tUnE-yArDs
I Can Feel You Creep Into My Private Life


3.5
great

Review

by Haygoody USER (21 Reviews)
January 21st, 2018 | 24 replies


Release Date: 01/19/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kept my head down, eyes closed, and let freedom ring

The eclectic music of Tune-Yards invokes an image of a packed 80s dance club filled with curiously-dressed attendees freely expressing themselves left-and-right. In looking around this Tune-Yards themed club, one would be hard-pressed to find two people that appear or act alike, for each individual is basking in their diverse tastes and backgrounds. This atmosphere seems to be where the New England group bases their anomalous sound which stands out triumphantly against a sea of formulaic pop musicians.

The duo’s fourth project, I Can Feel You Creep Into My Private Life, continues to push the boundaries of indie pop with song arrangements that are all at once bizarre and captivating. Most of the pop appeal throughout the album can be attributed to the group’s use of synthetic-drum loops and grooving basslines. The album’s opening track, “Heart Attack,” incorporates these elements with entrancing style by pairing a fast-paced rhythm with Nate Brenner’s deep, throbbing bass. While these components serve as a tasteful backbone from track to track, its Merrill Garbus’ powerful female vocals and the messages accompanying them that stand at the center of attention.

It’s not hard to be mesmerized by Garbus’ effortless melodies, as her multi-layered chants and cries present themselves as larger-than-life. However, the lyrical content that comes along with her boisterous vocals depicts Garbus as human to a level of fault. In a number of instances within I Can Feel You Creep… the singer reverts into a state of self-examination, challenging how she perceives herself and others in an unapologetic fashion. In the song “Now As Then,” Gabrus examines the contradiction that occurs when white Americans view themselves as an exception to a history of racism when in fact they still allow systematic inequality to continue to benefit them. In an interview with NPR’s All Songs Considered, Gabrus explains that these themes aren’t so much a criticism of society as they are a rebuke of her own inner prejudices:

“A lot of the lyrics on this album came from working on myself, writing down all the gross things that I don’t want to admit are in me somewhere.”

And while a number of the songs on the album deal with these socio-political themes, the electrifying single “Look At Your Hands” instead explores concepts as simple as examining the intricacies of one’s own body and being mindful of the devices that we hold in our hands on a daily basis. Though we often take these things for granted, the practice of deeply inspecting things that we’ve become accustomed can offer an abundance of insights and can increase our sense of scrutiny for values and beliefs that would otherwise go unquestioned.

I Can Feel You Creep Into My Private Life is an enigmatic album, in that while it provides track-after-track of funky pop infectiousness, closer inspection of its themes uncovers Merrill Gabrus’ individual struggle to break free from preconceived notions in a culture of growing intolerance.



Recent reviews by this author
Kurt Vile Bottle It InAdrianne Lenker abysskiss
Pinegrove SkylightBrockhampton Iridescence
Beach House 7Hop Along Bark Your Head Off, Dog
user ratings (51)
2.9
good
related reviews

w h o k i l l

Nikki Nack
trending alt & indie albums

0

ross.

A Moon Shaped Pool

The Glowing Man

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2018


16357 Comments


I gotta listen to this more but I wasn't impressed very much. good review too

Digging: Crimeapple - Viridi Panem

Papa Universe
January 21st 2018


22441 Comments


so it's not on par with the other releases, correct?

pOs-YaRdS - I Can Feel You POS Into My Private Life

danielcardoso
January 21st 2018


11770 Comments


Some of this is great and some of it is pretty lackluster on first listen, i dunno.

butcherboy
January 21st 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yep, both this and shopping turned out just decent.. disappointing week.. pos for the lovely review

Papa Universe
January 21st 2018


22441 Comments


butch, check The Go! Team.

butcherboy
January 21st 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will do, Uni!

Papa Universe
January 21st 2018


22441 Comments


also, Duds - Of a Nature or Degree. it's from 2017, but a decent album too

ZombieToyDuck
January 22nd 2018


7076 Comments


not sure how I feel about this one yet, some cool stuff but not sure I how I feel about the vocals

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2018


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

butch, check The Go! Team. [2]



This was unexpectedly good though.

Digging: The Stargazer Lilies - Occabot

Veldin
January 24th 2018


3889 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, mate! Posd

wtferrothorn
January 25th 2018


5847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We let freedom ring



BUUT WHO'S FREEEDOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMM?????

sportsboy
January 25th 2018


695 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

too much white guilt

Digging: Lee Gamble - Diversions 1994-1996

Nomos
January 25th 2018


1737 Comments


I only recognize this because they were just on the Judge John Hodgman podcast! It sounds interesting. Good review. Checking out tonight.

SteakByrnes
January 26th 2018


16095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dumbass name

Digging: PVRIS - Hallucinations

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2018


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's a fun album Byrnes, give it a check man.

SteakByrnes
January 26th 2018


16095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok dad I'll check tomorrow

Kompys2000
January 26th 2018


3333 Comments


I kinda want to check this but I feel like I won't be able to judge it fairly because the random capitalization in their name fills me with so much rage.

Digging: Your Infamous Harp - Prah Suomafni Ruoy

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2018


16983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good lad ;)



conditionals
January 26th 2018


555 Comments


@Kompys2000 if it helps, Spotify and Apple Music don't use the capitalisation

Album is pretty OK, except for the lyrics about using her white woman's voice to tell stories of African men. I prefer the instrumentals here to their earlier albums, but something about her just rubs me the wrong way.

rabidfish
February 9th 2018


5522 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

i know 90% of you don't care, but i take all this post-nikki nack white guilt and cultural appropiation bogus really seriously and have a very strong standing towards the whole thing, and the TMT review explains why this album was such a huge let-down for me so well that i don't even feel the need to write it myself...



PLEASE, do yourselves a favor and whether you liked this or not, whether you support Merrill's decisions or not, go and read this: https://www.tinymixtapes.com/music-review/tune-yards-i-can-feel-you-creep-my-private-life



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy