" metal, some unholy fusion between black metal, post-punk and rock; Deathless Marantha is a showcase for his spoken word ramblings; Alluring's funeral doom procession trudges behind almost a dozen other projects, each with their own respective sounds. Aksumite unfortunately, seems lost in the shuffle.

It's never been a project with a sense of definition, amorphously shifting between black metal and punk, but it always felt like it served a purpose; Vinegar Perimeter makes me wonder if it's outlived its usefulness. The elements in which Masters utilizes here feel like scraps, leftovers from his more important projects. Aksumite is the dumping ground for dead ideas, each song littered with recycled four chord punk riffs, tepid tremolos, and a wall of stagnant noise. "Scabbed Knee" rehashes virtually every generic hardcore trope without redemption. Or was it "Smile for Me"..." At some point, it's hard to tell; most songs sound like the album art looks - a soggy violet mess of incoherence.

But the greatest offense is how inoffensive Vinegar Perimeter really is. There's not one part of the album that will make you recoil in disgust, but the tiresome familiarity will have you pressing the skip button real fast. Damien has done better - APL's Lucky All My Life was dropped the same day as Vinegar Perimeter and spoilers, it's great - but perhaps his prolificity has gotten the better of him here. It's clear where his priorities lie, and unfortunately it's not with Aksumite.



Recent reviews by this author
Senses Fail If There Is Light, It Will Find YouProfanatica Putrescence of... aka As Tears of Blood Stain the
Volahn/Xaxamatza Gods of PandemoniumWith the End in Mind Unraveling; Arising
Les Discrets Virée NocturneThe Black Twilight Circle Tliltic Tlapoyauak
user ratings (8)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2018


23461 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

WHY won't the site allow me to add a gosh-darned question mark? Anyway, this was disappointing. Not bad, but bland.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2018


8605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don’t know, tried editing my last couple reviews a few times before I figured out it was glitching :



Edit: haven’t heard of these guys but even with your middling score it sounds like my kinda thang. Great write up as per the usual.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2018


23461 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks brother. If you check it out, let me know what you think.

MoosechriS
January 27th 2018


6322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review as always dude, still need to listen to this one.

zaruyache
January 27th 2018


18850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

guitars could be higher and they need d-beats during the punk sections, but this sounds p ok so far (3 tracks in). Not as good as APL but I've always liked Masters' stuff anyway.

zaruyache
January 27th 2018


18850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I appreciate these simple riffs bc I feel like if I had the capacity to actually play a guitar I'd be writing dumb simple things like this :3

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2018


23461 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It’s frustrating because I don’t necessarily dislike it, but it’s so unmemorable. I will probably never revisit anything on here, and I’m so okay with that.

zaruyache
January 27th 2018


18850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Jam the new A Pregnant Light instead then since it's so much better (I just jammed lol). Sounds kinda different for APL and more black metal-y imo.

Dinosaur
January 27th 2018


1246 Comments


I think Prideless Lions and Rubber Room have some great moments. I'd have to listen again, but this didn't do much for me. Just a lot of the same.

zaruyache
January 28th 2018


18850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

His same is always consistently listenable though, so even his throwaway b-sides are worth hitting up at least once.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2018


8605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, like I said. Kinda liking this. The complete abrasive production is selling it for me. It’s not a huge success but it will keep things going for a while.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2018


23461 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

His same is always consistently listenable though, so even his throwaway b-sides are worth hitting up at least once.




Yeah, I would agree with this. Some of his leftovers from other stuff are quite good, I just didn't think this was up to par.



Yep, like I said. Kinda liking this. The complete abrasive production is selling it for me. It’s not a huge success but it will keep things going for a while.




Well, I'm glad you got something out of this! For once on a black metal album, I actually don't dig the production so much. There's no dynamics to it, everything is competing for attention and as result nothing really stands out.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy